Substation Maintenance (PLT 309/3)

The use of electric power substations in generation, transmission, and distribution remains one of the most challenging and exciting areas of electric power engineering. Recent technological developments have had a tremendous impact on all aspects of substation design and operation. With 80% of its chapters completely revised and two brand-new chapters on energy storage and Smart Grids, Electric Power Substations Engineering, Third Edition provides an extensive updated overview of substations, serving as a reference and guide for both industry and academia. Contributors have written each chapter with detailed design information for electric power engineering professionals and other engineering professionals (e.g., mechanical, civil) who want an overview or specific information on this challenging and important area. This book: Emphasizes the practical application of the technology Includes extensive use of graphics and photographs to visually convey the book's concepts Provides applicable IEEE industry standards in each chapter Is written by industry experts who have an average of 25 to 30 years of industry experience Presents a new chapter addressing the key role of the substation in Smart Grids Editor John McDonald and this very impressive group of contributors cover all aspects of substations, from the initial concept through design, automation, and operation. The book's chapters--which delve into physical and cyber-security, commissioning, and energy storage--are written as tutorials and provide references for further reading and study. As with the other volumes in the Electric Power Engineering Handbook series, this book supplies a high level of detail and, more importantly, a tutorial style of writing and use of photographs and graphics to help the reader understand the material. Several chapter authors are members of the IEEE Power & Energy Society (PES) Substations Committee and are the actual experts who are developing the standards that govern all aspects of substations. As a result, this book contains the most recent technological developments in industry practice and standards.

Combining select chapters from Grigsby's standard-setting The Electric Power Engineering Handbook with several chapters not found in the original work, Electric Power Substations Engineering became widely popular for its comprehensive, tutorial-style treatment of the theory, design, analysis, operation, and protection of power substations. For its second edition, this popular progeny rejoins the handbook as one in a set of five carefully focused volumes. In addition to substantial updates in most areas, this bestselling reference brings to the Handbook its five original contributions, covering such diverse topics as communications, physical and cyber security, and gas-insulated transmission lines (GIL). This edition also includes two entirely new chapters on substation asset management and substation commissioning. Major updates appear in the highly active areas of integration, automation, substation grounding, high-voltage switching equipment, and air- and gas-insulated substations. With contributions by active leaders from around the world, the coverage reflects international standards, practices, and technologies, not limited to those found in North America. In fact, many of the contributors are involved in developing the standards in their area of expertise. Updated to include the latest developments, trends, and technologies, Electric Power Substations Engineering, Second Edition provides a thorough and up-to-date guide for power engineers at all levels of expertise. Other volumes in the set include: nbsp; Electric Power Generation, Transmission, and Distribution Electric Power Transformer Engineering, Second Edition Power Systems Power System Stability and Control

Most books on transmission and distribution electrical engineering are student texts that focus on theory, brief overviews, or specialised monographs. Colin Bayliss and Brian Hardy have produced a unique and comprehensive handbook aimed squarely at practising engineers and planners involved in all aspects of getting electricity from the power plant to the user via the power grid. The scope of this book embraces power systems, substations, cabling, switchgear, power systems protection, overhead lines, project management, planning, regulations, and more... The third edition has been fully updated throughout in line with current IEC and European standards, an approach which has resulted in a thoroughly rewritten chapter on earthing and bonding and significant revisions to the chapters on EMC, insulation coordination and overhead line design. There is increased emphasis on reliability concepts and greatly expanded treatment of the subject of power quality.. The resulting book is an essential guide and a hard-working reference for all engineers, technicians, managers and planners involved in the electricity supply industry, and related areas such as generation, and industrial electricity usage. 1. A reference handbook written by engineers for engineers 2. Unrivalled in its scope, covering systems, substations, cabling, switchgear, power systems protection, overhead lines, project management, planning, regulations, and more... 3. The third edition includes expanded sections on power quality, a thoroughly updated section on earthing and bonding, and coverage of the integration embedded generation and renewables in modern power systems

THE DEFINITIVE GUIDE TO POWER QUALITY--UPDATED AND EXPANDED Electrical Power Systems Quality, Third Edition, is a complete, accessible, and up-to-date guide to identifying and preventing the causes of power quality problems. The information is presented without heavy-duty equations, making it practical and easily readable for utility engineers, industrial engineers, technicians, and equipment designers. This in-depth resource addresses the essentials of power quality and tested methods to improve compatibility among the power system, customer equipment, and processes. Coverage includes: Standard terms and definitions for power quality phenomena Protecting against voltage sags and interruptions Harmonic phenomena and dealing with harmonic distortion Transient overvoltages Long-duration voltage variations Benchmarking power quality International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) and Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) standards Maintaining power quality in distributed generation systems Common wiring and grounding problems, along with solutions Site surveys and power quality monitoring

Featuring contributions from worldwide leaders in the field, the carefully crafted Electric Power Generation, Transmission, and Distribution, Third Edition (part of the five-volume set, The Electric Power Engineering Handbook) provides convenient access to detailed information on a diverse array of power engineering topics. Updates to nearly every chapter keep this book at the forefront of developments in modern power systems, reflecting international standards, practices, and technologies. Topics covered include: Electric power generation: nonconventional methods Electric power generation: conventional methods Transmission system Distribution systems Electric power utilization Power quality L.L. Grigsby, a respected and accomplished authority in power engineering, and section editors Saifur Rahman, Rama Ramakumar, George Karady, Bill Kersting, Andrew Hanson, and Mark Halpin present substantially new and revised material, giving readers up-to-date information on core areas. These include advanced energy technologies, distributed utilities, load characterization and modeling, and power quality issues such as power system harmonics, voltage sags, and power quality monitoring. With six new and 16 fully revised chapters, the book supplies a high level of detail and, more importantly, a tutorial style of writing and use of photographs and graphics to help the reader understand the material. New chapters cover: Water Transmission Line Reliability Methods High Voltage Direct Current Transmission System Advanced Technology High-Temperature Conduction Distribution Short-Circuit Protection Linear Electric Motors

The purpose of the 2009 Electrical Transmission and Stubstations Structures Conference, held in Fort Worth, Texas, on November 8-12, 2009, was to provide further understanding of the electric utility industry through technical papers, workshops, and networking among utility professionals. This title contains 45 papers presented at the conference.