It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The #1 resource in the optics field has been retooled into a "how-to" manual for the lens design process Well-known optics guru Warren J. Smith reveals time-tested methods for designing any major lens type and includes seven fully worked design examples.
Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
Infused with more than 500 tables and figures, this reference clearly illustrates the intricacies of optical system design and evaluation and considers key aspects of component selection, optimization, and integration for the development of effective optical apparatus. The book provides a much-needed update on the vanguard in the field with vivid explanations of computer-aided strategies and developments essential for success in the engineering of modern optical structures. It analyzes the performance of a wide range of optical materials, components, and systems, from simple magnifiers to complex lenses used in photography, ophthalmology, telescopes, microscopes, and projection systems.
The Latest Advances in Optical Engineering and Lens Technology Long-established as the definitive optics text and reference,Modern Optical Engineeringhas been completely revised and updated to equip you with all the latest optical and lens advances. The Fourth Edition now contains cutting-edge information on optical engineering theory, design, and practice, including new chapters on ray tracing, optical system design, and third-order aberration theory. Written by the renowned optical scientist Warren J. Smith, this state-of-the-art guide provides unsurpassed coverage of image formation, basic optical devices, image evaluation, fabrication and testing methods, and more. Comprehensive and up-to-date,Modern Optical Engineeringfeatures: The latest information on optical engineering theory, design, and practice Over 150 detailed illustrations New to this edition: new coverage of ray tracing, optical system design, and third-order aberration theory; new lens designs; new optical design software; and new problems and exercises Inside This Updated Optical Engineering Classic • Image formation • Aberrations • Prisms and mirrors • The eye • Stops and apertures • Optical materials • Interference coatings • Radiometry and photometry • Basic optical devices • Optical systems • Ray tracing • Third-order aberration theory • Image evaluation • Design of optical systems • 44 lens designs • Optics fabrication and testing
UL>.. LI>Thoroughly revised and expanded to reflect the substantial changes in the field since its publication in 1978 Strong emphasis on how to effectively use software design packages, indispensable to today's lens designer Many new lens design problems and examples ndash; ranging from simple lenses to complex zoom lenses and mirror systems ndash; give insight for both the newcomer and specialist in the field.. Rudolf Kingslake is regarded as the American father of lens design; his book, not revised since its publication in 1978, is viewed as a classic in the field. Naturally, the area has developed considerably since the book was published, the most obvious changes being the availability of powerful lens design software packages, theoretical advances, and new surface fabrication technologies... This book provides the skills and knowledge to move into the exciting world of contemporary lens design and develop practical lenses needed for the great variety of 21 st-century applications. Continuing to focus on fundamental methods and procedures of lens design, this revision by R. Barry Johnson of a classic modernizes symbology and nomenclature, improves conceptual clarity, broadens the study of aberrations, enhances discussion of multi-mirror systems, adds tilted and decentered systems with eccentric pupils, explores use of aberrations in the optimization process, enlarges field flattener concepts, expands discussion of image analysis, includes many new exemplary examples to illustrate concepts, and much more... Optical engineers working in lens design will find this book an invaluable guide to lens design in traditional and emerging areas of application; it is also suited to advanced undergraduate or graduate course in lens design principles and as a self-learning tutorial and reference for the practitioner... Rudolf Kingslake (1903-2003) was a founding faculty member of the Institute of Optics at T