Course Reserves Collections provides access to items suggested or recommended by course instructors for their students. All reserves items will be placed in Course Reserves Collections which is located on first level, next to Access Service Desk.
Materials : engineering, science, processing and design by 
Engineering Materials 1 by
Widely adopted around the world, Engineering Materials 1 is a core materials science and engineering text for third- and fourth-year undergraduate students; it provides a broad introduction to the mechanical and environmental properties of materials used in a wide range of engineering applications. The text is deliberately concise, with each chapter designed to cover the content of one lecture. As in previous editions, chapters are arranged in groups dealing with particular classes of properties, each group covering property definitions, measurement, underlying principles, and materials selection techniques. Every group concludes with a chapter of case studies that demonstrate practical engineering problems involving materials. Engineering Materials 1, Fourth Edition is perfect as a stand-alone text for a one-semester course in engineering materials or a first text with its companion Engineering Materials 2: An Introduction to Microstructures and Processing, in a two-semester course or sequence.
Engineering Materials 2 by
Engineering Materials 2 is a best-selling stand-alone text in its own right for more advanced students of materials science and mechanical engineering, and is the follow-up to its renowned companion text, Engineering Materials 1: An Introduction to Properties, Applications & Design . This book develops a detailed understanding of the fundamental properties of engineering materials, how they are controlled by processing, formed, joined and finished, and how all of these factors influence the selection and design of materials in real-world engineering applications.
Engineering materials: Properties and applications of metal and alloys by 
Engineering Materials by
The father-son authoring duo of Kenneth G. Budinski and Michael K. Budinski brings nearly 70 years of combined industry experience to bear in this practical, reader-friendly introduction to engineering materials. This text covers theory and industry-standard selection practices, providing students with the working knowledge to make an informed selection of materials for engineering applications and to correctly specify materials on drawings and purchasing documents. Encompassing all significant material systems-metals, ceramics, plastics, and composites-this text incorporates the most up-to-date information on material usage and availability, addresses the increasingly global nature of the field, and reflects the suggestions of numerous adopters of previous editions. For undergraduate courses in Metallurgy and Materials Science
Introduction to materials management. by 
Science and Engineering of Materials by
This text provides an understanding of the relationship between structure, processing, and properties of materials. By selecting the appropriate topics from this wealth of material, instructors can emphasize metals, provide a general overview of materials, concentrate on mechanical behavior, or focus on physical properties. Since the book has more material than is needed for a one-semester course, students will also have a useful reference for subsequent courses in manufacturing, materials, design, or materials selection.
Engineering Materials by
Studying for an engineering qualification? Looking for a concise but comprehensive introduction to engineering materials? More interested in the practical aspects of the subject than in the science and theory? If you have answered 'yes' to any of these questions then this book is for you! Engineering Materials Volume 1 provides a comprehensive and highly practical introduction to the basic science of materials technology for all engineering students. This new edition has been rewritten and updated to reflect the requirements of the Advanced GNVQ and BTEC NC/D Engineering specifications. As such it also forms an ideal introduction to the subject for first-year degree courses in engineering. Topics covered include: basic science of materials; alloying of metals; plain carbon steels and cast irons, and their heat treatment; non-ferrous metals, their alloys and heat treatment; polymeric materials; bearing materials; material shaping and testing (destructive and non-destructive); performance of materials in service and their selection. This book leads naturally into the companion volume VoluEngineering Materials me 2, intended for students studying materials at a more advanced level such as HNC/D and second-year engineering degree courses. The broad coverage of this two-volume approach ensures that these core texts not only satisfy the requirements of technician engineers up to the highest level but also provide an excellent technical background for undergraduates studying for a degree in mechanical engineering, materials engineering or combined engineering.
