Engineering Entrepreneurship (EUW 224/2)

KEY BENEFIT: Essential business lessons for turning today’s scientists and engineers into entrepreneurs in new technology companies. In today’s global and interconnected world, students with a science or engineering background have ample opportunity to mesh their technical know-how with the free market.  Yet, these same students lack the basic business skills to make competent business decisions.  This book seeks to make students’ first experience with entrepreneurship interesting and useful. KEY TOPICS: Technology Entrepreneurship for Scientists and Engineers; Developing and Protecting Intellectual Property; Technology Entrepreneurship Strategy; Start-up Financial Strategy As the source of new discoveries and technologies, scientists and engineers are uniquely positioned to launch new business ventures based on cutting-edge discoveries. This book will teach those with no prior training how to start a company and grow their business through marketing and astute team building techniques.

KEY BENEFITS: Less than 50% of new firms survive the 4-year mark, therefore writing a sound business plan and working that plan effectively is essential. This book addresses the key elements in an effective business plan including start-up costs and financing, personnel, financial statements, marketing, legal issues and insurance. Filled with real world examples, it includes actual business plans, current business opportunities in emerging markets and interesting case studies to help readers test their own entrepreneurial ideas. The latest research regarding the decision to become an entrepreneur is particularly helpful to anyone considering their own business. Each book includes a companion CD-ROM to reinforce concepts. Basic entrepreneurial concepts including how to enter a market i.e. start-up, buying an existing business, franchising, etc. along with the feasibility of each. Includes specific updates and obstacles regarding women-owned and minority-owned businesses; the pros and cons of home-based businesses; special considerations of entrepreneurship; and legal changes in overtime pay. New product development and growing a business are also discussed. Includes an outstanding step-by-step template for writing a business plan. THEA great resource for anyone interested in starting a business.

For undergraduate, introductory courses in Engineering Economics. Used by engineering students worldwide, this best-selling text provides a sound understanding of the principles, basic concepts, and methodology of engineering economy. Built upon the rich and time-tested teaching materials of earlier editions, it is extensively revised and updated to reflect current trends and issues, with an emphasis on the economics of engineering design throughout. It provides one of the most complete and up-to-date studies of this vitally important field.

The 8th Edition of Entrepreneurship, by Robert Hisrich, Michael Peters and Dean Shepherd has been designed to clearly instruct students on the process of formulating, planning, and implementing a new venture. Students are exposed to detailed descriptions of ‘how to’ embark on a new venture in a logical manner. Comprehensive cases at the end of the text have been hand-picked by the authors to go hand-in-hand with chapter concepts.The superb author team of Hisrich, Peters, and Shepherd draw from their distinct backgrounds to create a book that addresses the dynamics of today’s entrepreneurial challenges. From Bob Hisrich’s expertise in global entrepreneurship to Mike Peter’s background as a both a real-life entrepreneur and academic to Dean Shepherd’s current research on cognition and entrepreneurial mindset, this book balances the crucial line between modern theory and practice.

Engineering Economy, 15e,is ideal for undergraduate, introductory courses in Engineering Economics. It also is a useful reference for engineers interested in reviewing the basic principles of engineering economy. Used by engineering students worldwide, this best-selling text provides a sound understanding of the principles, basic concepts, and methodology of engineering economy. Built upon the rich and time-tested teaching materials of earlier editions, it is extensively revised and updated to reflect current trends and issues, with an emphasis on the economics of engineering design throughout. It provides one of the most complete and up-to-date studies of this vitally important field.