It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Computer Organization and Architecture (EMT 475/3)
For undergraduates and professionals in computer science, computer engineering, and electrical engineering courses.¿ Learn the fundamentals of processor and computer design from the newest edition of this award-winning text. Four-time winner of the best Computer Science and Engineering textbook of the year award from the Textbook and Academic Authors Association, Computer Organization and Architecture: Designing for Performance provides a thorough discussion of the fundamentals of computer organization and architecture, covering not just processor design, but memory, I/O, and parallel systems.Coverage is supported by a wealth of concrete examples emphasizing modern systems.
Computer Architecture: A Quantitative Approach explores the ways that software and technology in the cloud are accessed by digital media, such as cell phones, computers, tablets, and other mobile devices. The book became a part of Intel's 2012 recommended reading list for developers, and it covers the revolution of mobile computing. The text also highlights the two most important factors in architecture today: parallelism and memory hierarchy. The six chapters that this book is composed of follow a consistent framework: explanation of the ideas in each chapter; a ""crosscutting issues"" section, which presents how the concepts covered in one chapter connect with those given in other chapters; a ""putting it all together"" section that links these concepts by discussing how they are applied in real machine; and detailed examples of misunderstandings and architectural traps commonly encountered by developers and architects. The first chapter of the book includes formulas for energy, static and dynamic power, integrated circuit costs, reliability, and availability. Chapter 2 discusses memory hierarchy and includes discussions about virtual machines, SRAM and DRAM technologies, and new material on Flash memory. The third chapter covers the exploitation of instruction-level parallelism in high-performance processors, superscalar execution, dynamic scheduling and multithreading, followed by an introduction to vector architectures in the fourth chapter. Chapters 5 and 6 describe multicore processors and warehouse-scale computers (WSCs), respectively. This book is an important reference for computer architects, programmers, application developers, compiler and system software developers, computer system designers and application developers. Part of Intel's 2012 Recommended Reading List for Developers Updated to cover the mobile computing revolution Emphasizes the two most important topics in architecture today: memory hierarchy and parallelism in all its forms. Develops common themes throughout each chapter: power, performance, cost, dependability, protection, programming models, and emerging trends ("What's Next") Includes three review appendices in the printed text. Additional reference appendices are available online. Includes updated Case Studies and completely new exercises.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
The Essentials of Computer Organization and Architecture, Fourth Edition was recently awarded a "Textbook Excellence Award" ("Texty") from the Text and Academic Authors Association (TAA) the only association devoted solely to serving textbook and academic authors since 1987 (www.TAAonline.net). The "Textbook Excellence Award" recognizes works for their excellence in the areas of content, presentation, appeal, and teachability. This is the third Texty award for Null and Lobur. They also won for their Second and Third Editions of this text.Updated and revised to reflect the most current data in the field, perennial bestseller The Essentials of Computer Organization and Architecture, Fourth Edition is comprehensive enough to address all necessary organization and architecture topics, but concise enough to be appropriate for a single-term course. Its focus on real-world examples and practical applications encourages students to develop a "big-picture" understanding of how essential organization and architecture concepts are applied in the computing world. In addition to direct correlation with the ACM/IEEE CS2013 guidelines for computer organization and architecture, the text exposes readers to the inner workings of a modern digital computer through an integrated presentation of fundamental concepts and principles.The fully revised and updated Fourth Edition includes the most up-to-the-minute data and resources available and reflects current technologies, including tablets and cloud computing. All-new exercises, expanded discussions, and feature boxes in every chapter implement even more real-world applications and current data, and many chapters include all-new examples. A full suite of student and instructor resources, including a secure companion website, Lecture Outlines in PowerPoint Format, and an Instructor Manual, complement the text. This award-winning, best-selling text is the most thorough, student-friendly, and accessible text on the market today.Key Features:* The Fourth Edition is in direct correlation with the ACM/IEEE CS2013 guidelines for computer organization and architecture, in addition to integrating material from additional knowledge units. * All-new material on a variety of topics, including zetabytes and yottabytes, automatons, tablet computers, graphic processing units, and cloud computing* The MARIE Simulator package allows students to learn the essential concepts of computer organization and architecture, including assembly language, without getting caught up in unnecessary and confusing details.* Full suite of ancillary materials, including a secure companion website, PowerPoint lecture outlines, and an Instructor Manual* Bundled with an optional Intel supplement* Ideally suited for single-term courses
An accessible introduction to computer systems and architecture Anyone aspiring to more advanced studies in computer-related fields must gain an understanding of the two parallel aspects of the modern digital computer: programming methodology and the underlying machine architecture. The uniquely integrated approach of Computer Architecture and Organization connects the programmer's view of a computer system with the associated hardware and peripheral devices, providing a thorough, three-dimensional view of what goes on inside the machine. Covering all the major topics normally found in a first course in computer architecture, the text focuses on the essentials including the instruction set architecture (ISA), network-related issues, and programming methodology. Using "real world" case studies to put the information into perspective, the chapters examine: * Data representation * Arithmetic * The instruction set architecture * Datapath and Control * Languages and the machine * Memory * Buses and peripherals * Networking and communication * Advanced computer architecture A valuable feature of this book is the use of ARC, a subset of the SPARC processor, for an instruction set architecture. A platform-independent ARCTools suite, containing an assembler and simulator for the ARC ISA, that supports the examples used in the book is available. Better yet, the content is supplemented by online problem sets available through WileyPlus. Balanced and thoughtfully designed for use as either a classroom text or self-study guide, Computer Architecture and Organization: An Integrated Approach will put you solidly on track for advancing to higher levels in computer-related disciplines. About the Author: MILES MURDOCCAserves as the President and CEO of Internet Institute USA (IIUSA), a private postsecondary information technology (IT) school specializing in networking, operating systems, IP telephony, programming, and security. Previously, Dr. Murdocca has been a computer science faculty member at Rutgers University and a research scientist at AT&T Bell Laboratories working in computer architecture, networking, and digital optical computing. He is the author of A Digital Design Methodology for Optical Computing and Principles of Computer Architecture and a contributing author to Computer Systems Design and Architecture, Second Edition as well as the author of dozens of professional papers and patents relating to information technology. VINCE HEURING is an associate professor and acting chair of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Colorado at Boulder. He has been at the university since 1984, and prior to that he spent three years at the University of Cincinnati. Professor Heuring's research encompasses computer architectures and programming language design implementation. He and his colleague, Harry Jordan, designed and built the world's first stored program optical computer, "SPOC."
What''s New in the Third Edition, Revised Printing The same great book gets better! This revised printing features all of the original content along with these additional features: . Appendix A (Assemblers, Linkers, and the SPIM Simulator) has been moved from the CD-ROM into the printed book . Corrections and bug fixes Third Edition features New pedagogical features . Understanding Program Performance - Analyzes key performance issues from the programmer''s perspective . Check Yourself Questions - Helps students assess their understanding of key points of a section . Computers In the Real World - Illustrates the diversity of applications of computing technology beyond traditional desktop and servers . For More Practice - Provides students with additional problems they can tackle . In More Depth - Presents new information and challenging exercises for the advanced student New reference features . Highlighted glossary terms and definitions appear on the book page, as bold-faced entries in the index, and as a separate and searchable reference on the CD. . A complete index of the material in the book and on the CD appears in the printed index and the CD includes a fully searchable version of the same index. . Historical Perspectives and Further Readings have been updated and expanded to include the history of software R&D. . CD-Library provides materials collected from the web which directly support the text. In addition to thoroughly updating every aspect of the text to reflect the most current computing technology, the third edition . Uses standard 32-bit MIPS 32 as the primary teaching ISA. . Presents the assembler-to-HLL translations in both C and Java. . Highlights the latest developments in architecture in Real Stuff sections: - Intel IA-32 - Power PC 604 - Google''s PC cluster - Pentium P4 - SPEC CPU2000 benchmark suite for processors - SPEC Web99 benchmark for web servers - EEMBC benchmark for embedded systems - AMD Opteron memory hierarchy - AMD vs. 1A-64 New support for distinct course goals Many of the adopters who have used our book throughout its two editions are refining their courses with a greater hardware or software focus. We have provided new material to support these course goals: New material to support a Hardware Focus . Using logic design conventions . Designing with hardware description languages . Advanced pipelining . Designing with FPGAs . HDL simulators and tutorials . Xilinx CAD tools New material to support a Software Focus . How compilers work . How to optimize compilers . How to implement object oriented languages . MIPS simulator and tutorial . History sections on programming languages, compilers, operating systems and databases On the CD . NEW: Search function to search for content on both the CD-ROM and the printed text . CD-Bars: Full length sections that are introduced in the book and presented on the CD . CD-Appendixes: Appendices B-D . CD-Library: Materials collected from the web which directly support the text . CD-Exercises: For More Practice provides exercises and solutions for self-study . In More Depth presents new information and challenging exercises for the advanced or curious student . Glossary: Terms that are defined in the text are collected in this searchable reference . Further Reading: References are organized by the chapter they support . Software: HDL simulators, MIPS simulators, and FPGA design tools . Tutorials: SPIM, Verilog, and VHDL . Additional Support: Processor Models, Labs, Homeworks, Index covering the book and CD contents Instructor Support Instructor support provided on textbooks.elsevier.com: . Solutions to all the exercises . Figures from the book in a number of formats . Lecture slides prepared by the authors and other instructors . Lecture notes *For the Revised Printing, Appendix A appears in the printed book rather than on the CD. This is the only change. *Explains the latest benchmarking software including SPEC CPU2000 suite for processors, SPEC Web99 for web servers, and EEMBC for embedded systems *Features the latest developments of the Intel IA-32 architecture as well as the Power PC 604, the AMD Opteron Memory, and the Intrinsity FastMATH processor. *Compares MIPs assembler code to both C and Java
"Computer Architecture and Organization, 3rd edition, provides a comprehensive and up-to-date view of the architecture and internal organization of computers from a mainly hardware perspective. With a balanced treatment of qualitative and quantitative issues. Hayes focuses on the understanding of the basic principles while avoiding overemphasis on the arcane aspects of design. This approach best meets the needs of undergraduate or beginning graduate-level students."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved