Leung's Encyclopedia of Common Natural Ingredients by Ikhlas A. Khan; Ehab A. Abourashed
The third edition of the unparalleled reference on natural ingredients and their commercial use This new Third Edition of Leung's Encyclopedia of Common Natural Ingredients: Used in Food, Drugs, and Cosmetics arrives in the wake of the huge wave of interest in dietary supplements and herbal medicine resulting from both trends in health and the Dietary Supplement and Health Education Act of 1994 (DSHEA). This fully updated and revised text includes the most recent research findings on a wide variety of ingredients, giving readers a single source for understanding and working with natural ingredients. The Encyclopedia continues the successful format for entries listed in earlier editions (consisting of source, description, chemical composition, pharmacology, uses, commercial preparations, regulatory status, and references). The text also features an easily accessible alphabetical presentation of the entries according to common names, with the index cross-referencing entries according to scientific names. This Third Edition also features: More than 50 percent more information than the Second Edition, reflecting the greatly increased research activity in recent years A new section on traditional Indian medicine, with information on nine commonly used herbs More than 6,500 references Two new appendices explaining and illustrating the botanical terminology frequently encountered in the text A revised and expanded index Leung's Encyclopedia of Common Natural Ingredients: Used in Food, Drugs, and Cosmetics, Third Edition will continue to provide a comprehensive compilation of the existing literature and prominent findings on natural ingredients to readers with an interest in medicine, nutrition, and cosmetics.
ISBN: 9780470538920
Publication Date: 2009-10-22
A Dictionary of Food and Nutrition by
This leading dictionary contains over 6,150 entries covering all aspects of food and nutrition, diet and health. Jargon-free definitions make this a valuable dictionary that clearly explains even the most technical of nutritional terms. From absinthe to zymogens, it covers types of food(including everyday foods and little-known foods, e.g. payusnaya) nutritional information, vitamins, minerals, and key scientific areas including metabolism and genomics.This new and fully revised edition features many entry-level web links, accessible via the Dictionary of Food and Nutrition companion website, providing relevant and up-to-date extra information. Expanded appendices contain a wealth of useful material, including Recommended Daily Allowance lists. An essential A-Z for nutritionists, food manufacturers, caterers, health-care students, food science/technology students, and anyone who has an interest in, or enjoys, food.
Dictionary of Food Ingredients by
The Dictionary of Food Ingredients is a unique, easy-to-use source of information on over 1,000 food ingredients and additives. Like the previous editions, the Fifth Edition provides clear and concise information on currently used additives, including natural ingredients, FDA-approved artificial ingredients, and compounds used in food processing. The dictionary entries, organized in alphabetical order, include information on ingredient functions, chemical properties, and uses in food products. This revised and updated fifth edition also features a new section, "Food Definitions and Formulations," a thoroughly expanded list of food ingredients approved for use in the European Union, with E numbers, as well as new information on existing and more recently approved ingredients.
Leung's Encyclopedia of Common Natural Ingredients by
The third edition of the unparalleled reference on natural ingredients and their commercial use This new Third Edition of Leung's Encyclopedia of Common Natural Ingredients: Used in Food, Drugs, and Cosmetics arrives in the wake of the huge wave of interest in dietary supplements and herbal medicine resulting from both trends in health and the Dietary Supplement and Health Education Act of 1994 (DSHEA). This fully updated and revised text includes the most recent research findings on a wide variety of ingredients, giving readers a single source for understanding and working with natural ingredients. The Encyclopedia continues the successful format for entries listed in earlier editions (consisting of source, description, chemical composition, pharmacology, uses, commercial preparations, regulatory status, and references). The text also features an easily accessible alphabetical presentation of the entries according to common names, with the index cross-referencing entries according to scientific names. This Third Edition also features: More than 50 percent more information than the Second Edition, reflecting the greatly increased research activity in recent years A new section on traditional Indian medicine, with information on nine commonly used herbs More than 6,500 references Two new appendices explaining and illustrating the botanical terminology frequently encountered in the text A revised and expanded index Leung's Encyclopedia of Common Natural Ingredients: Used in Food, Drugs, and Cosmetics, Third Edition will continue to provide a comprehensive compilation of the existing literature and prominent findings on natural ingredients to readers with an interest in medicine, nutrition, and cosmetics.
The Concise Encyclopedia of Foods and Nutrition by
From the reviews of the first edition