The Effects of Air Pollution on Cultural Heritage by
This book reviews the sources of the air pollutants responsible for building damage and the mechanisms involved. Studies investigating the relationships between pollution concentration (dose) and the resulting damage (response) are described and the latest research findings for dose-response functions are presented. Trends in pollutant emissions, ambient concentrations and building damage over time are described and future predictions are presented. Methodologies for assessing the extent of the potential problem in a region - the stock at risk - are presented. Procedures for estimating the economic implications are described and the consequences are discussed in detail, because economic factors are important for reaching policy and management decisions at local, national and international scales. Damage to cultural heritage buildings is an important additional effect which needs to be considered as the standards are revised and the factors which will need to be brought into the assessment are presented.
Plant Responses to Air Pollution and Global Change by
This book reviews current topics on plant metabolism of air pollutants and elevated CO2, responses of whole plants and plant ecosystems, genetics and molecular biology for functioning improvement, experimental ecosystems and climate change research, global carbon-cycle monitoring in plant ecosystems, and other important issues. The authors, conducting research in Europe, the United States, Australia, and East Asia, present a wealth of information on their work in the field.
Advanced Air and Noise Pollution Control by
Leading pollution control educators and practicing professionals describe how various combinations of different cutting-edge process systems can be arranged to solve air, noise, and thermal pollution problems. Each chapter discusses in detail a variety of process combinations, along with technical and economic evaluations, and presents explanations of the principles behind the designs, as well as numerous variant designs useful to practicing engineers. The emphasis throughout is on developing the necessary engineering solutions from fundamental principles of chemistry, physics, and mathematics. The authors also include extensive references, cost data, design methods, guidance on the installation and operation of various air pollution control process equipment and systems, and Best Available Technologies (BAT) for air thermal and noise pollution control.
Handbook of Air Pollution Prevention and Control by
The Handbook of Air Pollution Prevention and Control provides a concise overview of the latest technologies for managing industrial air pollution in petrochemical, oil and gas, and allied industries. Detailed material on equipment selection, sizing, and troubleshooting operations is provided along with practical design methodology. Unique to this volume are discussions and information on energy-efficient technologies and approaches to implementing environmental cost accounting measures. Included in the text are sidebar discussions, questions for thinking and discussing, recommended resources for the reader (including Web sites), and a comprehensive glossary. The Handbook of Air Pollution Prevention and Control also includes free access to US EPA's air dispersion model SCREEN3. Detailed examples on the application of this important software to analyzing air dispersion from industrial processes and point sources are provided in the Handbook, along with approaches to applying this important tool in developing approaches to pollution prevention and in selecting control technologies. By applying SCREEN3, along with the examples given in the Handbook, the user can: evaluate the impact of processes and operations to air quality, and apply the model to assess emergency scenarios to help in planning, to develop environmental impact assessments, to select pollution control technologies, and to develop strategies for pollution prevention. Two companion books by Cheremisinoff are available: Handbook of Water and Wastewater Treatment Technologies, and Handbook of Solid Waste Management and Waste Minimization Technologies. Uniquely combines prevention and control concepts while covering the practices and technologies that are applied to the prevention of air pollution in the chemicals manufacturing, oil and gas, iron and steel, and pharmaceutical industries, and to the cleaning and control of industrial air emissions. Provides a bridge for today's environmental manager by focusing on an integrated approach to managing air pollution problems within industrial operations. Shows you how to calculate financial returns from pollution prevention projects.
Air Pollution Control Equipment Calculations by
Unique problem-and-solution approach for quickly mastering a broad range of calculations This book's problem-and-solution approach enables readers to quickly grasp the fundamentals of air pollution control equipment and essential applications. Moreover, the author sets forth solid principles for the design and selection of air pollution control equipment as well as for its efficient operation and maintenance. Readers gain a deep understanding of both the equipment itself and the many factors affecting performance. Following two introductory chapters, the book dedicates four chapters to examining control equipment for gaseous pollutants, including adsorption, absorption, and incineration equipment. The remaining six chapters deal with equipment for managing airborne particulate pollutants, including gravity settlers, cyclones, electrostatic precipitators, scrubbers, and baghouses. The appendix contains discussions of hybrid systems, the SI system (including conversion constants), and a cost-equipment model. Each chapter offers a short introduction to the control device discussed. Next, progressively more difficult problems with accompanying solutions enable readers to build their knowledge as they advance through the chapter. Problems reflect the most recent developments in pollution control and include a variety of performance equations and operation and maintenance calculations. Each problem includes a statement of the problem, the data used to solve the problem, and a detailed solution. Readers may further hone their skills by visiting the text's Web site for additional problems and solutions. This publication serves both as a textbook for engineering students and as a reference for engineers and technicians who need to ensure that air pollution control equipment operates efficiently and enables their facility to meet all air pollution control standards and regulations.