It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The focus of this text is to teach engineering students the skill of technical writing. The book is unique in that it gets to the point, uses practical outlines throughout, and shows students how to produce the most common technical documents step-by-step, in a manner that is fun and interesting to students. Each chapter has an end-of-chapter critique which allows students to implement what they have learned in the chapter. With ABET increasing the emphasis on technical writing, this affordable, straightforward, easy-to-understand text with flexible coverage, would be a perfect fit for your technical writing course.
This book shows engineering students how to write and speak more effectively and develop the communication skills essential to success in their academic careers and on the job. The authors focus specifically on what an engineer needs on a day-to-day basis, providing an "engineering approach" to technical communication that features practical examples and situations from today's industry. Based on the engineering concept that anything that interferes with efficient communication is "noise," the book shows students how to make their signal-to-noise ratio as high as possible. Such things as grammar errors, typos, poor organization, and fuzzy thinking are treated as noise that needs to be eliminated from the message, so that communication can be as effective and efficient as the engineering ideas it conveys.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
Technical Communication: A Practical Approach7e emphasizes one simple principle– you learn to write better by doing as much writing as possible. Using numbered guidelines and an ABC format, the book shows how to write a variety of technical documents and gets students practicing at the beginning of the book. This edition features new material on modular writing, a new chapter on collaborative writing and a comprehensive case study that reflects globalization and ethics issues.
Technical Communicationoffers complete coverage of technical communication, business communication, and professional writing in a user-friendly writing style. The topics move from basic foundational concepts, to chapters on research, visuals, style, document design, usability, and finally to specific documents (basic workplace correspondence to more complex documents, technologies, and oral presentations). The appendix includes thorough coverage of MLA, APA, and CSE (Council of Science Editors) documentation styles, and a handbook of grammar, mechanics, and usage. All descriptions of and instructions for creating technical documents are accompanied by clear, annotated model documents. In addition, graphic illustrations appear throughout the book to make abstract concepts easy to understand. Checklists and Projects provide plentiful opportunities to learn and reinforce chapter topics.
Technical Report Writing Today provides thorough coverage of technical writing basics, techniques, and applications. Through a practical focus with varied examples and exercises, students internalize the skills necessary to produce clear and effective documents and reports. Project worksheets help students organize their thoughts and prepare for assignments, and Focus boxes highlight key information and recent developments in technical communication. Extensive individual and collaborative exercises expose students to different kinds of technical writing problems and solutions. Annotated student examples--more than 100 in all--illustrate different writing styles and approaches to problems. Numerous short and long examples throughout the text demonstrate solutions for handling writing assignments in current career situations. The four-color artwork in the chapter on creating visuals keeps pace with contemporary workplace capabilities. The Ninth Edition offers the latest information on using electronic resumes and documenting electronic sources and Ethics and Globalization sidebars that highlight these two important topics in the technical communication field.
An updated edition of the classic guide to technical communication Consider that 20 to 50 percent of a technology professional's time is spent communicating with others. Whether writing a memo, preparing a set of procedures, or making an oral presentation, effective communication is vital to your professional success. This anthology delivers concrete advice from the foremost experts on how to communicate more effectively in the workplace. The revised and expanded second edition of this popular book completely updates the original, providing authoritative guidance on communicating via modern technology in the contemporary work environment. Two new sections on global communication and the Internet address communicating effectively in the context of increased e-mail and web usage. As in the original, David Beer's Second Edition discusses a variety of approaches, such as: * Writing technical documents that are clear and effective * Giving oral presentations more confidently * Using graphics and other visual aids judiciously * Holding productive meetings * Becoming an effective listener The new edition also includes updated articles on working with others to get results and on giving directions that work. Each article is aimed specifically at the needs of engineers and others in the technology professions, and is written by a practicing engineer or a technical communicator. Technical engineers, IEEE society members, and technical writing teachers will find this updated edition of David Beer's classic Writing and Speaking in the Technology Professions an invaluable guide to successful communication.
Technical Writing: Principles, Strategies, and Readings offers a flexible combination of instructional chapters and readings that reflect the variety of emphases in today's technical writing classroom. The fifteen instructional chapters offer a general introduction to technical communication, while 24 articles from professional journals and Web sites which constitute about one-fourth of the text offer insight and advice on specific communication topics, including writing for the Web. Strategy Boxes in each chapter also introduce students to important subjects related to technical communication, such as voice mail and videoconferencing. Each concise and self-contained instructional unit includes extended models and exercises which can be used in class or for collaborative or homework assignments. Students who study technical writing as part of their career preparation in science, business, engineering, social services, and technical fields will find this text particularly useful.
<b>A unique, integrative, team-centered approach to writing and formatting technical documents</b><p>Technical Professionals:<ul><li><p>Do you have difficulty producing high-quality documents with multiple contributors when faced with a tight deadline?<li><p>Do you need a process that enables global team members to collaborate online as they produce sophisticated documents?<li><p>Do you prefer the ease of a WYSIWG desktop publishing tool like Microsoft Word rather than more complex software like LaTeX?<li><p>Professors and Graduate Students:<li><p>Do you want to streamline the process of writing multi-investigator papers, reports, proposals, and books?<li><p>Do you spend a lot of time formatting documents instead of thinking and writing?<li><p>Do you write research papers in Microsoft Word and then need to convert them to LaTeX for your thesis?<li><p>Do you write research papers in LaTeX and then need to convert them to Microsoft Word when embarking on collaborations with your colleagues from industry?</ul><p>Undergraduate Students:<ul><li><p>Do you need to write a research paper and don′t know where to start?<li><p>Do you need to collaborate with classmates on a long paper and find yourself lost in organizational details rather than immersed in the content?</ul><p>If you answered "yes" to any of these questions, Technical Writing for Teams: The STREAM Tools Handbook is for you. It provides an easy-to-learn system that streamlines individual and collaborative writing, allowing you and your teams to instantly become more productive and create the highest quality documents in a minimum amount of time. Introduced here are the STREAM Tools-<b>S</b>cientific and <b>T</b>echnical w<b>R</b>iting, <b>E</b>diting, <b>A</b>nd file <b>M</b>anagement Tools-which unlock your collaborators′ potential and addresses team dynamics, separation of duties, and workflow. You′ll see how to ensure compatibility among multiple writers, achieve consistent formatting, organize content, integrate bibliographic databases, automate the process of document preparation, and move content between Microsoft Word and LaTeX. Checklists, guidelines, and success stories are also included to help you operate as efficiently as possible.<p>From planning and editing documents to solving common team writing problems to managing workflow, <i>Technical Writing for Teams: The STREAM Tools Handbook</i> is the one-stop reference that allows teams to collaborate successfully and create unified, effective documents.