Instrumentation, Measurement and Control (PTT 206/2)

The industrial world consumes millions of kilos of processed food per day. Consistency of taste and texture, standards of raw materials, adherence to health codes, and uniform weights, are established industry specifications. Failure to meet any one of these can result in tons of food destroyed and billions of dollars lost. By the end of the 20th century the growing reliance on computers had shifted food quality and safety activities from human inspection to automated, statistically driven monitoring systems. Measurement and Control in Food Processing is designed to raise awareness of the current techniques of computerized measurement and process control, aid in the design of instruments and control schemes, explain the applicability of these tools to enhance quality and productivity, and educate students preparing to enter the food industry. Beginning with an illustrated introduction, followed by a detailed background in basic principles the author lays a solid foundation for understanding the role of transducers and controllers, demonstrating the need for current practices with specific problems from his experience in the tea industry. Divided into five major chapters, the book covers the most recent developments and applications in measurement techniques, and non-traditional methods such as electronic nose, biosensors, and fuzzy logic control. Addressing a major issue of today, the author investigates microcomputer-based monitoring by discussing the devices, standards, procedures, and suitable examples for process-computer interaction. Bridging the gap between the food-processing engineer who may not know how to design a controller unit and the instrumentation engineer who may not understand the complex flavor components involved, Measurement and Control in Food Processing ensures that together they can consistently make a decent cup of tea.

This volume, from an international authority on the subject, deals with the physical and instrumentation aspects of measurement science, the availability of major measurement tools, and how to use them. This book not only lays out basic concepts of electronic measurement systems, but also provides numerous examples and exercises for the student. AIdeal for courses on instrumentation, control engineering and physics ANumerous worked examples and student exercises"

* Covers all aspects of the data acquisition system from design and specification to programming, installation and configuration * Gives both the novice and experienced user a solid understanding of interfacing the PC and standalone instruments to real-world signals from the laboratory to the industrial plant * Provides a thorough grasp of PC data acquisition systems and the ability to design, specify, install and configure and program data acquisition systems quickly and effectively This book focuses on data acquisition and control using the PC and standalone instruments. The PC has made a dramatic impact in the ease with which the technician, scientist and engineer today can set up their own test and measurement system at a remarkably low cost. And this book aims to show you how easy it is with plenty of carefully researched information. The popular IEEE 488 interface is also covered. All aspects of the data acquisition system are included from design and specification to programming, installation and configuration. This book gives both the novice and experienced user a solid grasp of the principles and practical implementation of interfacing the PC and standalone instruments to real-world signals from the laboratory to the industrial plant. Once you have read the book, you will have a thorough grasp of PC data acquisition systems and will be able to design, specify, install and configure and program data acquisition systems quickly and effectively. * Covers all aspects of the data acquisition system from design and specification to programming, installation and configuration * Gives both the novice and experienced user a solid understanding of interfacing the PC and standalone instruments to real-world signals from the laboratory to the industrial plant * Provides a thorough grasp of PC data acquisition systems and the ability to design, specify, install and configure and program data acquisition systems quickly and effectively

Instrumentation is not a clearly defined subject, having a 'fuzzy' boundary with a number of other disciplines. Often categorized as either 'techniques' or 'applications' this book addresses the various applications that may be needed with reference to the practical techniques that are available for the instrumentation or measurement of a specific physical quantity or quality. This makes it of direct interest to anyone working in the process, control and instrumentation fields where these measurements are essential. * Comprehensive and authoritative collection of technical information * Written by a collection of specialist contributors * Updated to include chapters on the fieldbus standards, reliability, EMC, 'virtual instrumentation', fibre optics, smart and intelligent transmitters, analyzers, level and flow meters, and many more