Building Design and Construction Handbook by
This handbook aims to cover every important step in building, design and construction. This edition reflects the changes in design and construction practices, particularly in building codes and specifications. It covers materials, structures, soil mechanics, foundations and includes the International Building Code 2000.
Advanced Analysis and Design for Fire Safety of Steel Structures by
Advanced Analysis and Design for Fire Safety of Steel Structures systematically presents the latest findings on behaviours of steel structural components in a fire, such as the catenary actions of restrained steel beams, the design methods for restrained steel columns, and the membrane actions of concrete floor slabs with steel decks. Using a systematic description of structural fire safety engineering principles, the authors illustrate the important difference between behaviours of an isolated structural element and the restrained component in a complete structure under fire conditions. The book will be an essential resource for structural engineers who wish to improve their understanding of steel buildings exposed to fires. It is also an ideal textbook for introductory courses in fire safety for master's degree programs in structural engineering, and is excellent reading material for final-year undergraduate students in civil engineering and fire safety engineering. Furthermore, it successfully bridges the information gap between fire safety engineers, structural engineers and building inspectors, and will be of significant interest to architects, code officials, building designers and fire fighters. Dr. Guoqiang Li is a Professor at the College of Civil Engineering of Tongji University, China; Dr. Peijun Wang is an Associate Professor at the School of Civil Engineering of Shandong University, China.
Seismic Design of Steel Structures by
Providing real world applications for different structural types and seismic characteristics, Seismic Design of Steel Structures combines knowledge of seismic behavior of steel structures with the principles of earthquake engineering. This book focuses on seismic design, and concentrates specifically on seismic-resistant steel structures. Drawing on experience from the Northridge to the Tohoku earthquakes, it combines understanding of the seismic behavior of steel structures with the principles of earthquake engineering. The book focuses on the global as well as local behavior of steel structures and their effective seismic-resistant design. It recognises different types of earthquakes, takes into account the especial danger of fire after earthquake, and proposes new bracing and connecting systems for new seismic resistant steel structures, and also for upgrading existing reinforced concrete structures. Includes the results of the extensive use of the DUCTROCT M computer program, which is used for the evaluation of the seismic available ductility, both monotonic and cyclic, for different types of earthquakes Demonstrates good design principles by highlighting the behavior of seismic-resistant steel structures in many applications from around the world Provides a methodological approach, making a clear distinction between strong and low-to-moderate seismic regions This book serves as a reference for structural engineers involved in seismic design, as well as researchers and graduate students of seismic structural analysis and design.
Design of Welded Steel Structures by
Design of Welded Steel Structures: Principles and Practice provides a solid foundation of theoretical and practical knowledge necessary for the design of welded steel structures. The book begins by explaining the basics of arc welding, describing the salient features of modern arc welding processes as well as the types and characteristics of welded joints, their common defects, and recommended remedial measures. The text then: Addresses the analysis and design of welded structures Explores the design of joints in respect to common welded steel structures Identifies the cost factors involved in welded steelwork Design of Welded Steel Structures: Principles and Practice draws not only from the author#65533;s own experience, but also from the vast pool of research conducted by distinguished engineers around the globe. Detailed bibliographies are included at the end of each chapter.