Engineering Materials Chemistry (EBT 251/3)

Continuing in the spirit of its successful previous editions, the ninth edition of Beer, Johnston, Mazurek, and Cornwell'sVector Mechanics for Engineersprovides conceptually accurate and thorough coverage together with a significant refreshment of the exercise sets and online delivery of homework problems to your students. Nearly forty percent of the problems in the text are changed from the previous edition. The Beer/Johnston textbooks introduced significant pedagogical innovations into engineering mechanics teaching. The consistent, accurate problem-solving methodology gives your students the best opportunity to learn statics and dynamics. At the same time, the careful presentation of content, unmatched levels of accuracy, and attention to detail have made these texts the standard for excellence.

Introduction to Materials Chemistry will appeal to advanced undergraduates and graduate students in chemistry, materials science,and chemical engineering by leading them stepwise from the elementary chemistry on which materials science depends, through a discussion of the different classes of materials, and ending with a description of how materials are used in devices and general technology.

Basic Solid State Chemistry, Second Edition is a thorough revision of this best selling introductory text. This new edition provides the reader with an up to date account of the essential topics in this exciting and developing area. Whilst the structure of the first edition has been retained, introducing topics in a logical and coherent way, the text has been revised to include latest developments and concepts. There is a new chapter on Synthetic Methods covering solid state, precursor, chemie douce, intercalation, gas phase (MOCVD, vapour phase transport), hydrothermal and other methods. In addition there is new material on fullerenes, spinels and applications of phase diagrams. The coverage of solid solutions has been expanded and many of the diagrams have been considerably improved, as have the examples and problems.

It includes both chemical and physical approaches to the properties of solids, and clearly separates those aspects of materials properties that can be tackled with classical physics from those that require quantum mechanics. ∗ Quantum mechanics are introduced later to allow readers to be familiar with some of the mathematics necessary for quantum mechanics before being exposed to its bewildering fundamental concepts. ∗ Discusses the electronic properties of solids from the viewpoint of elementary band theory, and end with a brief treatment of semiconductors and some semiconducting devices.

This best-selling title both in German and English is now enhanced by a new chapter on the important topical subject of measurement uncertainty, plus a CD-ROM with interactive examples in the form of Excel-spreadsheets. These allow readers to gain an even better comprehension of the statistical procedures for quality assurance while also incorporating their own data. Following an introduction, the text goes on to elucidate the 4-phase model of analytical quality assurance: establishing a new analytical process, preparative quality assurance, routine quality assurance and external analytical quality assurance. Besides updating the relevant references, the authors took great care to incorporate the latest international standards in the field.

Porphyrins, phthalocyanines and their numerous analogues and derivatives are materials of tremendous importance in chemistry, materials science, physics, biology and medicine. They are the red color in blood (heme) and the green in leaves (chlorophyll); they are also excellent ligands that can coordinate with almost every metal in the Periodic Table. Grounded in natural systems, porphyrins are incredibly versatile and can be modified in many ways; each new modification yields derivatives demonstrated new chemistry, physics and biology, with a vast array of medicinal and technical applications. As porphyrins are currently employed as platforms for study of theoretical principles and applications in a wide variety of fields, the Handbook of Porphyrin Science represents a timely ongoing series dealing in detail with the synthesis, chemistry, physicochemical and medical properties and applications of polypyrrole macrocycles. Professors Karl Kadish, Kevin Smith and Roger Guilard are internationally recognized experts in the research field of porphyrins, each having his own separate area of expertise in the field. Between them, they have published over 1500 peer-reviewed papers and edited more than three dozen books on diverse topics of porphyrins and phthalocyanines. In assembling the new volumes of this unique Handbook, they have selected and attracted the very best scientists in each sub-discipline as contributing authors of the chapters. This Handbook will prove to be a modern authoritative treatise on the subject as it is a collection of up-to-date works by world-renowned experts in the field. Complete with hundreds of figures, tables and structural formulas, and thousands of literature citations, all researchers and graduate students in this field will find the Handbook of Porphyrin Science an essential, major reference source for many years to come.