Technical Drawing I (PAT 104/2)

This best-selling dictionary contains over 9,000 entries on all aspects of science. It provides comprehensive coverage of biology (including human biology), chemistry, physics, the earth sciences, and astronomy. The entries are supported by over 200 clear diagrams and illustrations, and fullycross-referenced for ease of use.Other features include short biographies of leading scientists, full page illustrated features on subjects such as the Solar System and Genetically Modified Organisms, and chronologies of specific scientific subjects including plastics, electronics, and cell biology.Both concise and wide-ranging, this dictionary is an ideal handy reference work for students, and a great introduction for non-scientists.

Abbreviations, nicknames, jargon, and other short forms save time, space, and effort - provided they are understood. Thousands of new and potentially confusing terms become part of the international vocabulary each year, while our communications are relayed to one another with increasing speed. PDAs link to PCs. The Net has grown into data central, shopping mall, and grocery store all rolled into one. E-mail is faster than snail mail, cell phones are faster yet - and it is all done 24/7. Longtime and widespread use of certain abbreviations, such as R.S.V.P., has made them better understood standing alone than spelled out. Certainly we are more comfortable saying DNA than deoxyribonucleic acid - but how many people today really remember what the initials stand for? The Abbreviations Dictionary, Tenth Edition gives you this and other information from Airlines of the World to the Zodiacal Signs. Still a standard reference after more than 40 years, Abbreviations Dictionary, Tenth Edition continues the tradition of accuracy and comprehensiveness that has made it a classic. It remains the international sourcebook for locating elusive or general information on a vast array of topics. Updated and expanded, the Tenth Edition contains abbreviations, acronyms, appellations, contractions, numbered abbreviations and other short forms from computing, high technology, science, and a broad range of other fields, pastimes, groups, and of course, government and the military. Abbreviations Dictionary, Tenth Edition, is also the ready reference for useful information on such diverse topics as computer jargon, earthquake data, English grammar and usage, international conversions, medical terminology, wedding anniversaries, Zip coding, and more. It is a current, easily accessible resource for locating some of the most elusive and confusing elements of our language. When you have the Abbreviations Dictionary on your shelf, you will not need any other reference for short forms or abbreviations. See what's new in the Tenth Edition: 15, 000 new references Two completely new sections Expanded and updated sections such as BafflegabDivulged, Eponyms, Nicknames and Geographical Names, and Symbols-including Emoticons

Derived from the content of the respected McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, Sixth Edition, each title provides thousands of definitions of words and phrases encountered in a specific discipline. All include: * Pronunciation guide for every term * Acronyms, cross-references, and abbreviations * Appendices with conversion tables; listings of scientific, technical, and mathematical notation; tables of relevant data; and more * A convenient, quick-find format

Hundreds of well-illustrated articles explore the most important fields of science. Based on content from the McGraw-Hill Concise Encyclopedia of Science & Technooogy, Fifth Edition, the most widely used and respected science reference of its kind in print, each of these subject-specific quick-reference guides features: * Detailed, well-illustrated explanations, not just definitions * Hundreds of concise yet authoritative articles in each volume * An easy-to-understand presentation, accessible and interesting to non-specialists * A portable, convenient format * Bibliographies, appendices, and other information supplement the articles

A tradition of excellence continues with the long-awaited Tenth Edition of McGraw-Hill'sEncyclopedia of Science & Technology The definitive source for keeping up with the amazing changes in science and technology - complete with more than 1,700 new and updated articles Free supplemental website available to all users! www.mhest.com Featuring entries written by international leaders in science and technology selected by McGraw-Hill's distinguished board of consulting editors, no other reference so thoroughly and dynamically chronicles the expanding frontier, facts, and trends so vital to students, professionals, and general readers. For more than four decades, McGraw-Hill'sEncyclopedia of Science & Technologyhas provided readers with the information they need in an understandable, authoritative way that invites critical inquiry and captures the imagination. There is truly nothing else like it and no library can be called complete without it. Readers will find 7,000+ articles covering nearly 100 fields of science in this amazing 20 volume set. The new Tenth Edition features more than 1,700 new and updated articles, 12,000+ illustrations, and more than 5000 contributors - including 25 Nobel Prize winners. Also new to the Tenth Edition is a companion website that will provide selected updates to theEncyclopediaalong with additional material such as special graphics and illustrations. The logical organization of the 20 volumes, a 500 page analytical index, an extensive topic index, along with Study Guides, make finding information fast and easy. Cutting-edge topics covered include: Extraterrestrial Intelligence, Cloning, Food Allergy, Genomics, Stem Cells, Cellular Automata, Computational Intelligence, Computer-Aided Circuit Design, Voice-Over IP, Water Supply Engineering, Fossil Humans, Fossil Primates, and many, many more.