Organic Chemistry (EBT 105/4)

Since its original appearance in 1977, Advanced Organic Chemistry has maintained its place as the premier textbook in the field, offering broad coverage of the structure, reactivity and synthesis of organic compounds. As in the earlier editions, the text contains extensive references to both the primary and review literature and provides examples of data and reactions that illustrate and document the generalizations. While the text assumes completion of an introductory course in organic chemistry, it reviews the fundamental concepts for each topic that is discussed.The two-part fifth edition has been substantially revised and reorganized for greater clarity. Part A begins with the fundamental concepts of structure and stereochemistry, and the thermodynamic and kinetic aspects of reactivity. Major reaction types covered include nucleophilic substitution, addition reactions, carbanion and carbonyl chemistry, aromatic substitution, pericyclic reactions, radical reactions, and photochemistry.Among the changes:Coverage of the importance of computational chemistry in modern organic chemistry, including applications to many specific reactions.Expanded coverage of stereoselectivity and enantioselectivity, including discussion of several examples of enantioselective reagents and catalystsChapter 10, Concerted Pericyclic Reactions, has been reorganized and now begins with cycloaddition reactions. The treatment of photochemical reactions has been extensively updated to reflect both experimental and computational studies of the transient intermediates involved in photochemical reactions.A companion Web site provides digital models for study of structure, reaction and selectivity. Here students can view and manipulate computational models of reaction paths. These sites also provide exercises based on detailed study of the computational models. Several chapters in Part A conclude with Topics – short excursions into specific topics such as more detailed analysis of polar substituent effects, efforts to formulate substituent effects in terms of density functional theory, or the role of carbocations in petroleum refiningSolutions to the chapter problems are provided to instructors online Advanced Organic Chemistry Part A provides a close look at the structural concepts and mechanistic patterns that are fundamental to organic chemistry. It relates those mechanistic patterns, including relative reactivity and stereochemistry, to underlying structural factors. Understanding these concepts and relationships will allow students to recognize the cohesive patterns of reactivity in organic chemistry. Part A: Structure and Mechanism and Part B: Reaction and Synthesis - taken together - are intended to provide the advanced undergraduate or beginning graduate student in chemistry with a foundation to comprehend and use the research literature in organic chemistry

A best-selling mechanistic organic chemistry text in Germany, this text's translation into English fills a long-existing need for a modern, thorough and accessible treatment of reaction mechanisms for students of organic chemistry at the advanced undergraduate and graduate level. Knowledge of reaction mechanisms is essential to all applied areas of organic chemistry and this text fulfills that need by presenting the right material at the right level. Theory, mechanism, synthesis, structure, and stereochemistry are discussed throughout the book in a qualitative to semiquantitative fashion. Fundamental principles such as the Hammond postulate that can be applied in the most varied contexts are reinforced throughout the book. Equations such as the Erying equation or the rate laws of all kinds of reactions are introduced with the view that they have context and meaning and are not merely formulas into which numbers are plugged.

This volume includes the following analyses: factors regarding thermal and thermooxidative degradation of polyolefine nanocomposites, modelling of catalytic complexes in the oxidation reactions, modelling the kinetics of moisture adsorption by natural and synthetic polymers, new trends, achievements and developments on the effects of beam radiation, structural behaviour of composite materials, comparative evaluation of antioxidant properties, synthesis, properties and application of polymeric composites and nanocomposites, photodegradation and light stabilisation of polymers, wear resistant composite polymeric materials, some macrokinetic phenomena, transport phenomena in polymer matrixes, liquid crystals, flammability of polymeric materials and new flame retardants.