Vibration (EPT 415/3)

In the first, 1986, edition of this book, inverse problems in vibration were interpreted strictly: problems concerning the reconstruction of a unique, undamped vibrating system, of a specified type, from specified vibratory behaviour, particularly specified natural frequencies and/or natural mode shapes. In this new edition the scope of the book has been widened to include topics such as isospectral systems- families of systems which all exhibit some specified behaviour; applications of the concept of Toda flow; new, non-classical approaches to inverse Sturm-Liouville problems; qualitative properties of the modes of some finite element models; damage identification.With its emphasis on analysis, on qualitative results, rather than on computation, the book will appeal to researchers in vibration theory, matrix analysis, differential and integral equations, matrix analysis, non-destructive testing, modal analysis, vibration isolation, etc. "This book is a necessary addition to the library of engineers and mathematicians working in vibration theory." Mathematical Reviews

Addressing important practical aspects of nonlinear vibration analysis, this book presents cases rarely discussed in the existing literature yet are of considerable interest to researchers and practical engineers, such as rotor dynamics, torsional vibration of engines and mechatronics. The book can be used not only as a reference, but also as a graduate-level text, as it develops the subject from its foundations and contains problems and solutions for each chapter. The book begins with a discussion of vibrations in linear systems with one degree of freedom, providing a mathematical and physical basis for the subsequent chapters. Linear systems with many degrees of freedom serve to introduce the modal analysis of vibrations as well as some useful computational procedures. The book then turns to continuous linear systems, discussing both analytical solutions that provide physical insights as well as discretization techniques that supply tools for actual computation. The discussion of nonlinear vibrations includes a treatment of chaotic vibrations and other new insights. The book concludes with detailed discussions of the dynamics of rotating and reciprocating machinery. This edition includes modernized notation, both the classical approach to vibration and the modern approach through dynamical systems theory, and the most recent developments in the field. To make the material more accessible to students, larger chapters have been reorganized into several smaller chapters.

High standards of NVH (Noise, Vibration and Harshness) performance are expected by consumers of all modern cars. Refinement is one of the main engineering and design attributes to be addressed in the course of developing new vehicle models and vehicle components. Written for students and engineering practitioners, this is the first book to address automotive NVH. It will help readers to understand and develop quieter, more comfortable cars. With chapters on the fundamentals of acoustics and detailed coverage of practical engineering solutions for noise control issues it is suitable for students of automotive engineering and engineers who haven't been trained in acoustics, and will be an important reference for practicing engineers in the motor industry.

Most machines and structures are required to operate with low levels of vibration as smooth running leads to reduced stresses and fatigue and little noise. This book provides a thorough explanation of the principles and methods used to analyse the vibrations of engineering systems, combined with a description of how these techniques and results can be applied to the study of control system dynamics. Numerous worked examples are included, as well as problems with worked solutions, and particular attention is paid to the mathematical modelling of dynamic systems and the derivation of the equations of motion. all engineers, practising and student, should have a good understanding of the methods of analysis available for predicting the vibration response of a system and how it can be modified to produce acceptable results. This text provides an invaluable insight into both.

Noise and Vibration Control Engineering: Principles and Applications, Second Edition is the updated revision of the classic reference containing the most important noise control design information in a single volume of manageable size. Specific content updates include completely revised material on noise and vibration standards, updated information on active noise/vibration control, and the applications of these topics to heating, ventilating, and air conditioning.

Theory of Arched Structures: Strength, Stability, Vibration presents detailed procedures for analytical analysis of the strength, stability, and vibration of arched structures of different types, using exact analytical methods of classical structural analysis. The material discussed is divided into four parts. Part I covers stress and strain with a particular emphasis on analysis; Part II discusses stability and gives an in-depth analysis of elastic stability of arches and the role that matrix methods play in the stability of the arches; Part III presents a comprehensive tutorial on dynamics and free vibration of arches, and forced vibration of arches; and Part IV offers a section on special topics which contains a unique discussion of plastic analysis of arches and the optimal design of arches..

This text is an introduction to the dynamics of active structures and to the feedback control of lightly damped flexible structures; the emphasis is placed on basic issues and simple control strategies that work.Now in its third edition, more chapters have been added, and comments and feedback from readers have been taken into account, while at the same time the unique premise of bridging the gap between structure and control has remained.  Many examples and problems bring the subject to life and take the audience from theory to practice.The book has chapters dealing with some concepts in structural dynamics; electromagnetic and piezoelectric transducers; piezoelectric beam, plate and truss; passive damping with piezoelectric transducers; collocated versus non-collocated control; active damping with collocated systems; vibration isolation; state space approach; analysis and synthesis in the frequency domain; optimal control; controllability and observability; stability; applications; tendon control of cable structures; active control of large telescopes; and semi-active control. The book concludes with an exhaustive bibliography and index. This book is intended for structural engineers who want to acquire some background in vibration control; it can be used as a textbook for a graduate course on vibration control or active structures. A solutions manual is available through the publisher to teachers using this book as a textbook.