Dictionary of Nutraceuticals and Functional Foods by
Health professionals are recognizing the major role that nutraceuticals play in health enhancement. As a result, there is a dramatic increase in research aimed at identifying new functional foods and nutraceuticals. There is not, however, a single source that presents this research in a thorough and accessible manner. Comprehensive and complete, the Dictionary of Nutraceuticals and Functional Foodsis the first reference of its kind written explicitly for this rapidly developing field. The book provides clearly written, concise, science-based information on over 470 nutraceutical and functional food products and compounds. Each entry lists the most current information on the product or compound and its role in the promotion of health or the prevention of disease, as well as peer-reviewed literature references. In addition, this thorough reference contains 172 chemical structures, 102 figures, 73 schemes, and 64 tables to facilitate recognition and understanding. Concise and accessible, the Dictionary of Nutraceuticals and Functional Foods is a convenientsingle source reference that defines the most commonly used terms in the field of nutraceuticals and functional foods.
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms by
For more than a quarter of a century, this amazingly comprehensive dictionary has been a standard international reference. Containing more than 115,000 terms and 125,000 definitions--from 100 areas of science and technology--this trusted resource provides definitions written in clear, simple language, understandable to the general reader, yet is consistent with the specialized use of the term. THE NEW SIXTH EDITION: * Thoroughly revised with 5,000 NEW TERMS * Each term includes a helpful pronunciation guide * Entries are complemented by 3,000 illustrations; appendices containing biographic listings, converison tables, taxonomic classification charts, and more * The only dictionary of scientific and technical terms to be thumb-indexed Invaluable to scientists, researchers, teachers, students, as well as interested lay persons, the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms is truly the single best way for anyone to gain fluency in the language of science.
Encyclopedia of Plant and Crop Science by
Encyclopedia of Plant and Crop Scienceis the first-ever single-source reference work to inclusively cover classic and modern studies in plant biology in conjunction with research, applications, and innovations in crop science and agriculture. From the fundamentals of plant growth and reproduction to developments in agronomy and agricultural science, the encyclopedia's authoritative content nurtures communication between these academically distinct yet intrinsically related fields-offering a spread of clear, descriptive, and concise entries to optimally serve scientists, agriculturalists, policy makers, students, and the general public. ALSO AVAILABLE ONLINE This Taylor & Francis encyclopedia is also available through online subscription, offering a variety of extra benefits for both researchers, students, and librarians, including: Citation tracking and alerts Active reference linking Saved searches and marked lists HTML and PDF format options For more information, visit Taylor and Francis Online or contact us to inquire about subscription options and print/online combination packages. US: (Tel) 1.888.318.2367 / (E-mail) e-reference@taylorandfrancis.com International: (Tel) +44 (0) 20 7017 6062 / (E-mail) online.sales@tandf.co.uk
The Concise Encyclopedia of Foods and Nutrition by
From the reviews of the first edition