This is the "Reserves" page of the "Material Science (PDT122/3)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Material Science (PDT122/3)  

Last Updated: Jul 1, 2016 URL: http://libguides.unimap.edu.my/content.php?pid=478584 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Reserves Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

RESERVES COLLECTIONS

Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.

Cover Art
Foundations of Materials Science and Engineering - William Smith; Javad Hashemi; William F. Smith
Call Number: TA403 S663 2010
ISBN: 9780073529240
Publication Date: 2010
Smith/Hashemi'sFoundations of Materials Science and Engineering, 5/e provides an eminently readable and understandable overview of engineering materials for undergraduate students. This edition offers a fully revised chemistry chapter and a new chapter on biomaterials as well as a new taxonomy for homework problems that will help students and instructors gauge and set goals for student learning. Through concise explanations, numerous worked-out examples, a wealth of illustrations & photos, and a brand new set of online resources, the new edition provides the most student-friendly introduction to the science & engineering of materials. The extensive media package available with the text provides Virtual Labs, tutorials, and animations, as well as image files, case studies, FE Exam review questions, and a solutions manual and lecture PowerPoint files for instructors.

Cover Art
Engineering Materials - Kenneth G. Budinski; Michael K. Budinski
Call Number: TA403 B927 2005
ISBN: 0131837796
Publication Date: 2005
Co-authored by Kenneth G. Budinski and Michael K. Budinski, his son, with over 50 years of combined industry experience in the field, this practical, understandable introduction to engineering materials theory and industry-standard selection practices provides readers with the working knowledge to (1) make an informed selection of materials for engineering applications and (2) correctly specify materials on drawings and purchasing documents. Encompassing all significant material systems metals, ceramics, plastics, and composites this text incorporates the most up-to-date information on material usage and availability, addresses the increasingly global nature of the field, and reflects the suggestions of numerous adopters of previous editions.Within the four major material categories, this edition includes specific coverage of international metal buying, plastic families, “survivor” ceramics, and composite coatings. Other topics include surface engineering; tribology (friction, wear and lubrication); material properties; cemented carbides; steel making; heat treating; and corrosion including a treatment of electrochemistry.Appropriate for all materials engineers.

Cover Art
Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers - James F. Shackelford
Call Number: TA403 S524 2000
ISBN: 0130112879
Publication Date: 2000
This book provides balanced, current treatment of the full spectrum of engineering materials, covering all the physical properties, applications and relevant properties associated with engineering materials. The book explores all of major categories of materials while offering detailed examinations of a wide range of new materials with high-tech applications. The reader is treated to state-of-the-art computer generated crystal structure illustrations, offering the most technically precise and visually realistic illustrations available. The book includes over 350 exercises with sample problems to provide guidance. Materials for Engineering, Atomic Bonding, Crystal Structure and Defects, Diffusion, Mechanical Behavior, Thermal Behavior, Failure Analysis & Prevention. Phase Diagrams, Heat Treatment, Metals, Ceramics and Glasses, Polymers, Composites, Electrical Behavior, Optical Behavior, Semiconductor Materials, Magnetic Materials, Environmental Degradation, Materials Science. For mechanical and civil engineers and machine designers.

Cover Art
Corrosion Engineering - Mars G. Fontana
Call Number: TA418.74 F679 1986
ISBN: 0070214638
Publication Date: 1986

 

OTHER RECOMMENDED TITLES

Cover Art
Materials and Design - Michael F. Ashby; Kara Johnson
Call Number: TS171 A823 2002
ISBN: 0750655542
Publication Date: 2002
The history of man is recorded, recovered and remembered through the designs he created and the materials he used. Materials are the stuff of design, and today is not the age of just one material, but of an immense range. Best selling author M. F. Ashby guides the reader through the process of selecting materials on the basis of their design suitability. He and co-author Kara Johnson begin with the assumption that products in a given market sector have little to distinguish between them in either performance or cost. When many technically near-equivalent products compete, market share is won or lost by the industrial design of a product: its visual and tactile attributes, the associations it carries, the image it creates in the consumer's mind and the quality of its interface with the use and the environment. Ashby and Johnson address the problem of selecting materials for industrial design from a unique viewpoint. They acknowledge that materials have two overlapping roles, in technical design and in industrial design. The technical designer has ready access to materials information. Industrial designers often do not have equivalent support. Materials Selection in Industrial Design presents groundbreaking new information that, on one hand introduces engineering students to the principles of Industrial Design and to the idea that the selection of materials can directly affect the aesthetic qualities of the object. On the other hand they introduce industrial design students and practising industrial designers to engineering parameters through an accessible and holistic approach. * Easy to use systematic approach to the selection and uses of materials * Many excellent attribute "maps" are included which enable complex comparative information to be readily grasped * Full colour photographs and illustrations throughout aid the understanding of concepts

Cover Art
Electronic Materials Science - Eugene A. Irene
Call Number: TK7871 I66 2005
ISBN: 0471695971
Publication Date: 2005
A thorough introduction to fundamental principles and applications From its beginnings in metallurgy and ceramics, materials science now encompasses such high- tech fields as microelectronics, polymers, biomaterials, and nanotechnology. Electronic Materials Science presents the fundamentals of the subject in a detailed fashion for a multidisciplinary audience. Offering a higher-level treatment than an undergraduate textbook provides, this text benefits students and practitioners not only in electronics and optical materials science, but also in additional cutting-edge fields like polymers and biomaterials. Readers with a basic understanding of physical chemistry or physics will appreciate the text's sophisticated presentation of today's materials science. Instructive derivations of important formulae, usually omitted in an introductory text, are included here. This feature offers a useful glimpse into the foundations of how the discipline understands such topics as defects, phase equilibria, and mechanical properties. Additionally, concepts such as reciprocal space, electron energy band theory, and thermodynamics enter the discussion earlier and in a more robust fashion than in other texts. Electronic Materials Science also features: * An orientation towards industry and academia drawn from the author's experience in both arenas * Information on applications in semiconductors, optoelectronics, photocells, and nanoelectronics * Problem sets and important references throughout * Flexibility for various pedagogical needs Treating the subject with more depth than any other introductory text, Electronic Materials Science prepares graduate and upper-level undergraduate students for advanced topics in the discipline and gives scientists in associated disciplines a clear review of the field and its leading technologies.

Cover Art
Understanding Solids - Richard J. D. Tilley
Call Number: TA403 T576 2004
ISBN: 0470852763
Publication Date: 2004
A modern introduction to the subject taking a unique integrated approach designed to appeal to both science and engineering students. Covering a broad spectrum of topics, this book includes numerous up-to-date examples of real materials with relevant applications and a modern treatment of key concepts. The science bias allows this book to be equally accessible to engineers, chemists and physicists. * Carefully structured into self-contained bite-sized chapters to enhance student understanding * Questions have been designed to reinforce the concepts presented * Includes coverage of radioactivity * Relects a rapidly growing field from the science perspective

 

Suggest a Title

Suggest a title to us.

RECOMMEND A BOOK FOR COURSE RESERVE COLLECTIONS (RED SPOT ITEMS)

We invite course instructors to recommend any available titles to be placed at our reserves collections. All items will be recognized with red spot label on its' spine label.
Name *
Email *
1. Title *
2. Author
3. Edition *
4. Publication year *
5. Publisher
6. Course Name *
7. School *
 

COURSE RESERVE COLLECTIONS

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip