Instrumentation (EMT478/3)

'Measurement and Instrumentation Principles' is the latest edition of a successful book that introduces undergraduate students to the measurement principles and the range of sensors and instruments that are used for measuring physical variables. Completely updated to include new technologies such as smart sensors, displays and interfaces, the 3rd edition also contains plenty of worked examples and self-assessment questions (and solutions). In addition, a new chapter on safety issues focuses on the legal framework, electrical safety and failsafe designs, and the author has also concentrated on RF and optical wireless communications. Fully up-to-date and comprehensively written, this textbook is essential for all engineering undergraduates, especially those in the first two years of their course.

The volume includes a set of selected papers extended and revised from the 2011 International Conference on Mechanical Engineering and Technology, held on London, UK, November 24-25, 2011. Mechanical engineering technology is the application of physical principles and current technological developments to the creation of useful machinery and operation design. Technologies such as solid models may be used as the basis for finite element analysis (FEA) and / or computational fluid dynamics (CFD) of the design. Through the application of computer-aided manufacturing (CAM), the models may also be used directly by software to create "instructions" for the manufacture of objects represented by the models, through computer numerically controlled (CNC) machining or other automated processes, without the need for intermediate drawings. This volume covers the subject areas of mechanical engineering and technology, and also covers interdisciplinary subject areas of computers, communications, control and automation. We hope that researchers, graduate students and other interested readers benefit scientifically from the book and also find it stimulating in the process.

Targeted to engineers, technicians, manufacturers, and students, this book discusses the specialized test instrumentation used in R&D laboratories, testing organizations, and industrial maintenance departments. It focuses on the practical application of test instrumentation and emphasizes the importance of creating a "measurement system" that involves components, installation, wiring, and calibration. The design, application and calibration of systems for measuring pressure, temperature, flow, force, displacement, and vibration will also be covered. Emphasis is placed on the calibration of test instrumentation including detailed information about calibration equipment, methods, and records. Fundamentals of Test Measurement Instrumentationis a must read for those who want to design test measurement systems; select appropriate equipment; understand system component characteristics, system and component calibration, and operating principles of transducers; determine overall system accuracy; and formulate basic test procedure design.

Measurement and Instrumentation introduces undergraduate engineering students to the measurement principles and the range of sensors and instruments that are used for measuring physical variables. Based on Morris's Measurement and Instrumentation Principles, this brand new text has been fully updated with coverage of the latest developments in such measurement technologies as smart sensors, intelligent instruments, microsensors, digital recorders and displays and interfaces. Clearly and comprehensively written, this textbook provides students with the knowledge and tools, including examples in LABVIEW, to design and build measurement systems for virtually any engineering application. The text features chapters on data acquisition and signal processing with LabVIEW from Dr. Reza Langari, Professor of Mechanical Engineering at Texas A&M University. Early coverage of measurement system design provides students with a better framework for understanding the importance of studying measurement and instrumentation Includes significant material on data acquisition, coverage of sampling theory and linkage to acquisition/processing software, providing students with a more modern approach to the subject matter, in line with actual data acquisition and instrumentation techniques now used in industry. Extensive coverage of uncertainty (inaccuracy) aids students' ability to determine the precision of instruments Integrated use of LabVIEW examples and problems enhances students' ability to understand and retain content