Tools and Die Design (EPT 381/3)

"The creation of a Fifth Edition is proof of the continuing vitality of the book's contents, including: tool design and materials; jigs and fixtures; workholding principles; die manipulation; inspection, gaging, and tolerances; computer hardware and software and their applications; joining processes, and pressworking tool design. To stay abreast of the newer developments in design and manufacturing, every effort has been made to include those technologies that are currently finding applications in tool engineering. For example, sections on rapid prototyping, hydroforming, and simulation have been added or enhanced." "The basic principles and methods discussed in Fundamentals of Tool Design can be used by both students and professionals for designing efficient tools."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

New materials enable advances in engineering design. This book describes a procedure for material selection in mechanical design, allowing the most suitable materials for a given application to be identified from the full range of materials and section shapes available. A novel approach is adopted not found elsewhere. Materials are introduced through their properties; materials selection charts (a new development) capture the important features of all materials, allowing rapid retrieval of information and application of selection techniques. Merit indices, combined with charts, allow optimisation of the materials selection process. Sources of material property data are reviewed and approaches to their use are given. Material processing and its influence on the design are discussed. The book closes with chapters on aesthetics and industrial design. Case studies are developed as a method of illustrating the procedure and as a way of developing the ideas further.

From concept development to final production, this comprehensive text thoroughly examines the design, prototyping, and fabrication of engineering products and emphasizes modern developments in system modeling, analysis, and automatic control. This reference details various management strategies, design methodologies, traditional production techniques, and assembly applications for clear illustration of manufacturing engineering technology in the modern age. Considers a variety of methods for product design including axiomatic design, design for X, group technology, and the Taguchi method, as well as modern production techniques including laser-beam machining, microlithography.

This newly updated edition focuses on the drawing skills and information that are vital to a successful career in drafting. Coverage spans from basic to advanced aspects of engineering and industrial technology, providing readers with fundamental exposure to design and visualization for computer modeling, as well as the more traditional methods of technical drawing. All-inclusive coverage features the latest information on CAD, GIS, the Internet, ISO 9000, and solid modeling, with applications to various drafting disciplines. Related technologies such as welding and present-day manufacturing are also emphasized.

As the only comprehensive text focusing on metal shaping processes, which are still the most widely used processes in the manufacture of products and structures, Metal Shaping Processes carefully presents the fundamentals of metal shaping processes with their relevant applications. The treatment of the subject matter is adequately descriptive for those unfamiliar with the various processes and yet is sufficiently analytical for an introductory academic course in manufacturing. The text, as well as the numerous formulas and illustrations in each chapter, clearly show that shaping processes, as a part of manufacturing engineering, are a complex and interdisciplinary subject. The topics are organized and presented in such a manner that they motivate and challenge students to present technically and economically viable solutions to a wide variety of questions and problems, including product design. It is the perfect textbook for students in mechanical, industrial, and manufacturing engineering programs at both the Associate Degree and Bachelor Degree programs, as well a valuable reference for manufacturing engineers (those who design, execute and maintain the equipment and tools); process engineers (those who plan and engineer the manufacturing steps, equipment, and tooling needed in production); manufacturing managers and supervisors; product design engineers; and maintenance and reliability managers and technicians. Each chapter begins with a brief highlighted outline of the topics to be described. Carefully presents the fundamentals of the particular metal-shaping process with its relevant applications within each chapter, so that the student and teacher can clearly assess the capabilities, limitation, and potentials of the process and its competitive aspects. Features sections on product design considerations, which present guidelines on design for manufacturing in many of the chapters. Offers practical, understandable explanations, even for complex processes. Includes text entries that are coded as in an outline, with these numerical designations carried over the 320 related illustrations for easy cross-referencing. Provides a dual (ISO and USA) unit system. Contains end-of-chapter Review Questions. Includes a chapter on sheet metalworking covering cutting processes; bending process; tubes and pipe bending; deep drawing processes; other sheet metal forming process (stretch forming, spinning, rubber forming, and superplatic forming and diffusion bonding). Provides a useful die classification with 15 illustrations and description; presses for sheet metalworking; and high energy-rate forming processes. A chapter on nontraditional manufacturing process discusses such important processes as mechanical energy processes (ultrasonic machining, water jet cutting); electrochemical machining processes (electrochemical machining, electrochemical grinding); thermal energy processes (electric discharge processes, laser beam machining, electron beam machining); and chemical processes (chemical milling).

A practical guide for ensuring a defect-free coating and drying process For professionals in the coating and drying industry, the world is a demanding place. New, technically complex products such as fuel cell membranes, thin film batteries, solar cells, and RFID chips require coatings of extreme precision. With the bar raised so high, understanding how to troubleshoot and eliminate defects on a coating line is an essential skill for all personnel. Coating and Drying Defects, Second Edition provides manufacturing and quality control personnel, equipment operators and supervisors, and plant engineers and scientists with the full complement of proven tools and techniques for detecting, defining, and eliminating coating defects and operating problems, and for ensuring that they do not recur. Updating the valuable contents of the first edition, this practical Second Edition: Describes all major processes for coating and drying of continuous film on sheets or webs Covers technologies that have been recently developed to prevent defect formation and improve operating procedures Provides a rational framework within which to assess and analyze virtually any defect that may arise Offers step-by-step guidelines for conducting every phase of the troubleshooting process, including defect prevention Going beyond simply describing a disparate set of troubleshooting techniques, this unique guide arms readers with a systematic, nonmathematical methodology encompassing the entire coating operation, becoming an indispensable resource for manufacturing and quality-control personnel as well as plant engineers, polymer scientists, surface scientists, organic chemists, and coating scientists.