Fermentation Technology (PTT 304/3)

Fully revised and updated, the Sixth Edition of this popular dictionary is the ideal reference resource for students of chemistry, either in high school or in college. The new edition features more than 4,300 entries, including hundreds of new terms. The Dictionary covers all aspects of chemistry--from physical chemistry to biochemistry--including topics such as metallurgy, materials science, forensic science, and geology. There are also biographical entries on key figures in the field. The book has single or double-page feature articles on important topics such as polymers and crystal defects, and chronologies that chart the main discoveries in such fields as atomic theory, biochemistry, explosives, and plastics. The new edition also features web links accessed via a companion website, featuring additional information that is regularly updated to ensure that it stays fresh. The volume concludes with nine appendices, including the periodic table, SI units, the chemical elements, Nobel prizewinners, and useful websites.

For more than a quarter of a century, this amazingly comprehensive dictionary has been a standard international reference. Containing more than 115,000 terms and 125,000 definitions--from 100 areas of science and technology--this trusted resource provides definitions written in clear, simple language, understandable to the general reader, yet is consistent with the specialized use of the term. THE NEW SIXTH EDITION: * Thoroughly revised with 5,000 NEW TERMS * Each term includes a helpful pronunciation guide * Entries are complemented by 3,000 illustrations; appendices containing biographic listings, converison tables, taxonomic classification charts, and more * The only dictionary of scientific and technical terms to be thumb-indexed Invaluable to scientists, researchers, teachers, students, as well as interested lay persons, the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms is truly the single best way for anyone to gain fluency in the language of science.

The Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology provides a comprehensive survey of current biochemistry and molecular biology. Over the last few years, the language of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology has expanded enormously to the extent that few scientists can expect to be familiar with all aspects of it. This is partly due to the Genome projects and the successive -omics projects which have provided comprehensive information about genes, the functions of gene products, and cellular processes. At the same time, terms from other subject areas appear increasingly in the biochemical literature. The popular Dictionary has been comprehensively reviewed and updated to include many important new concepts and words. The entries are short but informative, providing up-to-date information on a broad range of topics, including definitions for selected terms from Bioinformatics, Biophysics, Cell Biology, Chemistry, Genetics, Immunology, Mathematics, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Systems Biology, and Toxicology. There are over 21,000 main entries, which give details of biochemical substances and the processes in which they are involved, define methods and concepts in molecular biology, and give definitions of biochemical symbols and abbreviations. It points out pitfalls where terms are often confused. It explains the precise syntax of biochemical terms, such as Greek letters and other formatting, which are lost when searching the Internet. In addition the dictionary is illustrated with over 900 chemical structures. The Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology will serve as an invaluable reference for biochemists and molecular biologists seeking information outside their own fields, and for those wishing to revisit fundamental principles.

Written for a broad, cross-disciplinary audience, the Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry addresses the fundamental discipline of biological chemistry underlying virtually all of the life sciences. This compilation of more than 500 different entries encompasses all aspects of biochemistry, as well as the extensions of this subject into the related fields of molecular biology, cell biology, genetics and biophysics. This comprehensive encyclopedia covers all areas of biological chemistry written by more than 500 selected international experts. Articles are generously illustrated including more than 800 images in four-color. Each entry contains a clear, concise review of the topic along with illustrations, a glossary of technical terms and a section for additional reading. Each entry further contains general background and term definitions as well as a comprehensive review of the current research in the field. Students, science journalists and scientists seeking a concise introduction to specific topics will appreciate the clear, tabular format of each entry. *Four-volume set with topics arranged from A to Z for easy reference *Seven subject areas covering all areas of biological chemistry *Over 1300 illustrations throughout with 800 in 4-color and over 200 tables *Glossary of specialized terms and 'Further Reading' section provided for every article *Includes entries on the latest research techniques *Appropriate for students, researchers, and professionals.

not available

"This volume covers a range of various chemical engineering disciplines such as intermediates and dyes, food and fermentation and oils surfactants and oleo chemicals, paints and polymer, pharmaceutical technology and pharmacy and fibers and textile processing. The study for chemical engineering is similar to that for chemistry but includes work in engineering-related areas such as thermodynamics, fluid dynamics, process design, and control and electronics. This new encyclopaedia integrates all of the approaches that have gone into the making of the modern field of chemical engineering. It is unique among available reference works in that it covers the most recent topics of research. This work is intended for all those interested in this field. It will be of immense value to all students, especially of chemical engineering."