Metallurgical Design (EBT 316/3)

Dieter's Engineering Design represents a major update of this classic textbook for senior design courses. As in previous editions, Engineering Design provides a broader overview of topics than most design texts and contains much more prescriptive guidance on how to carry out design. Dieter focuses on material selection as well as how to implement the design process. Engineering Design provides the senior mechanical engineering students with a realistic understanding of the design process. It is written from the viewpoint that design is the central activity of the engineering profession, and it is more concerned with developing attitudes and approaches than in presenting design techniques and tools.

Combines all relevant techniques used in the thermal and materials sciences, fluid engineering, and engineering mechanics to foster an understanding of the engineering design process from the recognition of a need and the definition of design objectives, through product certification and manufacture of a prototype. Coverage includes insight on how to manage a project, safety and environmental protection, plus a unique chapter concerning ethics. This edition has been updated to incorporate current trends and environmental and economic issues. Mini projects stress such topics as codes and specifications, economical design, statistical data analysis, simulation and modeling, creativity, and innovation. Features actual case studies.

Materials are the stuff of design. From the very beginning of human history, materials have been taken from the natural world and shaped, modified, and adapted for everything from primitive tools to modern electronics. This renowned book by noted materials engineering author Mike Ashby and Industrial designer, Kara Johnson, explores the role of materials and materials processing in product design, with a particular emphasis on creating both desired aesthetics and functionality. The new edition will feature even more of the highly useful "materials profiles," that give critical design, processing, performance and applications criteria for each material in question. The reader will find information ranging from the generic and commercial names of each material, its physical and mechanical properties, its chemical properties, its common uses, how it is typically made and processed, and even its average price. And with improved photographs and drawings, the reader will be taken even more closely to the way real design is done by real designers, selecting the optimum materials for a successful product. * The best guide ever published on the on the role of materials, past and present, in product development, by noted materials authority Mike Ashby and professional designer Kara Johnson--now with even better photos and drawings on the Design Process * Significant new section on the use of re-cycled materials in products, and the importance of sustainable design for manufactured goods and services * Enhanced materials profiles, with addition of new materials types like nanomaterials, advanced plastics and bio-based materials

This is an introductory text for materials science and engineering. This book takes an integrated approach to materials, with an organization focusing on properties rather than classes of materials.Schaffer's Science and Design of Engineering Materials, 2nd Edition will now be complemented by an e-Text. An e-Text is pdf. files of the mian text on CD-ROM. The entire contents of the Materials in Focus CD-ROM, which has previously complemented the book are also on the e-Text. Because the text and the Materials in Focus CD-ROM are now together on one CD-ROM, students are able to move back and forth between the two seamlessly. Instructors will benefit from the e-Text because they will better be able to tie the text material to lectures and homework problems.

Reviewing an extensive array of procedures in hot and cold forming, casting, heat treatment, machining, and surface engineering of steel and aluminum, this comprehensive reference explores a vast range of processes relating to metallurgical component design-enhancing the production and microstructural and mechanical properties of engineered components while reducing manufacturing costs.

One of two self-contained volumes belonging to the newly revised Steel Heat Treatment Handbook, Second Edition, this book focuses on process design, equipment, and testing used in steel heat treatment. Steel Heat Treatment: Equipment and Process Design presents the classical perspectives that form the basis of heat treatment processes while incorporating detailed descriptions of the latest advances since the 1997 publication of the first edition. This book covers the basic principles of heat treatment and the equipment used in modern industrial settings. It also offers detailed coverage of induction heat treatment as well as important types of furnaces, heat transfer, cooling processes, computation, power supplies, laser treatments, residual stress and loading, microstructural analysis, and quality control. The book features thoroughly updated and new information, most notably in the chapters on vacuum heat processing, designing quench processes, laser hardening, and metallurgical property testing. Steel Heat Treatment: Equipment and Process Design provides a focused resource for everyday use by advanced students and practitioners in metallurgy, process design, heat treatment, and mechanical and materials engineering.