This is the "Reserves" page of the "Green Building Technology (PAT 368/3)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Green Building Technology (PAT 368/3)  

Last Updated: Jan 1, 2015 URL: http://libguides.unimap.edu.my/content.php?pid=649503 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Reserves Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

RESERVES COLLECTIONS

Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.

Cover Art
Sustainable Construction - Charles J. Kibert
Call Number: TH880 K46 2005
ISBN: 9780471661139
Publication Date: 2005-03-01
Focusing on green building as it applies to larger commercial, institutional buildings, Sustainable Construction provides a complete introduction to the design and construction of high-performance green buildings. By providing a thorough grounding on the subject, this insightful guide encourages you to realize the ecological and economic benefits of green building. Author Charles Kibert uses the U.S. Green Building Council's Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) suite of standards to explain the best practices in building procurement and delivery systems. Providing a detailed overview of the entire process of green building, he covers the theory, history, state of the industry, and best practices in green building. Whether you're an industry professional, building owner, or real estate developer, you'll gain the knowledge you need to test any of the myriad decisions that have to be made in design and construction -- from materials selection to considering the use of natural systems for wastewater processing.

Cover Art
Green Building Materials: a guide to product selection and specification - Ross Spiegel; Dru Meadows
Call Number: TH455 S755 2006
ISBN: 0471700894
Publication Date: 2006-02-10
This excellent hands-on guide to designing environmentally friendly buildings -- those made from materials that preserve the earth's natural legacy for future generations -- is written by two nationally known experts on the subject. You'll find practical information on green product selection, product specification, and construction processes. You'll also learn just what green building materials are, where you can find them, and how you can use them effectively. This edition includes updated information on LEED requirements and how to integrate them into the specifications process and new sections on commissioning and on construction waste management. Other features are guidelines on how to evaluate the "greenness" of building materials, helpful sample forms to aid in selecting and specifying materials, and a brief history of relevant environmental legislation. Order your copy today!

 

Recommended Books

Cover Art
Sustainable Facilities - Keith Moskow
Call Number: TH880 M911 2008
ISBN: 007149474X
Publication Date: 2008-03-26
Let a Team of Leading Architects Take You through 20 Large-Scale, Sustainable Facilities Designed with Green Methods and Materials! A vital working tool for all building professionals interested in green architecture and construction, Sustainable Facilities presents an in-depth look at 20 facilities that were designed for environmental organizations and were constructed and now operate using green building methods and materials. Featuring contributions by leading architects in green building, this expert resource examines each building_from planning through operations-- covering new construction, energy-efficient design, operational cost savings, historic preservation, renovation and expansion, land conservation, and LEED ratings. Packed with 200 black & white and full-color illustrations, Sustainable Facilities takes readers through the Woods Hole Research Center... Chesapeake Bay Foundation Environmental Center...Conservation Law Foundation Headquarters... Marion Art and Environmental Center... ...Thoreau Center for Sustainability... California EPA Headquarters Building...Forestech Centre...Institute for Forestry and Nature Research...and many other facilities. This skills-building reference features: Discussions of 20 facilities_from planning to operations Contributions by leading architects in green building Answers to FAQs about sustainable methods and materials Guidance on the advantages and obstacles involved with green projects Methods for weighing up-front costs against operating costs for facilities Essential for architects, engineers, and contractors, Sustainable Facilities presents state-of-the-art guidance on all the materials, methods, and costs needed for success in green design and building. A groundbreaking resource in the literature of green architecture and construction, Sustainable Facilities offers building professionals everywhere a compelling, in-depth look at 20 facilities that were designed for environmental organizations and were constructed and now operate using green building methods and materials. Written by award-winning architect Keith Moskow, together with a team of leading architects in green building, the book focuses on the unique challenges of each building--from planning through operations-- covering new construction, energy-efficient design, operational cost savings, historic preservation, renovation and expansion, land conservation, and LEED ratings. Sustainable Facilities also explores the advantages and obstacles building teams face on green projects, and explains how to weigh up-front costs against operating costs for facilities. In addition, this cutting-edge reference provides answers to many frequently asked questions about sustainable methods and materials such as: How did the design process differ from that of a conventional building? Has the building performed up to expectations? Were the initial building costs higher than conventional costs? What effect has the building had on its users? Has the building changed people''s perceptions of sustainability? Filled with 200 outstanding black & white and full-color illustrations, Sustainable Facilities examines a wide range of noted green buildings in the U.S., Europe, and Australia, including: Woods Hole Research Center (Falmouth, MA) Conservation Law Foundation Headquarters (Boston, MA) Appalachian Mountain Club''s Highland Lodge (Crawford Notch, NH) Doyle Conservation Center, (Leominster, MA) Bay Education Center (Providence, RI) Chesapeake Bay Foundation, Philip Merrill Environmental Center (Annapolis, MD) PEEC Visitor Activity Center (Dingmans Ferry, PA) Gwinnett Environmental and Heritage Center (Gwinnett County, GA) World Birding Center (Rio Grande, TX) Kresge Foundation Building (Troy, MI) National Outdoor Leadership School Headquarters (Lander, WY) National Park Service, Carl T. Curtis Midwest Regional Headquarters (Omaha, NE) California Environmental Protection Agency Headquarters (Sacramento, CA) Thoreau Center for Sustainability (San Francisco, CA) IslandWood (Bainbridge Island, WA) Marion Art and Environmental Center (Marion, IA) The Robert Redford Building (Santa Monica, CA) Federal Environmental Agency Headquarters (Dessau, Germany) The Forestech Centre (East Gippsland, Australia) Institute for Forestry and Nature Research (Wageningen, Netherlands) Authoritative and up-to-date, Sustainable Facilities now equips architects, engineers, and contractors with a state-of-the-art guide to green design, construction, and operations. The reference contains information on materials, methods, and costs that will enable them to take an integrated team approach to green design and building for facilities of all kinds.

Cover Art
The Engineering Guide to LEED--New Construction - Liv Haselbach
Call Number: TH880 H347 2008
ISBN: 9780071489935
Publication Date: 2008-03-05
Learn the necessary equations to peform the calculations outlined in LEED WithThe Engineering Guide to LEED-New Construction, you will have the most current and practical information available on understanding and applying the U.S. Green Building Council's LEED-NC 2.2 rating system. You will find a complete tutorial on the latest €Œgreen€¥ rating system.

Cover Art
Understanding the Building Regulations - Simon Polley
Call Number: KD1140 P773 2011
ISBN: 9780415608633
Publication Date: 2011-10-17
Do you need a concise, jargon-free and compact guide to the UK building regulations? Simon Polley boils down the regulations to their basic features, explaining the core principles behind them. Easy to read and light enough to carry around with you, this is the ideal introduction to a vital part of your remit as a building control officer, architect or surveyor. Updated with the extensive 2010 changes, and illustrated with cartoons.

 

COURSE RESERVE COLLECTIONS

 

TELL US!

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip