Organic Chemistry (PRT 139/3)

Since its original appearance in 1977, Advanced Organic Chemistry has maintained its place as the premier textbook in the field, offering broad coverage of the structure, reactivity and synthesis of organic compounds. As in the earlier editions, the text contains extensive references to both the primary and review literature and provides examples of data and reactions that illustrate and document the generalizations. While the text assumes completion of an introductory course in organic chemistry, it reviews the fundamental concepts for each topic that is discussed. The two-part fifth edition has been substantially revised and reorganized for greater clarity. Among the changes: Updated material reflecting advances in the field since 2001 's Fourth Edition, especially in computational chemistry; A companion Web site provides digital models for study of structure, reaction and selectivity; Solutions to the exercises provided to instructors online. The control of reactivity to achieve specific syntheses is one of the overarching goals of organic chemistry. Part B describes the most general and useful synthetic reactions, organized on the basis of reaction type. Together with Part A: Structure and Mechanisms, the two volumes are intended to provide the advanced undergraduate or beginning graduate student in chemistry with a sufficient foundation to comprehend and use the research literature in organic chemistry.

Since its original appearance in 1977, Advanced Organic Chemistry has maintained its place as the premier textbook in the field, offering broad coverage of the structure, reactivity and synthesis of organic compounds. As in the earlier editions, the text contains extensive references to both the primary and review literature and provides examples of data and reactions that illustrate and document the generalizations. While the text assumes completion of an introductory course in organic chemistry, it reviews the fundamental concepts for each topic that is discussed. The two-part fifth edition has been substantially revised and reorganized for greater clarity. Among the changes: Updated material reflecting advances in the field since 2001's Fourth Edition, especially in computational chemistry; A companion Web site provides digital models for study of structure, reaction and selectivity; Solutions to the exercises provided to instructors online. The control of reactivity to achieve specific syntheses is one of the overarching goals of organic chemistry. Part B describes the most general and useful synthetic reactions, organized on the basis of reaction type. Together with Part A: Structure and Mechanisms, the two volumes are intended to provide the advanced undergraduate or beginning graduate student in chemistry with a sufficient foundation to comprehend and use the research literature in organic chemistry.

Electrical drives convert in a controlled manner, electrical energy into mechanical energy. Electrical drives comprise an electrical machine, i.e. an electro-mechanical energy converter, a power electronic converter, i.e. an electrical-to-electrical converter, and a controller/communication unit. Today, electrical drives are used as propulsion systems in high-speed trains, elevators, escalators, electric ships, electric forklift trucks and electric vehicles. Advanced control algorithms (mostly digitally implemented) allow torque control over a high-bandwidth. Hence, precise motion control can be achieved. Examples are drives in robots, pick-and-place machines, factory automation hardware, etc.Most drives can operate in motoring and generating mode. Wind turbines use electrical drives to convert wind energy into electrical energy. More and more, variable speed drives are used to save energy for example, in air-conditioning units, compressors, blowers, pumps and home appliances.Key to ensure stable operation of a drive in the aforementioned applications are torque control algorithms. In Advanced Electrical Drives, a unique approach is followed to derive model based torque controllers for all types of Lorentz force machines, i.e. DC, synchronous and induction machines. The rotating transformer model forms the basis for this generalized modeling approach that ultimately leads to the development of universal field-oriented control algorithms. In case of switched reluctance machines, torque observers are proposed to implement direct torque algorithms. From a didactic viewpoint, tutorials are included at the end of each chapter. The reader is encouraged to execute these tutorials to familiarize him or herself with all aspects of drive technology. Hence, Advanced Electrical Drives encourages “learning by doing”. The CD, which accompanies this book, not only has all tutorials in the CASPOC environment, but also contains all figures used in this book to assist lecturers with their teaching. Furthermore, the experienced drive specialist may find the simulation tools useful to design high-performance controllers for all sorts of electrical drives.

Schaum's Outline of Organic Chemistry provides a systematic review of organic chemistry, with clear and concise explanations, accompanied by numerous exercises.