Metallurgical Characterization (EBT 313/4)

Materials characterization is an important area of fundamental and technological interest. Over the years, a variety of experimental techniques have been developed for characterizing the physical and chemical properties of materials. Advances in Materials Characterization offers an overview of this continually emerging discipline by providing an in-depth exploration of the latest techniques. It brings together a highly authoritative collection of articles written by experts from across the world who have been active in pioneering the techniques. Each chapter provides an introduction and an overview of the technique, and then proceeds to demonstrate its application to selected problems.

''This book forms a comprehensive introduction to the study of crystallography and diffraction. The book is aimed at advanced undergraduate and postgraduate students studying solid state chemistry, physics, materials science and earth sciences. However the clear and comprehensive nature of this text will also appeal to entry level undergraduates and more experienced reserachers in these disciplines.'' -Microscopy and AnalysisA classic textbook providing a clear and comprehensive introduction to the topic of crystallography and diffraction for undergraduate and beginning graduate students and lecturers in physics, chemistry, materials and earth sciences. For this second edition the existing material has been thoroughly updated.

Characterization of Materials (formerly Methods in Materials Research) provides comprehensive up-to-date coverage of materials characterization techniques including computational and theoretical methods as well as crystallography, mechanical testing, thermal analysis, optical imaging and spectroscopy, and more. Editor-in-Chief, Elton Kaufmann, Ph.D. is Associate Director of the Strategic Planning Group at the Argonne National Laboratory and has published approximately 100 technical papers in refereed journals and books. Dr. Kaufmann has assembled leading experts from academia, government, and industry to provide: * A comprehensive up-to-date collection of methods used in the characterization of materials * Articles on various methods from standard to cutting edge * Periodic online updates to keep pace with latest developments * A user-friendly format that is easy and simple to search and navigate Characterization of Materials is a collection of characterization methods that is widely applicable in the wide and diverse field of materials research irrespective of discipline or ultimate application and with which researchers, engineers, and educators must have familiarity. Methods covered include: * General Vacuum Techniques * X-Ray Powder Diffraction * High Strain Rate Testing * Deep Level Transient Spectroscopy * Cyclic Voltammetry * Extended X-Ray Absorption Fine Structure * Low Energy Electron Diffraction * Thermogravimetric Analysis * Magnetometry * Transmission Electron Microscopy * Ultraviolet Photoelectron Spectroscopy This reference work is also available as a convenient online edition. For information regarding the online edition, please visit: www.mrw.interscience.wiley.com/com

This 2003 book covers the fundamentals of conventional transmission electron microscopy (CTEM) as applied to crystalline solids. Emphasis is on the experimental and computational methods used to quantify and analyze CTEM observations. A supplementary website containing interactive modules and free Fortran source code accompanies the text. The book starts with the basics of crystallography and quantum mechanics providing a sound mathematical footing for the rest of the text. The next section deals with the microscope itself, describing the various components in terms of the underlying theory. The second half of the book focuses on the dynamical theory of electron scattering in solids including its applications to perfect and defective crystals, electron diffraction and phase contrast techniques. Based on a lecture course given by the author in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at Carnegie Mellon University, the book is ideal for graduate students as well as researchers new to the field.

This first book to focus on the use of SPMs to actively manipulate molecules and nanostructures on surfaces goes way beyond conventional treatments of scanning microscopy merely for imaging purposes. It reviews recent progress in the use of SPMs on such soft materials as polymers, with a particular emphasis on chemical discrimination, mechanical properties, tip-induced reactions and manipulations, as well as their nanoscale electrical properties. Detailing the practical application potential of this hot topic, this book is of great interest to specialists of wide-ranging disciplines, including physicists, chemists, materials scientists, spectroscopy experts, surface scientists, and engineers.

Experts must be able to analyze and distinguish all materials, or combinations of materials, in use today—whether they be metals, ceramics, polymers, semiconductors, or composites. To understand a material’s structure, how that structure determines its properties, and how that material will subsequently work in technological applications, researchers apply basic principles of chemistry, physics, and biology to address its scientific fundamentals, as well as how it is processed and engineered for use. Emphasizing practical applications and real-world case studies, Materials Characterization Techniquespresents the principles of widely used, advanced surface and structural characterization techniques for quality assurance, contamination control, and process improvement. This useful volume: Explores scientific processes to characterize materials using modern technologies Provides analysis of materials’ performance under specific use conditions Focuses on the interrelationships and interdependence between processing, structure, properties, and performance Details the sophisticated instruments involved in an interdisciplinary approach to understanding the wide range of mutually interacting processes, mechanisms, and materials Covers electron, X-ray-photoelectron, and UV spectros© scanning-electron, atomic-force, transmission-electron, and laser-confocal-scanning-florescent microscopy, and gel electrophoresis chromatography Presents the fundamentals of vacuum, as well as X-ray diffraction principles Explaining appropriate uses and related technical requirements for characterization techniques, the authors omit lengthy and often intimidating derivations and formulations. Instead, they emphasize useful basic principles and applications of modern technologies used to characterize engineering materials, helping readers grasp micro- and nanoscale properties. This text will serve as a valuable guide for scientists and engineers involved in characterization and also as a powerful introduction to the field for advanced undergraduate and graduate students.

Detailed, up-to-date coverage of hazardous materials and situations Lack of awareness about hazardous materials poses a major problem, causing many needless injuries and losses of property. Incomplete awareness presents just as big a problem; often people who have contact with such materials know just enough to feel safe while actually putting themselves and others in great danger. Though regulatory agencies have provided written standards, rarely do these on their own offer the commonsense advice needed to properly evaluate and handle hazardous materials. Hazardous Materials Characterization: Evaluation Methods, Procedures, and Considerations provides detailed coverage of hazardous materials and situations. Plain language and a common- sense approach make this an accessible resource for use by all workers who handle and deal with these materials. Written according to the latest regulations and best practices, this guide groups related materials together for quick and easy access (corrosive, ignitable, radioactive, etc.). It also details methods and procedures for evaluating the properties and strengths of questionable materials, as well as what reactive substances and situations to look out for when working with these materials. Other topics covered include: * Regulatory review * Sampling and monitoring equipment, applications, and procedures * Human health hazards * Biological hazards * Radiation hazards * Evaluating chemical and biological terrorist threats * Environmental remediation methods * References and resources Packed with the most up-to-date information on hazardous materials and written to maximize accessibility, Hazardous Materials Characterization is a vital reference for all those whose work involves hazardous materials.

The development of high speed, high frequency circuits and systems requires an understanding of the properties of materials functioning at the microwave level. This comprehensive reference sets out to address this requirement by providing guidance on the development of suitable measurement methodologies tailored for a variety of materials and application systems. Bringing together coverage of a broad range of techniques in one publication for the first time, this book: Provides a comprehensive introduction to microwave theory and microwave measurement techniques. Examines every aspect of microwave material properties, circuit design and applications. Presents materials property characterisation methods along with a discussion of the underlying theory. Outlines the importance of microwave absorbers in the reduction in noise levels in microwave circuits and their importance within defence industry applications. Relates each measurement technique to its application across the fields of microwave engineering, high-speed electronics, remote sensing and the physical sciences. This book will appeal to practising engineers and technicians working in the areas of RF, microwaves, communications, solid-state devices and radar. Senior students, researchers in microwave engineering and microelectronics and material scientists will also find this book a very useful reference.

This book covers state-of-the-art techniques commonly used in modern materials characterization. Two important aspects of characterization, materials structures and chemical analysis, are included. Widely used techniques, such as metallography (light microscopy), X-ray diffraction, transmission and scanning electron microscopy, are described. In addition, the book introduces advanced techniques, including scanning probe microscopy. The second half of the book accordingly presents techniques such as X-ray energy dispersive spectroscopy (commonly equipped in the scanning electron microscope), fluorescence X-ray spectroscopy, and popular surface analysis techniques (XPS and SIMS). Finally, vibrational spectroscopy (FTIR and Raman) and thermal analysis are also covered.