This is the "Dictionaries & Encyclopedias" page of the "Internetworking Technology I (PGT 204/3)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Internetworking Technology I (PGT 204/3)  

Last Updated: Mar 16, 2017 URL: http://libguides.unimap.edu.my/PGT204/3 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

SELECTED DICTIONARIES

Cover Art
Dictionary of Scientists - Richard A. Spears; Linda Schinke-Llano; Betty Kirkpatrick
Call Number: PE1625 E93 2001 r
ISBN: 9780192800862
Publication Date: 1999-06-24
From Archimedes and Copernicus to Stephen Hawking and Stephen Jay Gould, this is the most authoritative and up-to-date biographical dictionary of scientists currently available. Featuring over 1,300 entries, spanning over 2,500 years, this book covers all areas of science, from physics and astronomy to medicine and ecology, including key figures in the fields of mathematics and technology. Offering clear explanations of the science itself as well as its historical significance, the Dictionary includes coverage of all Nobel Laureates in physics, chemistry, physiology, and medicine, in addition to a comprehensive index of topics, and extensive network of cross-references to related entries. Compact, comprehensive, and crammed full of useful facts throughout, A Dictionary of Scientists will be an essential reference for scientists, students, and anyone with a general interest in science.

Cover Art
Abbreviations Dictionary - Dean Stahl; Karen Kerchelich; Ralph De Sola
Call Number: PE2839 S741 2000 r
ISBN: 9781420036640
Publication Date: 2001-03-23
Abbreviations, nicknames, jargon, and other short forms save time, space, and effort - provided they are understood. Thousands of new and potentially confusing terms become part of the international vocabulary each year, while our communications are relayed to one another with increasing speed. PDAs link to PCs. The Net has grown into data central, shopping mall, and grocery store all rolled into one. E-mail is faster than snail mail, cell phones are faster yet - and it is all done 24/7. Longtime and widespread use of certain abbreviations, such as R.S.V.P., has made them better understood standing alone than spelled out. Certainly we are more comfortable saying DNA than deoxyribonucleic acid - but how many people today really remember what the initials stand for? The Abbreviations Dictionary, Tenth Edition gives you this and other information from Airlines of the World to the Zodiacal Signs. Still a standard reference after more than 40 years, Abbreviations Dictionary, Tenth Edition continues the tradition of accuracy and comprehensiveness that has made it a classic. It remains the international sourcebook for locating elusive or general information on a vast array of topics. Updated and expanded, the Tenth Edition contains abbreviations, acronyms, appellations, contractions, numbered abbreviations and other short forms from computing, high technology, science, and a broad range of other fields, pastimes, groups, and of course, government and the military. Abbreviations Dictionary, Tenth Edition, is also the ready reference for useful information on such diverse topics as computer jargon, earthquake data, English grammar and usage, international conversions, medical terminology, wedding anniversaries, Zip coding, and more. It is a current, easily accessible resource for locating some of the most elusive and confusing elements of our language. When you have the Abbreviations Dictionary on your shelf, you will not need any other reference for short forms or abbreviations. See what's new in the Tenth Edition: 15, 000 new references Two completely new sections Expanded and updated sections such as BafflegabDivulged, Eponyms, Nicknames and Geographical Names, and Symbols-including Emoticons

Cover Art
Dictionary of Engineering - McGraw-Hill Staff
Call Number: TA9 M147 1997 r
ISBN: 9780070524354
Publication Date: 1997-03-01
This reference contains 15,000 engineering terms, some with multiple definitions. Each definition is identified by the field in which it is primarily used. An appendix contains conversion tables and SI units. Based on McGraw-Hill dictionary of scientific and technical terms. Covers all fields, including chemical, civil, design, industrial, mechanical, and systems engineering, as well as mechanics and thermodynamics.

 

SELECTED ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Cover Art
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology - McGraw-Hill Staff
Call Number: Q121 M478 2007 f r
ISBN: 0071441433
Publication Date: 2007-05-27
A tradition of excellence continues with the long-awaited Tenth Edition of McGraw-Hill'sEncyclopedia of Science & Technology The definitive source for keeping up with the amazing changes in science and technology - complete with more than 1,700 new and updated articles Free supplemental website available to all users! www.mhest.com Featuring entries written by international leaders in science and technology selected by McGraw-Hill's distinguished board of consulting editors, no other reference so thoroughly and dynamically chronicles the expanding frontier, facts, and trends so vital to students, professionals, and general readers. For more than four decades, McGraw-Hill'sEncyclopedia of Science & Technologyhas provided readers with the information they need in an understandable, authoritative way that invites critical inquiry and captures the imagination. There is truly nothing else like it and no library can be called complete without it. Readers will find 7,000+ articles covering nearly 100 fields of science in this amazing 20 volume set. The new Tenth Edition features more than 1,700 new and updated articles, 12,000+ illustrations, and more than 5000 contributors - including 25 Nobel Prize winners. Also new to the Tenth Edition is a companion website that will provide selected updates to theEncyclopediaalong with additional material such as special graphics and illustrations. The logical organization of the 20 volumes, a 500 page analytical index, an extensive topic index, along with Study Guides, make finding information fast and easy. Cutting-edge topics covered include: Extraterrestrial Intelligence, Cloning, Food Allergy, Genomics, Stem Cells, Cellular Automata, Computational Intelligence, Computer-Aided Circuit Design, Voice-Over IP, Water Supply Engineering, Fossil Humans, Fossil Primates, and many, many more.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip