Vibration and Mechanics of Machines (EPT 312/3): Electronic Books

The comprehensive Rotating Machinery Vibration provides a thorough grounding in the fundamentals of the field. It describes computer model building, sources and types of vibration, and machine vibration signal analysis and comes with a software disk filled with tools for the analysis of general rotor vibration and rotor balancing. Providing comprehensive descriptions of vibration symptoms for rotor unbalance, dynamic instability, rotor-stator rubs, misalignment, loose parts, cracked shafts, and rub-induced thermal bows, this book is an essential reference for a broad range of engineering professionals, including those in the design, manufacturing, and aerospace fields.

From the ox carts and pottery wheels the spacecrafts and disk drives, efficiency and quality has always been dependent on the engineer’s ability to anticipate and control the effects of vibration. And while progress in negating the noise, wear, and inefficiency caused by vibration has been made, more is needed. Modeling and Control of Vibration in Mechanical Systemsanswers the essential needs of practitioners in systems and control with the most comprehensive resource available on the subject. Written as a reference for those working in high precision systems, this uniquely accessible volume: Differentiates between kinds of vibration and their various characteristics and effects Offers a close-up look at mechanical actuation systems that are achieving remarkably high precision positioning performance Includes techniques for rejecting vibrations of different frequency ranges Covers the theoretical developments and principles of control design with detail elaborate enough that readers will be able to apply the techniques with the help of MATLAB® Details a wealth of practical working examples as well as a number of simulation and experimental results with comprehensive evaluations The modern world’s ever-growing spectra of sophisticated engineering systems such as hard disk drives, aeronautic systems, and manufacturing systems have little tolerance for unanticipated vibration of even the slightest magnitude. Accordingly, vibration control continues to draw intensive focus from top control engineers and modelers. This resource demonstrates the remarkable results of that focus to date, and most importantly gives today’s researchers the technology that they need to build upon into the future. Chunling Duis currently researching modeling and advanced servo control of hard disk drives at the Data Storage Institute in Singapore. Lihua Xieis the Director of the Centre for Intelligent Machines and a professor at Nanyang Technological University in Singapore.

Reducing and controlling the level of vibration in a mechanical system leads to an improved work environment and product quality, reduced noise, more economical operation, and longer equipment life. Adequate design is essential for reducing vibrations, while damping and control methods help further reduce and manipulate vibrations when design strategies reach their limits. There are also useful types of vibration, which may require enhancement or control. Vibration Damping, Control, and Design balances theoretical and application-oriented coverage to enable optimal vibration and noise suppression and control in nearly any system.Drawn from the immensely popular Vibration and Shock Handbook, each expertly crafted chapter of this book includes convenient summary windows, tables, graphs, and lists to provide ready access to the important concepts and results. Working systematically from general principles to specific applications, coverage spans from theory and experimental techniques in vibration damping to isolation, passive control, active control, and structural dynamic modification. The book also discusses specific issues in designing for and controlling vibrations and noise such as regenerative chatter in machine tools, fluid-induced vibration, hearing and psychological effects, instrumentation for monitoring, and statistical energy analysis. This carefully edited work strikes a balance between practical considerations, design issues, and experimental techniques.Complemented by design examples and case studies, Vibration Damping, Control, and Design builds a deep understanding of the concepts and demonstrates how to apply these principles to real systems.

Controlling a system's vibrational behavior, whether for reducing harmful vibrations or for enhancing useful types, is critical to ensure safe and economical operation as well as longer structural and equipment lifetimes. A related issue is the effect of vibration on humans and their environment. Achieving control of vibration requires thorough understanding of system behavior, and Vibration Monitoring, Testing, and Instrumentation provides a convenient, thorough, and up-to-date source of tools, techniques, and data for instrumenting, experimenting, monitoring, measuring, and analyzing vibration in a variety of mechanical and structural systems and environments.Drawn from the immensely popular Vibration and Shock Handbook, each expertly crafted chapter of this book includes convenient summary windows, tables, graphs, and lists to provide ready access to the important concepts and results. The authors give equal emphasis to the theoretical and practical aspects, supplying methodologies for analyzing shock, vibration, and seismic behavior. They thoroughly review instrumentation and testing methods such as exciters, sensors, and LabVIEW® tools for virtual instrumentation as well as signal acquisition, conditioning, and recording. Illustrative examples and case studies accompany a wide array of industrial and experimental techniques, analytical formulations, and design approaches. The book also includes a chapter on human response to vibration.Vibration Monitoring, Testing, and Instrumentation supplies a thorough understanding of the concepts, tools, instruments, and techniques you need to know before the design process begins.