Biotechnology in China I by
In recent years, biotechnology research and development (R&D) in China has been receiving increasing attention from the world. With the open-door policy of the Chinese government, many international publications (for academia) and large market potential (for industry) constitute the two big reasons for the above phen- enon. Biotechnology has become one of the priorities in Mainland China for so- ing many important problems, such as food supply, health care, environment protection, and even energy. The central government has been implementing a c- ple of programs which cover a wide spectrum in basic research, high-tech devel- ment and industrialization, such as Basic Research Program (973 Plan), Hi-Tech R&D Program (863 Plan), Key Science & Technology Problem Solving Program (Gong-guan Plan), as well as the establishment of centers of excellence - Key Laboratories and Engineering Centers, etc. The funding from various local gove- ments and industry for R&D has also been increasing continuously. Biotechnology centers in Shenzhen, Shanghai and Beijing have been established. There are more than 400 universities, research institutes and companies and a total of over 20,000 researchers involved in biotechnology in the Mainland. The number of research papers published internationally and patent applications is also increasing rapidly. In addition, the huge market potential with about 1. 4 billion population, which is already open to the outside world, has provided numerous opportunities for int- national and domestic companies to invest in biotechnology, which pushes forward the biotechnology industrialization in China.
Handbook of Chemical and Environmental Engineering Calculations by
Because of the ubiquitous nature of environmental problems, a variety of scientific disciplines are involved in the development of environmental solutions. The Handbook of Chemical and Environmental Engineering Calculations provides approximately 600 real-world, practical solutions to environmental problems that involve chemical engineering, enabling engineers and applied scientists to meet the professional challenges they face day-to-day. The scientific and mathematical crossover between chemical and environmental engineering is the key to solving a host of environmental problems. Many problems included in the Handbook are intended to demonstrate this crossover, as well as the integration of engineering with current regulations and environmental media such as air, soil, and water. Solutions to the problems are presented in a programmed instructional format. Each problem contains a title, problem statement, data, and solution, with the more difficult problems located near the end of each problem set. The Handbook offers material not only to individuals with limited technical background but also to those with extensive industrial experience. Chapter titles include: Chemical Engineering Fundamentals Chemical Engineering Principles Air Pollution Control Equipment Solid Waste Water Quality and Wastewater Treatment Pollution Prevention Health, Safety, and Accident Management Ideal for students at the graduate and undergraduate levels, the Handbook of Chemical and Environmental Engineering Calculations is also a comprehensive reference for all plant and environmental engineers, particularly those who work with air, drinking water, wastewater, hazardous materials, and solid waste.
Liquid Membranes by
Liquid Membranes: Principles and Applications in Chemical Separations and Wastewater Treatment discusses the principles and applications of the liquid membrane (LM) separation processes in organic and inorganic chemistry, analytical chemistry, biochemistry, biomedical engineering, gas separation, and wastewater treatment. It presents updated, useful, and systematized information on new LM separation technologies, along with new developments in the field. It provides an overview of LMs and LM processes, and it examines the mechanisms and kinetics of carrier-facilitated transport through LMs. It also discusses active transport, driven by oxidation-reduction, catalytic, and bioconversion reactions on the LM interfaces; modifications of supported LMs; bulk aqueous hybrid LM processes with water-soluble carriers; emulsion LMs and their applications; and progress in LM science and engineering. This book will be of value to students and young researchers who are new to separation science and technology, as well as to scientists and engineers involved in the research and development of separation technologies, LM separations, and membrane reactors. - Provides comprehensive knowledge-based information on the principles and applications of a variety of liquid membrane separation processes. - Contains a critical analysis of new technologies published in the last 15 years.
Bioseparations Science and Engineering by
Designed for undergraduates, graduate students, and industry practitioners, Bioseparations Science and Engineering fills a critical need in the field of bioseparations. Current, comprehensive, and concise, it covers bioseparations unit operations in unprecedented depth. In each of thechapters, the authors use a consistent method of explaining unit operations, starting with a qualitative description noting the significance and general application of the unit operation. They then illustrate the scientific application of the operation, develop the required mathematical theory, andfinally, describe the applications of the theory in engineering practice, with an emphasis on design and scaleup. Unique to this text is a chapter dedicated to bioseparations process design and economics, in which a process simular, SuperPro DesignerRG is used to analyze and evaluate the productionof three important biological products. New to this second edition are updated discussions of moment analysis, computer simulation, membrane chromatography, and evaporation, among others, as well as revised problem sets. Unique features include basic information about bioproducts and engineering analysis and a chapter with bioseparationslaboratory exercises. Bioseparations Science and Engineering is ideal for students and professionals working in or studying bioseparations, and is the premier text in the field.
Coal Combustion Waste by
Coal fired power plants account for almost 45% of electric power generated in the United States. The coal combustion process at those facilities generates a tremendous amount of waste. In 2008, industry estimates indicate that 136 million tons of coal combustion waste (CCW) was generated. That would make CCW the second largest waste stream in the United States, second to municipal solid waste, or common household garbage. How CCW is managed and how those management methods are regulated have come under increased scrutiny in recent years. This book examines the potential harm from CCW to human health and the environment, and delves into the investigation of the management of CCW which is essentially exempt from federal regulation.