53 million records | 21,915 titles | 5,000 publishers
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. As research becomes increasingly global, interdisciplinary and collaborative, you can make sure that critical research from around the world is not missed when you choose Scopus.
Whether looking at data, books, journals, proceedings or patents, Web of Science provides a single destination to access the most reliable, integrated, multidisciplinary research. Quality, curated content delivered alongside information on emerging trends, subject specific content and analysis tools make it easy for students, faculty, researchers, analysts, and program managers to pinpoint the most relevant research to inform their work
Journal Citation Reports® offers a systematic, objective means to critically evaluate the world's leading journals, with quantifiable, statistical information based on citation data. By compiling articles' cited references, JCR helps to measure research influence and impact at the journal and category levels, and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals. Available in Science and Social Sciences editions.
 |
USING SCOPUS AND WEB OF SCIENCE Scopus and Web of Science (WoS) are two citation databases that widely used by researchers across the globe. These databases provides answers for measuring indicators on research impact. Researchers are able to find number of indexed publications which are relatively refers to high quality peer review publications. Scopus and Web of Science imposed specific criteria for publications to fullfil in order to be indexed on their database platforms. Both database are optimize by two powerful rangkings systems, namely QS World University Rankings (QS WUR) and Times Higher Education (THE). Indicators that are widely used to measure high impact research including citations per paper, citations per faculty members and total citations within determined coverage year. Both Scopus and Web of Science provide excellent feature of citation analysis for institutions and individual researchers. It refers to counting citations is often called "citation analysis." In scholarly research, researchers may need to gauge the importance of a publication by counting the number of times it has been cited by other scholars. This will help researchers gain information about publication impact on related discipline. A high number of citations is always generalised as contributing higher impact to scholarly research works. |
 FEATURES |
 |
|
| Publications coverage | 10,000 journals | 20,500 journals |
| Coverage year | 1900 - current | 1960 - current |
| Searching | Standard search & advance search |
Standard search & advance search |
| Results parameters | Cites & relevance | Cites & relevance |
| Refine result | Author, Source, Year, Subject Area, Document Type, Institutions, Countries & Funding agencies | Author, Source, Year, Subject Area, Document Type, Institutions, Countries & Funding agencies |
| Download | Email & export to citation manager |
Email & export to citation manager |
| Citation tracking | Available |
Available |
| Citation analysis | Available |
Available |
| Citation reports | Citation per year, published items per year, average citations per year, sum of times cited | Citation per year, published items per year, average citations per year, sum of times cited |
| Impact factor | Available |
Not available |
| h-index | Available |
Available |
| Researcher's profile | Researcher ID |
Pure experts (different platform and pricing package) |
Source: Chadegani, A. A., Salehi, H., Yunus, M. M., Farhadi, H., Fooladi, M., Farhadi, M., et al. (2013). A Comparison between Two Main Academic Literature Collections: Web of Science and Scopus Databases Asian Social Science, Vol. 9(No. 5).
