Advanced Concrete Building Design (EAT 411/3)

A facility is only as efficient and profitable as the equipment that is in it. This highly influential book is a powerful resource for chemical, process, or plant engineers who need to select, design or configure plant successfully and profitably. Written by some of the most experienced and well-known chemical and process engineers in the industry today, this information-packed volume gives the chemical or process engineer or engineering student all of the guidelines for the design and selection of chemical process equipment. Comprehensive and practical, its scope and emphasis on real-world process design and performance of equipment will prove invaluable for day-to-day problem solving. The comprehensive and influential guide to the selection and design of a wide range of chemical process equipment, used by engineers globally . Copious examples of successful applications, with supporting schematics and data to illustrate the functioning and performance of equipment Revised edition, new material includes updated equipment cost data, liquid-solid and solid systems, and the latest information on membrane separation technology Provides equipment rating forms and manufacturers' data, worked examples, valuable shortcut methods, rules of thumb, and equipment rating forms to demonstrate and support the design process Heavily illustrated with many line drawings and schematics to aid understanding, graphs and tables to illustrate performance data

The idea of this monograph is to present the latest results related to design and analysis of materials and engineering structures. The contributions cover the field of mechanical and civil engineering, ranging from automotive to dam design, transmission towers and up to machine design and exmaples taken from oil industry. Well known experts present their research on damage and fracture of material and structures, materials modelling and evaluation up to image processing and visualization for advanced analyses and evaluation.

The first edition of this comprehensive work quickly filled the need for an in-depth handbook on concrete construction engineering and technology. Living up to the standard set by its bestselling predecessor, this second edition of the Concrete Construction Engineering Handbook covers the entire range of issues pertaining to the construction and design of reinforced and prestressed concrete structures. New and Updated Topics Include -- ·nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp; The latest advances in engineered concrete materials and special concrete applications including architectural concrete ·nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp; Reinforced concrete construction and recommendations on the vast array of types of constructed facilities ·nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp; Specialized construction techniques, including the latest provisions of the 2006 International Building Code (IBC) on the design of structures in high seismicity zones ·nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp; Design recommendations for high performance and proportioning of concrete structural elements by the latest ACI 318-08 Building Code ·nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp; New materials, design of precast seismic bracing systems, and aesthetics of long-span bridge construction Put 1200 Years of Experience to Work This new edition contains ten new chapters on the state of the art in emerging areas of concrete construction and design engineering by leading experts. Each chapter examines its topic with detail and depth of discussion and culminates with an extensive list of selected references for the user to consult beyond the scope of the handbook. The thirty-seven contributors are national or international leaders in research, design, and construction with a combined professional practice of at least 1,200 years. The wealth of up-to-date knowledge they provide allows you to design constructed concrete structures that are vastly better, more efficient, and longer enduring.

Modular construction can dramatically improve efficiency in construction, through factory production of pre-engineered building units and their delivery to the site either as entire buildings or as substantial elements. The required technology and application are developing rapidly, but design is still in its infancy. Good design requires a knowledge of modular production, installation and interface issues and also an understanding of the economics and client-related benefits which influence design decisions. Looking at eight recent projects, along with background information, this guide gives you coverage of: generic types of module and their application vertical loading, stability and robustness dimensional and spacial planning hybrid construction cladding, services and building physics fire safety and thermal and acoustic performance logistical aspects ¿ such as transport, tolerances and safe installation. A valuable guide for professionals and a thorough introduction for advanced students.

Designing structures to withstand the effects of fire is challenging, and requires a series of complex design decisions. This third edition of Fire Safety Engineering Design of Structures provides practising fire safety engineers with the tools to design structures to withstand fires. This text details standard industry design decisions, and offers expert design advice, with relevant historical data. It includes extensive data on materials' behaviour and modeling -- concrete, steel, composite steel-concrete, timber, masonry, and aluminium. While weighted to the fire sections of the Eurocodes, this book also includes historical data to allow older structures to be assessed. It extensively covers fire damage investigation, and includes as far back as possible, the background to code methods to enable the engineer to better understand why certain procedures are adopted. What's new in the Third Edition? An overview in the first chapter explains the types of design decisions required for optimum fire performance of a structure, and demonstrates the effect of temperature rise on structural performance of structural elements. It extends the sections on less common engineering materials.The section on computer modelling now includes material on coupled heat and mass transfer, enabling a better understanding of the phenomenon of spalling in concrete. It includes a series of worked examples, and provides an extensive reference section. Readers require a working knowledge of structural mechanics and methods of structural design at ambient conditions, and are helped by some understanding of thermodynamics of heat transfer. This book serves as a resource for engineers working in the field of fire safety, consultants who regularly carry out full fire safety design for structure, and researchers seeking background information. Dr John Purkiss is a chartered civil and structural engineer/consultant and former lecturer in structural engineering at Aston University, UK. Dr Long-Yuan Li is Professor of Structural Engineering at Plymouth University, UK, and a Fellow of the Institution of Structural Engineers.