Principles of Engineering Materials (EMT 282/3): Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

The 10,000 entries (arranged from A to Z) are supplemeted by hundreds of figures (approximately 700) & tables (more than 150) that clearly demonstrate the principles & concepts behind important manufacturing processes, illustrate the important structures, or provide representative compositional & property data for a wide variety of ferrous & nonferrous materials, plastics, ceramics, composites (resin-metal-carbon-&-cermaic-matrix) & adhesives. "Technical Briefs" provide encyclopedic-type coverage for some 64 key material groups. Each Technical Brief contains a "Recommended Reading" list to guide the user to additional information. Published by ASM International (tm), Materials Park, OH 44073.

This Concise Encyclopedia draws its material from the award-winning Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology, and includes updates and revisions not available in the original set. This customized collection of articles provides a handy reference for materials scientists and engineers with an interest in the structure of metals, polymers, ceramics and glasses, biomaterials, wood, paper, and liquid crystals. Materials science and engineering is concerned with the relationship between the properties and structure of materials. In this context "structure" may be defined on the atomic scale in the case of crystalline materials, on the molecular scale (in the case of polymers, for example), or on the microscopic scale. Each of these definitions has been applied in making the present selection of articles. * Brings together articles from the Encyclopedia of Materials: Science & Technology that focus on the structure of materials at the atomic, molecular and microscopic levels, plus recent updates * Every article has been commissioned and written by an internationally recognized expert and provides a concise overview of a particular aspect of the field * Extensive bibliographies, cross-referencing and indexes guide the user to the most relevant reading in the primary literature

The study of materials is interdisciplinary in nature and requires knowledge of research in many related fields, such as physics, chemistry, engineering and even biomedical science. Scientists and engineers working with materials increasingly need a medium for gathering relevant information from the growing amount of literature available. The Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology presents around 1,800 articles written by experts in their fields, resulting in a comprehensive coverage of this broad and wide-ranging subject. It is the only encyclopedia available that covers all of materials science and technology, focussing on the following areas: * Functional Phenomena * Structural Phenomena * Fundamental Core Theory * Structural Materials * Polymers and Materials Chemistry * Functional Materials This title is also available online via ScienceDirect - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. Please contact your librarian for more information about access to these products within your institution.