Polymer Engineering Design (EBT441/3)

The fifth edition of Plant Design and Economics for Chemical Engineers is a major revision of the popular fourth edition. There are new chapters on process synthesis, computer-aided design, and design of chemical reactors. A traditionally strong feature of the text, economic analysis, has been revamped and updated. Another strength, equipment sizing and cost estimation, is updated and expanded as well. These improvements also reflect changes in equipment availability. The numerous real examples throughout the book include computer or hand solutions, and often both. There is a new increased emphasis on computer use in design, economic evaluation, and optimization. Concepts, strategies, and approaches to computer use are featured. These concepts are not tied to particular software programs and therefore apply to wide a range of applications software, of both current and future release. This widely used text is now more useful than ever, providing a “one-stop” guide to chemical process design and evaluation.

Sales of over 139,000 copies of the previous edition confirm this source as the leading chemical engineering handbook. The Seventh Edition is completely updated and includes new topics such as biochemical engineering, waste management, plant safety, analysis of plant performance, and handling of hazardous materials. Emphasis on applications rather than theory maximizes the usefulness of the handbook in both design and operation of chemical processes. Users can access facts, figures, and methods necessary to solve the full gamut of engineering problems. Among the new areas covered in the Seventh Edition are: computer applications and expert systems; material and energy balances; gas and liquid-phase pulsation dampeners; the LIST reactor. Responding to changes in the field in the past decade, the Seventh Edition embraces recent developments in process dynamics and control, new physical and chemical data, the latest in chemical reactor design, and new separation processes. Coverage of fundamental meets the needs of less experienced engineers, and SI units of measurement are used throughout.

The third edition of this well-received book provides a comprehensive account of the full range of dies used for extrusion of plastics and elastomers. The distinctive features of the various types of dies are described in detail. Advice on the configuration of dies is given, and the possibilities of computer-aided design, as well as its limitations, are demonstrated. The fundamentals and computational procedures are well explained so that the reader does not need any special prior knowledge of the subject. The mechanical configuration, handling, and maintenance of extrusion dies are described. Calibration procedures for pipes and profiles are also dealt with. This book was written for plastics engineers who need daily support in their practical work in industry and science as well for students preparing for their professional life.

This book addresses traditional polymer processing as well as the emerging technologies associated with the plastics industry in the 21st century and combines engineering modeling aspects with computer simulation of realistic polymer processes. This book provides a polymer processing background to engineering students and practicing engineers. It is a three-part textbook written for a two-semester polymer processing series in mechanical and chemical engineering. The first and second part of the book are designed for a senior- to graduate-level course, introducing polymer processing, and the third part is for a graduate course on simulation in polymer processing. Throughout the book, many applications are presented in form of examples and illustrations. These also serve the practicing engineer as a guide when determining important parameters and factors during the design process or when optimizing a process. Examples are presented throughout the book, and problems and solutions are available.

There are many books available on polymer chemistry, properties, and processing, but they do not focus on the practicalities of selecting and using them correctly in the design of structures. Engineering students require an understanding of polymers and composites as well as viscoelasticity, adhesion, damping applications, and tribology in order to successfully integrate these materials into their designs. Based on more than twenty years of classroom experience, Engineering Design with Polymers and Composites is the first textbook to unite these topics in a single source.The authors take a bottom-up functional approach rather than a top-down analytical approach to design. This unique perspective enables students to select the proper materials for the application rather than force the design to suit the materials. The text begins with an introduction to polymers and composites, including historical background. Detailed coverage of mechanical properties, viscoelastic behavior of polymers, composite materials, creep and fatigue failure, impact, and related properties follows. Discussion then turns to selection of materials, design applications of polymers, polymer processing, adhesion, tribology, and damping and isolation. Abundant examples, homework problems, tables, and illustrations reinforce the concepts.Accompanied by a CD-ROM containing materials databases, examples in Excel®, and a laminate analysis program, Engineering Design with Polymers and Composites builds a strong background in the underlying concepts necessary for engineering students to successfully incorporate polymers and composites into their designs.

Materials are evolving faster today than at any time in history. As a consequence the engineer must be more aware of materials and their potential than ever before. In comparing the properties of competing materials with precision involves an understanding of the basic properties of materials, how they are controlled by processing, formed, joined and finished and of the chain of reasoning that leads to a successful choice. This book will provide the reader with this understanding. Materials are grouped into four classes: Metals, Ceramics, Polymers and Composites, and each are examined in turn. The chapters are arranged in groups, with a group of chapters to describe each of the four classes of materials. Each group first of all introduces the major families of materials that go to make up each materials class. The main microstructural features of the class are then outlined and the reader is shown how to process or treat them to get the structures (properties) that are wanted. Each group of chapters is illustrated by Case Studies designed to help the reader understand the basic material. This book has been written as a second level course for engineering students. It provides a concise introduction to the microstructures and processing of materials and shows how these are related to the properties required in engineering design.

Technology/Engineering/Mechanical A bestselling MEMS text...now better than ever. An engineering design approach to Microelectromechanical Systems, MEMS and Microsystems remains the only available text to cover both the electrical and the mechanical aspects of the technology. In the five years since the publication of the first edition, there have been significant changes in the science and technology of miniaturization, including microsystems technology and nanotechnology. In response to the increasing needs of engineers to acquire basic knowledge and experience in these areas, this popular text has been carefully updated, including an entirely new section on the introduction of nanoscale engineering. Following a brief introduction to the history and evolution of nanotechnology, the author covers the fundamentals in the engineering design of nanostructures, including fabrication techniques for producing nanoproducts, engineering design principles in molecular dynamics, and fluid flows and heat transmission in nanoscale substances. Other highlights of the Second Edition include: ∗ Expanded coverage of microfabrication plus assembly and packaging technologies ∗ The introduction of microgyroscopes, miniature microphones, and heat pipes ∗ Design methodologies for thermally actuated multilayered device components ∗ The use of popular SU-8 polymer material Supported by numerous examples, case studies, and applied problems to facilitate understanding and real-world application, the Second Edition will be of significant value for both professionals and senior-level mechanical or electrical engineering students.