Energy Management & Audit (BFT 558/3)

While researchers work overtime to create new technologies and methods of providing energy, it is critical that modern industry makes the most efficient use of the energy that is currently available.

The Energy Management and Conservation Handbookoffers expert guidance on the planning and design of green technologies. It focuses on management strategies for better utilization of energy in buildings and industry as well as ways of improving energy efficiency at the end use.

Renowned authorities from around the globe share insights and modern points of view on a broad spectrum of topics. Summarizing proven energy efficient technologies in the building sector, the book includes examples that highlight the cost-effectiveness of some of these technologies. It introduces basic methods for designing and sizing cost-effective systems and determining whether it is economically efficient to invest in specific energy efficiency or renewable energy projects.

It provides guidance for computing measures of economic performance for relatively simple investment choices and the fundamentals for dealing with complex investment decisions. The book also describes energy audit producers commonly used to improve the energy efficiency of residential and commercial buildings as well as industrial facilities.

After developing the basics of HVAC control, the book explores operational needs for successfully maintained operations. It describes the essentials of control systems for heating, ventilating, and air conditioning of buildings designed for energy conserving operation. The book also defines demand-side management, covers its role in integrated resource planning, and delineates the main elements of its programs.

The book demonstrates these concepts with case studies of successful demand-side management programs. These features and more provide the tools necessary to improve energy management leading to higher energy efficiencies.

Completely revised and edited throughout, this latest edition includes new chapters on creating green buildings and web-based building automation controls along with a comprehensive revision of the chapter on lighting. Written by three of the most respected energy professionals in the industry, this book examines the fundamental objectives of energy management and illustrates techniques and tools proven effective for achieving results. Topics include distributed generation, energy auditing, rate structures, and economic evaluation techniques as well as lighting efficiency improvement, HVAC optimization, combustion and use of industrial wastes, and steam generation and distribution system performance.

Energy efficiency is today a crucial topic in the built environment - for both designers and managers of buildings. This increased interest is driven by a combination of new regulations and directives within the EU and worldwide to combat global warming.

All buildings now must now acquire and display an EPC (energy performance certificate), a rating similar to the A–G rating given to white goods. But in order to understand how to be more efficient in energy use, you need first to understand the mechanisms of both energy requirements and how energy is used in buildings.

Energy Audits: a workbook for energy management in buildings tackles the fundamental principles of thermodynamics through day-to-day engineering concepts and helps students understand why energy losses occur and how they can be reduced. It provides the tools to measure process efficiency and sustainability in power and heating applications, helping engineers to recognize why energy losses occur and how they can be reduced utilizing familiar thermodynamic principles.

The author describes the sources of energy available today; explains how energy is used in buildings – and how energy is lost - and how this can be controlled and reduced. Investments in energy efficiency are considered for a number of case studies conducted on real buildings

The book explains the theory; illustrates it with case studies and worked examples; and then tests students’ understanding with tutorial problems. This is an invaluable resource for students on engineering and building courses where energy management is now a core topic.

Brought to you by the creator of numerous bestselling handbooks, the Handbook of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energyprovides a thorough grounding in the analytic techniques and technological developments that underpin renewable energy use and environmental protection. The handbook emphasizes the engineering aspects of energy conservation and renewable energy. Taking a world view, the editors discuss key topics underpinning energy efficiency and renewable energy systems. They provide content at the forefront of the contemporary debate about energy and environmental futures. This is vital information for planning a secure energy future. Practical in approach, the book covers technologies currently available or expected to be ready for implementation in the near future. It sets the stage with a survey of current and future world-wide energy issues, then explores energy policies and incentives for conservation and renewable energy, covers economic assessment methods for conservation and generation technologies, and discusses the environmental costs of various energy generation technologies. The book goes on to examine distributed generation and demand side management procedures and gives a perspective on the efficiencies, economics, and environmental costs of fossil and nuclear technologies. Highlighting energy conservation as the cornerstone of a successful national energy strategy, the book covers energy management strategies for industry and buildings, HVAC controls, co-generation, and advances in specific technologies such as motors, lighting, appliances, and heat pumps. It explores energy storage and generation from renewable sources and underlines the role of infrastructure security and risk analysis in planning future energy transmission and storage systems. These features and more make the Handbook of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energythe tool for designing the energy sources of the future.

IT organizations are under intense pressure to manage the power consumed by data centers and the resulting cooling demands. To address these needs, IT needs to properly blend people, process and technology to create solutions. This book will provide an overview of processes for planning but will mainly focus on technical improvement opportunities at a high-level. The chapters are intended to give management data center power consumption areas to investigate. Rather than a linear cookbook approach, the chapters are organized in such a manner that the reader can skip to the topic of interest. Help you produce a technical roadmap that supports the objectives of Green IT Indeed, most data centers will not suffer from a lack of opportunities to improve. What is needed is careful planning and deliberate execution to manage power and cooling while continuing to create and protect value for the organization This pocket guide is written by George Spafford who is a Principal Consultant with Pepperweed Consulting, LLC, and an experienced practitioner in business and IT operations. He is a prolific author and speaker, and has consulted and conducted training on regulatory compliance, IT Governance, and process improvement in the U.S., Australia, New Zealand and China. Publications include co-authorship of The Visible Ops Handbook" and Visible Ops Security .