Polymer Adhesive and Coating (EBT 433/3)

The Handbook of Adhesive Technology, Second Edition exceeds the ambition of its bestselling forerunner by reexamining the mechanisms driving adhesion, categories of adhesives, techniques for bond formation and evaluation, and major industrial applications. Integrating modern technological innovations into adhesive preparation and application, this greatly expanded and updated edition comprises a total of 26 different adhesive groupings, including three new classes. The second edition features ten new chapters, a 40-page list of resources on adhesives, and abundant figures, tables, equations.

Polymer Interface and Adhesion provides the critical basis for further advancement in this field. Combining the principles of interfacial science, rheology, stress analysis, and fracture mechanics, the book teaches a new approach to the analysis of long standing problems such as: how is the interface formed; what are its physical and mechanical properties; and how does the interface modify the stress field and fracture strength of the material. The book offers many outstanding features, including extensive listings of pertinent references, exhaustive tabulations of the interfacial properties of polymers, critical reviews of the many conflicting theories, and complete discussions of coupling agents, adhesion promotion, and surface modifications. Emphasis is placed on physical concepts and mechanisms, using clear, understandable mathematics. Polymer Interface and Adhesion promotes a more thorough understanding of the physical, mechanical, and adhesive properties of multiphase, polymer systems. Polymer scientists and engineers, surface chemists, materials scientists, rheologists, as well as chemical and mechanical engineers interested in the research, development or industrial applications of polymers, plastics, fibers, coatings, adhesives, and composites need this important new sourcebook. Book jacket.

This set of two volumes describes adhesion science from three fundamental perspectives: mechanics, surfaces and chemistry. Volume 1 focuses attention on the contribution of mechanic principles and solutions to understanding the fabrication, design, analysis, and testing of adhesive bonds. It also offers a comprehensive overview of the current understanding of stresses, deformation, and fracture parameters associated with a range of adhesive bonds. Volume 2 deals with the other two disciplines that make up adhesion science, surface and chemistry. In addition, this volume describes several applications of adhesion science and engineering.

Nanotechnology based coating products have shown remarkable growth in recent years. This book begins with an overview chapter on recent scientific and technological advancements in nanotechnology applications in this field. Subsequent chapters cover, in detail, a number of key applications of nanotechnology in coatings, along with the related fundamental science. Some contributions focus on issues related to inorganic/organic nanocomposite coating films, including dispersion of inorganic nanoparticles and nanoclays. Surface Functionalized nanoparticles, predispersed inorganic nanoparticles that can be mixed with existing organic coating formulations and organic/inorganic hybrid latexes are approaches discussed for preparation of nanocomposite coatings having improved scratch, corrosion, and UV resistance. Several chapters address nanostructure development approaches to impart specialized functionality and performance to coatings. Nanoporous adhesive microbial ink-jet inkfor miniature biosensors and biocatalysts and nanostructured conjugated polymer networks are discussed. Characterization of nanostructure and nanoparticle dispersion in coatings is a difficult challenge, and this challenge is addressed in several chapters. Assessment of phopocatalytic activity of nanoparticles, use of atomic force microscopy, applications of Nano-Indentation for mechanical property measurements, and nano-thermal analysis are discussed. Size determination techniques suitablefor nanoparticles are also reviewed. The highly multidisciplinary nature of the field is evident throughout the book.

Both solid knowledge of the basics as well as expert knowledge is needed to create rigid, long-lasting and material-specific adhesions in the industrial or trade sectors. Information that is extremely difficult and time-consuming to find in the current literature. Written by specialists in various disciplines from both academia and industry, this handbook is the very first to provide such comprehensive knowledge in a compact and well-structured form. Alongside such traditional fields as the properties, chemistry and characteristic behavior of adhesives and adhesive joints, it also treats in detail current practical questions and the manifold applications for adhesives.

Nanotechnology based coating products have shown remarkable growth in recent years. This book begins with an overview chapter on recent scientific and technological advancements in nanotechnology applications in this field. Subsequent chapters cover, in detail, a number of key applications of nanotechnology in coatings, along with the related fundamental science. Some contributions focus on issues related to inorganic/organic nanocomposite coating films, including dispersion of inorganic nanoparticles and nanoclays. Surface Functionalized nanoparticles, predispersed inorganic nanoparticles that can be mixed with existing organic coating formulations and organic/inorganic hybrid latexes are approaches discussed for preparation of nanocomposite coatings having improved scratch, corrosion, and UV resistance. Several chapters address nanostructure development approaches to impart specialized functionality and performance to coatings. Nanoporous adhesive microbial ink-jet inkfor miniature biosensors and biocatalysts and nanostructured conjugated polymer networks are discussed. Characterization of nanostructure and nanoparticle dispersion in coatings is a difficult challenge, and this challenge is addressed in several chapters. Assessment of phopocatalytic activity of nanoparticles, use of atomic force microscopy, applications of Nano-Indentation for mechanical property measurements, and nano-thermal analysis are discussed. Size determination techniques suitablefor nanoparticles are also reviewed. The highly multidisciplinary nature of the field is evident throughout the book.

Since the first groundbreaking edition of Developments in Pressure-Sensitive Products was introduced in 1998, heavy research has resulted in substantial progress in the field. Fully updated and expanded to reflect this activity, Developments in Pressure-Sensitive Products, Second Edition provides a detailed overview of the entire range of pressure-sensitive products, both with and without adhesives. It explores the principles behind their design and manufacture along with a variety of applications in medicine, electronics, packaging, and protection. The book establishes the link between underlying theory and practical applications, exploring the physical, molecular, and chemical bases of PSPs while describing the manufacturing processes, end uses, and economic issues involved. This edition includes three new chapters: the first of these explains the new theory of pressure sensitivity considered as a process, illustrating the principles of polymer science governing PSP technology; the second discusses the crosslinking of acrylics, the most important domain in specialized products; and the third presents the latest developments in products based on plastomers, such as hydrogels. Additional coverage includes biological applications of PSPs, engineering problems of coating equipment, web finishing for plastic films, and confectioning. Offering cutting-edge information from the frontiers of research and industry, Developments in Pressure-Sensitive Products, Second Edition is an ideal reference to all aspects of pressure-sensitive technologies and materials.

Serving as an all-in-one guide to the entire field of coatings technology, this encyclopedic reference covers a diverse range of topics-including basic concepts, coating types, materials, processes, testing and applicationse"summarizing both the latest developments and standard coatings methods. Take advantage of the insights and experience of over 100 recognized experts in over 100 chapters to select and apply the best coatings for your own product needs. Emphasizing an interdisciplinary exchange of ideas and approaches, the Coatings Technology Handbook, Second Edition review the most recent testing methods, including infrared spectroscopy, thermal analysis, weathering, and cure monitoringeextensively details a variety of contemporary processes such as flexography, electroless plating, flame surface treatment, embossing, and calendaring eanalyses current materials and surface coatings from resins and thermoplastic elastomers to peelable medical, radiation-cured, leather, and metal coatingseand much more.