Geometric, Dimensioning and Tolerancing (PDT 212/3)

Whether a marketing campaign or a museum exhibit, a video game or a complex control system, the design we see is the culmination of many concepts and practices brought together from a variety of disciplines. Because no one can be an expert on everything, designers have always had to scramble to find the information and know-how required to make a design workùuntil now. Universal Principles of Designis the first cross-disciplinary reference of design. Richly illustrated and easy to navigate, this book pairs clear explanations of the design concepts featured with visual examples of those concepts applied in practice. From the 80/20 rule to chunking, from baby-face bias to Ockham's razor, and from self-similarity to storytelling, 100 design concepts are defined and illustrated for readers to expand their knowledge. This landmark reference will become the standard for designers, engineers, architects, and students who seek to broaden and improve their design expertise.

More than 3,000 terms with clear, working definitions, alternative meanings, and related references comprise this uniquely focused lexicon. Published in a convenient, paperback format, it covers chemical, energy, nuclear, plasma, condensed matter, and solid-state physics, fluid dynamics, quantum mechanics, quantum optics, thermodynamics, and materials science.

An industry standard since 1980, this collection contains more than 10,000 environmental statute and regulatory terms and their official meanings according to the U.S. government. You'll find multiple definitions for the same terms and citations for every definition, directing you to the specific part of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) or laws where the definition appeared.

The 10,000 entries (arranged from A to Z) are supplemeted by hundreds of figures (approximately 700) & tables (more than 150) that clearly demonstrate the principles & concepts behind important manufacturing processes, illustrate the important structures, or provide representative compositional & property data for a wide variety of ferrous & nonferrous materials, plastics, ceramics, composites (resin-metal-carbon-&-cermaic-matrix) & adhesives. "Technical Briefs" provide encyclopedic-type coverage for some 64 key material groups. Each Technical Brief contains a "Recommended Reading" list to guide the user to additional information. Published by ASM International (tm), Materials Park, OH 44073.

An industry standard since 1980, this collection contains more than 10,000 environmental statute and regulatory terms and their official meanings according to the U.S. government. You'll find multiple definitions for the same terms and citations for every definition, directing you to the specific part of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) or laws where the definition appeared.

The previous edition of the International Encyclopedia of Ergonomics and Human Factors made history as the first unified source of reliable information drawn from many realms of science and technology and created specifically with ergonomics professionals in mind. It was also a winner of the Best Reference Award 2002 from the Engineering Libraries Division, American Society of Engineering Education, USA, and the Outstanding Academic Title 2002 from Choice Magazine. Not content to rest on his laurels, human factors and ergonomics expert Professor Waldemar Karwowski has overhauled his standard-setting resource, incorporating coverage of tried and true methods, fundamental principles, and major paradigm shifts in philosophy, thought, and design. Demonstrating the truly interdisciplinary nature of this field, these changes make the second edition even more comprehensive, more informative, more, in a word, encyclopedic.Keeping the format popularized by the first edition, the new edition has been completely revised and updated. Divided into 13 sections and organized alphabetically within each section, the entries provide a clear and simple outline of the topics as well as precise and practical information. The book reviews applications, tools, and innovative concepts related to ergonomic research. Technical terms are defined (where possible) within entries as well as in a glossary. Students and professionals will find this format invaluable, whether they have ergonomics, engineering, computing, or psychology backgrounds. Experts and researchers will also find it an excellent source of information on areas beyond the range of their direct interests.

More than 1,000 of the most functional, widely used electronic and integrated circuits--at your fingertips!The Sixth Volume in the series of peerless, bestselling references provides you with a huge collection of circuits for virtually every type of electronic device. With these state-of-the-art circuit drawings--developed from late 1992 through early 1995--you'll be able to design the optimum circuit with a minimum of time and effort.Arranged alphabetically by circuit type, this massive resource offers a cumulative index to all six volumes of theEncyclopedia of Electronic Circuits.Contains circuit schematics used in: * Alarm and security systems * Computers * Fiberoptics * Lasers * Oscilloscopes * Temperature sensors * Amplifiers * Converters * Generators * Detectors * Receivers * Transmitters... and many more electronic devices.Acclaim for previous volumes:"...a ready source to which to turn for just about any type of circuit you can imagine..."--Modern Electronics"...for professionals who need fast answers to specific design problems..."--The Industrial and Process Control Magazine"Highly recommended...truly an invaluable storehouse..."--American Reference Books Annual