MEMS Design and Fabrication (EMT 473/3)

It is challenging at best to find a resource that provides the breadth of information necessary to develop a successful micro electro mechanical system (MEMS) design. Micro Electro Mechanical System Design is that resource. It is a comprehensive, single-source guide that explains the design process by illustrating the full range of issues involved, how they are interrelated, and how they can be quickly and accurately addressed. The materials are presented in logical order relative to the manner a MEMS designer needs to apply them. For example, in order for a project to be completed correctly, on time, and within budget, the following diverse yet correlated issues must be attended to during the initial stages of design and development: Understanding the fabrication technologies that are available Recognizing the relevant physics involved for micron scale devices Considering implementation issues applicable to computer aided design Focusing on the engineering details and the subsequent evaluation testing Maintaining an eye for detail regarding both reliability and packaging These issues are fully addressed in this book, along with questions and problems at the end of each chapter that promote review and further contemplation of each topic. In addition, the appendices offer information that complement each stage of project design and development.

This book covers the entire spectrum of assembly, packaging and testing of MEMs (microelectro-mechanical systems) and microsystems, from essential enabling technologies to applications in key industries of life sciences, telecommunications and aerospace engineering.

Here is a textbook for senior undergraduate and graduate level students that offers a novel and systematic look into the dynamics of MEMS. It includes numerous solved examples together with the proposed problems. The material to be found here will also be of interest to researchers with a non-mechanical background. The book focuses on the mechanical domain, specifically the dynamic sub-domain, and provides an in-depth treatment of problems that involve reliable modeling, analysis and design.

Bringing you up-to-date with the latest developments in MEMS technology, this major revision of the best-selling An Introduction to Microelectromechanical Systems Engineering offers you a current understanding of this cutting-edge technology. You gain practical knowledge of MEMS materials, design, and manufacturing, and learn how it is being applied in industrial, optical, medical and electronic markets. The second edition features brand new sections on RF MEMS, photo MEMS, micromachining on materials other than silicon, reliability analysis, plus an expanded reference list.

This book offers a comprehensive coverage to the mechanics of microelectromechanical systems (MEMS), which are analyzed from a mechanical engineer's viewpoint as devices that transform an input form of energy into output mechanical motion (in the case of actuation) or that can operate with the reversed functionality (as in sensors) and convert an external stimulus, such as mechanical motion, into (generally) electric energy. The impetus of this proposal stems from the perception that such an approach might contribute to a more solid understanding of the principles governing the mechanics of MEMS, and would hopefully enhance the efficiency of modeling and designing reliable and desirably-optimized microsystems. The work represents an attempt at both extending and deepening the mechanical-based approach to MEMS in the static domain by providing simple, yet reliable tools that are applicable to micromechanism design through current fabrication technologies.

This significant and uniquely comprehensive five-volume reference is a valuable source for research workers, practitioners, computer scientists, students, and technologists. It covers all of the major topics within the subject and offers a comprehensive treatment of MEMS design, fabrication techniques, and manufacturing methods. It also includes current medical applications of MEMS technology and provides applications of MEMS to opto-electronic devices. It is clearly written, self-contained, and accessible, with helpful standard features including an introduction, summary, extensive figures and design examples with comprehensive reference lists.