Extractive Metallurgy II (EBT 417/3)

Chemical metallurgy is a well founded and fascinating branch of the wide field of metallurgy. This book provides detailed information on both the first steps of separation of desirable minerals and the subsequent mineral processing operations. The complex chemical processes of extracting various elements through hydrometallurgical, pyrometallurgical or electrometallurgical operations are explained. In the choice of material for this work, the author made good use of the synergy of scientific principles and industrial practices, offering the much needed and hitherto unavailable combination of detailed treatises on both compiled in one book.

FUNDAMENTALS OF ANALYTICAL CHEMISTRY, EIGHTH EDITION is known for its readability combined with a systematic, rigorous approach that characterizes this classic text. Extensive coverage of the principles and practices of quantitative chemistry ensures suitability for chemistry majors. These award-winning authors include applications throughout industry, medicine, and all the sciences. The text's new design and wealth of new photographs by renowned chemistry photographer Charlie Winters serve to reinforce student learning through dynamic visuals. Reflecting the increased emphasis of spreadsheets as a tool in analytical chemistry, this new edition adds an additional chapter, new problems and a new supplement, EXCEL? APPLICATIONS FOR ANALYTICAL CHEMISTRY, that integrate this important aspect of the study of analytical chemistry into its already rich pedagogy. In addition, the INTERACTIVE ANALYTICAL CHEMISTRY CD-ROM, packaged FREE with every new text, enhances conceptual understanding through hands-on integrated multimedia interactivity.

Extract all the metals information you need! A wealth of data on metals and their extraction is revealed in this comprehensive handbook. The aim of this book is to provide a clear description of how a particular metal is extracted industrially from different raw materials, and on what its important compounds are. The present work is a collection of 58 articles written by over 280 specialists. It supplies thousands of top-quality illustrations, diagrams and charts, and provides hand-picked references ensuring the most up-to-date coverage. A unique feature of this reference work is its structure. The system used here is according to an economic classification, which reflects mainly the uses, occurrence and economic value of metals. First, the ferrous metals, i.e., those used in the production of iron and steel, are outlined. Then, nonferrous metals are subdivided into primary, secondary, light, precious, refractory, scattered, radioactive, rare earth, ferroalloy metals, and, finally, the alkali and the alkaline earth metals are described. The handbook is an essential aid for the practising metallurgist. Mining engineers, mineralogists, chemical engineers, chemists and geologists will find it a comprehensive desk reference. It is of interest to engineers and scientists in industry seeking an exhaustive sourcebook, and it should be present in every library.

The Extraction and Refining of Metals provides a novel approach to the science and technology of both ferrous and non-ferrous metal production. Rather than the traditional treatment in which one metal at a time is considered, this new approach, which examines several metals at a time, reveals more clearly the versatility and limitations of each of the main types of process. The restrictions imposed on the selection of the process routes by thermodynamic and kinetic factors and by economic and environmental constraints are examined in detail. The conservation of energy and materials is emphasized and illustrated by the description of new and improved extraction methods. The types of mathematical models that are being developed for computer control of production operations are indicated, and worked examples demonstrate relevant thermodynamic and mass balance calculations.

Rather than simply describing the processes and reactions involved in metal extraction, this book concentrates on fundamental principles to give readers an understanding of the possibilities for future developments in this field. It includes a review of the basics of thermodynamics, kinetics and engineering principles that have special importance for extractive metallurgy, to ensure that readers have the background necessary for maximum achievement. The various metallurgical unit processes (such as roasting, reduction, smelting and electrolysis) are illustrated by existing techniques for the extraction of the most common metals. Each chapter includes a bibliography of recommended reading, to aid in further study. The appendices include tables and graphs of thermodynamic qualities for most substances of metallurgical importance; these are ideal for calculating heat (enthalpy) balances and chemical equilibrium constants. SI Units are used consistently throughout the text.

This book describes and explains the methods by which three related ores and recyclables are made into high purity metals and chemicals, for materials processing. It focuses on present day processes and future developments rather than historical processes. Nickel, cobalt and platinum group metals are key elements for materials processing. They occur together in one book because they (i) map together on the periodic table (ii) occur together in many ores and (iii) are natural partners for further materials processing and materials manufacturing. They all are, for example, important catalysts - with platinum group metals being especially important for reducing car and truck emissions. Stainless steels and CoNiFe airplane engine super alloys are examples of practical usage. The product emphasises a sequential, building-block approach to the subject gained through the author's previous writings (particularly Extractive Metallurgy of Copper in four editions) and extensive experience. Due to the multiple metals involved and because each metal originates in several types of ore - e.g. tropical ores and arctic ores this necessitates a multi-contributor work drawing from multiple networks and both engineering and science. Synthesizes detailed review of the fundamental chemistry and physics of extractive metallurgy with practical lessons from industrial consultancies at the leading international plants Discusses Nickel, Cobalt and Platinum Group Metals for the first time in one book Reviews extraction of multiple metals from the same tropical or arctic ore Industrial, international and multidisciplinary focus on current standards of production supports best practice use of industrial resources

For courses in Metallurgy and Materials Science. Co-authored by Kenneth G. Budinski and Michael K. Budinski, his son, with over 50 years of combined industry experience in the field, this practical, understandable introduction to engineering materials theory and industry-standard selection practices provides students with the working knowledge to (1) make an informed selection of materials for engineering applications and (2) correctly specify materials on drawings and purchasing documents. Encompassing all significant material systems metals, ceramics, plastics, and composites this text incorporates the most up-to-date information on material usage and availability, addresses the increasingly global nature of the field, and reflects the suggestions of numerous adopters of previous editions.