Corrosion Engineering (EBT 402/3)

The Latest Methods for Preventing and Controlling Corrosion in All Types of Materials and Applications Now you can turn to Corrosion Engineering for expert coverage of the theory and current practices you need to understand water, atmospheric, and high-temperature corrosion processes. This comprehensive resource explains step-by-step how to prevent and control corrosion in all types of metallic materials and applications-from steel and aluminum structures to pipelines. Filled with 300 illustrations, this skills-building guide shows you how to utilize advanced inspection and monitoring methods for corrosion problems in infrastructure, process and food industries, manufacturing, and military industries. Authoritative and complete, Corrosion Engineering features: Expert guidance on corrosion prevention and control techniques Hands-on methods for inspection and monitoring of corrosion problems New methods for dealing with corrosion A review of current practice, with numerous examples and calculations Inside This Cutting-Edge Guide to Corrosion Prevention and Control e Introduction: Scope and Language of Corrosion e Electrochemistry of Corrosion e Environments: Atmospheric Corrosion e Corrosion by Water and Steam e Corrosion in Soils e Reinforced Concrete e High-Temperature Corrosion e Materials and How They Corrode: Engineering Materials e Forms of Corrosion e Methods of Control: Protective Coatings e Cathodic Protection e Corrosion Inhibitors e Failure Analysis and Design Considerations e Testing and Monitoring: Corrosion Testing and Monitoring

Comprehensive approach to scientific principles and methods that underlie the cause, detection, measurement and prevention of many metal corrosion problems engineering practices.

Discussions on corrosion, wear, fatigue and thermal damage are balance by similiarly detailed discussions of their control methods, e.g. painting and metallic coatings.

Corrosion can be both costly and dangerous, resulting in product contamination or loss as well as structural instability and premature failure. This handbook contains information necessary for ensuring that, regardless of the structure being built, the materials selected for construction will minimize corrosion and its consequences. Nearly twice the size of its best-selling predecessor, the Corrosion Engineering Handbook, Second Edition has been updated and expanded into a set of three self-contained volumes. Each individual book offers detailed coverage tailored to specialists in the field. Taken together, this handbook set is the most comprehensive and authoritative reference in the field. Each book is focused on a specific area of corrosion science and technology: Fundamentals of Metallic Corrosion; Corrosion of Polymers and Elastomers; and Corrosion of Linings and Coatings. The handbook examines all the aspects necessary for understanding and mitigating potential corrosion problems. It covers mechanisms of corrosion and corrosion-resistant properties of various materials. It also contains detailed coverage of proper fabrication and installation techniques, methods for preventing corrosion, and techniques for testing and monitoring corrosion and processing conditions.

Reduce the enormous economic and environmental impact of corrosion Emphasizing quantitative techniques, this guide provides you with: *Theory essential for understanding aqueous, atmospheric, and high temperature corrosion processes Corrosion resistance data for various materials Management techniques for dealing with corrosion control, including life prediction and cost analysis, information systems, and knowledge re-use Techniques for the detection, analysis, and prevention of corrosion damage, including protective coatings and cathodic protection More

Understanding corrosion is essential for selecting and maintaining equipment and structural components that will withstand environmental and process conditions effectively. Fundamentals of Metallic Corrosion: Atmospheric and Media Corrosion of Metals focuses on the mechanisms of corrosion as well as the action of various corrodents on metals and their alloys. The book is tailored to support specialists studying corrosion in metallic materials or using metallic materials.The first chapters describe different forms of metallic corrosion and the effects of atmospheric corrodents such as sulfur-, nitrogen- and chlorine-containing compounds. They also discuss the corrosive effects of weathering conditions and natural media including water, acids, salts, organics, and gases. The remaining chapters are divided into metal types and their alloys. They cover stainless, ferritic, and martensitic steels as well as nickel alloys, copper, copper alloys, aluminum, titanium, zinc, and lead. Each chapter examines the corrosion potential of the material and provides easy-to-use charts that specify their compatibility with selected corrodents. The book also compares the corrosion resistance of nonferrous metals and alloys.