This is the "Reserves" page of the "Industrial Waste Treatment (PTT 429/3)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Industrial Waste Treatment (PTT 429/3)  

Last Updated: May 13, 2015 URL: http://libguides.unimap.edu.my/content.php?pid=671295 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Reserves Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

RESERVES COLLECTIONS

Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.

Cover Art
Wastewater Engineering: treatment and reuse - George Tchobanoglous; Franklin L. Burton; H. David Stensel; Metcalf and Eddy, Inc. Staff
Call Number: TD645 W323 2003
ISBN: 0070418780
Publication Date: 2002-03-26
Wastewater Engineering: Treatment and Reuse,4/e is a thorough update of McGraw-Hill's authoritative book on wastewater treatment. No environmental engineering professional or civil or and environmental engineering major should be without a copy of this book- tt describes the technological and regulatory changes that have occurred over the last ten years in this discipline, including: improved techniques for the characterization of wastewaters; improved fundamental understanding of many of the existing unit operations and processes used for wastewater treatment, especially those processes used for the biological removal of nutrients; greater implementation of several newer treatment technologies (e.g., UV disinfection, membrane filtration, and heat drying); greater concern for the long term health and environmental impacts of wastewater constituents; greater emphasis on advanced wastewater treatment and risk assessment for water reuse applications; changes in regulations and the development of new technologies for wastewater disinfection; and new regulations governing the treatment, reuse, and disposal of sludge (biosolids).Greater concern for infrastructure renewal including upgrading the design and performance of wastewater treatment plants. This revision contains a strong focus on advanced wastewater treatment technologies and stresses the reuse aspects of wastewater and biosolids.

Cover Art
Introduction to Environmental Engineering - David A. Cornwell
Call Number: TD145 D263 1998
ISBN: 0070159181
Publication Date: 1997-10-01
Introduction to Environmental Engineering, 4/e contains the essential science and engineering principles needed for introductory courses and used as the basis for more advanced courses in environmental engineering. Updated with latest EPA regulations, Davis and Cornwell apply the concepts of sustainability and materials and energy balance as a means of understanding and solving environmental engineering issues. With 650 end-of-chapter problems, as well as provocative discussion questions, and a helpful list of review items found at the end of each chapter, the text is both a comprehensible and comprehensive tool for any environmental engineering course. Standards and Laws are the most current and up-to-date for an environmental engineering text.

Cover Art
Waste Treatment in the Process Industries - Howard H. Lo (Editor); Constantine Yapijakis (Editor); Yung Tse Hung (Editor); Lawrence K. Wang (Editor)
Call Number: TD897 W323 2006
ISBN: 084937233X
Publication Date: 2005-10-31
Increasing demand on industrial capacity has, as an unintended consequence, produced an accompanying increase in harmful and hazardous wastes. Derived from the second edition of the popular Handbook of Industrial and Hazardous Wastes Treatment, Waste Treatment in the Process Industries outlines the fundamentals and latest developments in waste treatment in various process industries, such as pharmaceuticals, textiles, petroleum, soap, detergent, phosphate, paper, pulp, pesticides, rubber, and power. Comprehensive in scope, it provides information that is directly applicable to daily waste management problems throughout the industry. The book contains in-depth discussions of environmental pollution sources, waste characteristics, control technologies, management strategies, facility innovations, process alternatives, costs, case histories, effluent standards, and future trends for the process industry. It includes extensive bibliographies for each type of industrial process waste treatment or practice, invaluable information to anyone who needs to trace, follow, duplicate, or improve on a specific process waste treatment practice. A quick scan of the chapters and contributors reveals the depth and breadth of the book's coverage. It provides technical and economical information on how to develop the most feasible total environmental control program that can benefit both process industry and local municipalities.

Cover Art
Waste Treatment and Disposal - Paul T. Williams
Call Number: TD789 G7W726 2005
ISBN: 0470849126
Publication Date: 2005-03-04
Following on from the successful first edition of <i>WasteTreatment & Disposal,</i> this second edition has beencompletely updated, and provides comprehensive coverage ofwaste process engineering and disposal methodologies. Concentratingon the range of technologies available for household and commercialwaste, it also presents readers with relevant legislativebackground material as boxed features. <p>NEW to this edition:</p><ul> <li>Increased coverage of re-use and recycling</li> <li>Updating of the usage of different waste treatmenttechnologies</li> <li>Increased coverage of new and emerging technologies for wastetreatment and disposal</li> <li>A broader global perspective with a focus on comparativeinternational material on waste treatment uptake and wastemanagement policies</li></ul>

Cover Art
Industrial Waste Treatment - Nelson Leonard Nemerow
Call Number: TD897.6 I42 2007
ISBN: 0123724937
Publication Date: 2006-10-13
Taking the reader through the history of industrial waste treatment and directing them toward a new path of best practice, this book illustrates how current treatment techniques are affected by regulatory and economic constraints, scientific knowledge and tolerances. This book provides the reader with the basis for a more effective method of waste treatment which is sustainable and supportive of industrial improvements. Overall, it provides valuable information for planners, industrial, civil and environmental engineers and government officials for a better understanding of current practices and regulatory history and how these factors relate to the ability to complete environmental solutions to industrial waste problems. * Provides environmental history from a professional/technical point-of-view as a basis for total solutions engineering * Includes sustainable practice necessary for the 21st Century * Thoroughly explores industry and environmental regulations over the past 150 years

 

Recommended Books

Cover Art
Waste Treatment in the Metal Manufacturing, Forming, Coating, and Finishing Industries - Lawrence K. Wang (Editor); Yung-Tse Hung (Editor); Nazih K. Shammas (Editor); Yung Tse Hung (Editor)
Call Number: TD899 M45W323 2009
ISBN: 1420072234
Publication Date: 2008-12-17
Comprehensive in its scope and directly applicable to daily waste management problems of specific industries, Waste Treatment in the Metal Manufacturing, Forming, Coating, and Finishing Industries covers hazardous industrial waste treatment, renovation, and reuse in the metal manufacturing, forming, coating, enameling, and finishing industries. It details specific hazardous and industrial wastes from metal industries, basic and advanced principals and applications, augmented by figures, tables, examples, and case histories. This book elucidates new industries and new waste management topics and provides all of the necessary technical information on industrial and hazardous waste treatment. Focusing on new developments in innovative and alternative technologies, it offers in-depth coverage of environmental pollution sources, waste characteristics, facility innovations, design criteria, control technologies, management strategies, process alternatives, costs, and effluent standards. It also addresses the regional and global effects of important pollution control practices specific to the process industries. Since the field of industrial hazardous waste treatment is very broad and no one can claim to be an expert in all industries, the editors have collected contributions from a wide range of experts, making the information in this handbook authoritative, inclusive, and cutting-edge. It seamlessly interweaves the traditional with the novel, covering all sectors of pollution control and delineating the need for a total environmental control program and how to achieve it.

Cover Art
Introduction to Green Chemistry - Albert Matlack
Call Number: TP155.2 E58M433 2010 f
ISBN: 9781420078114
Publication Date: 2010-04-05
In the nearly 10 years since the publication of the bestselling first edition of Introduction to Green Chemistry, interest in green chemistry and clean processes has grown so much that topics, such as fluorous biphasic catalysis, metal organic frameworks, and process intensification, barely mentioned in the first edition, have become major areas of research. In addition, government funding has ramped up the development of fuel cells and biofuels. It reflects the evolving focus from pollution remediation to pollution prevention. Copiously illustrated with over 800 figures, this second edition provides an update from the frontiers of the field. New and expanded research topics: Metal-organic frameworks Solid acids for alkylation of isobutene by butanes Carbon molecular sieves Mixed micro- and mesoporous solids Organocatalysis Process intensification and gas phase enzymatic reactions Hydrogen storage for fuel cells Reactive distillation Catalysts in action on an atomic scale Updated and expanded current events topics: Industry resistance to inherently safer chemistry Nuclear power Removal of mercury from vaccines Removal of mercury and lead from primary explosives Biofuels Uses for surplus glycerol New hard materials to reduce wear Electronic waste Smart growth The book covers traditional green chemistry topics, including catalysis, benign solvents, and alternative feedstocks. It also discusses relevant but less frequently covered topics with chapters such as Chemistry of Longer Wear and Population and the Environment. This coverage highlights the importance of chemistry to everyday life and demonstrates the benefits the expanded exploitation of green chemistry can have for society.

Cover Art
Environmental Engineering - Joseph A. Salvato; Nelson L. Nemerow; Franklin J. Agardy
Call Number: TD145 E59 2003
ISBN: 0471418137
Publication Date: 2003-03-31
Includes new chapters on soil and groundwater remediation, water filtration system technology, and bottled water supplies; plus new sections on food safety and environmental security. Features new expert contributors such as Nelson Nemerow, Franklin Agardy, George Tehachangolow, Pier Armenante, and Anthony Walbarst.

 

COURSE RESERVE COLLECTIONS

 

TELL US!

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip