Renewable Energy System (EET 433/3)

Energy conversion techniques are key in power electronics and even more so in renewable energy source systems, which require a large number of converters. Renewable Energy Systems: Advanced Conversion Technologies and Applications describes advanced conversion technologies and provides design examples of converters and inverters for renewable energy systems--including wind turbine and solar panel energy systems. Learn Cutting-Edge Techniques for Converters and Inverters Setting the scene, the book begins with a review of the basics of astronomy and Earth physics. It then systematically introduces more than 200 topologies of advanced converters originally developed by the authors, including 150 updated circuits on modern conversion technologies. It also discusses recently published topologies and thoroughly analyzes new converter circuits. Novel approaches include split-capacitor and split-inductor techniques that can be applied in super-lift and other converters. Resolve Historic Problems in Conversion Technologies Along with offering many cutting-edge techniques, the authors resolve some historic problems, such as the accurate determination of the conduction angle of single-phase rectifiers and power factor correction. They also describe a new series--laddered multilevel inverters--that uses few devices to produce more levels, overcoming the drawbacks of the pulse-width-modulation (PWM) inverter and providing great scope for industrial applications. Tap the Knowledge of Pioneers in the Field This book is written by pioneers in advanced conversion technology who have created a large number of converters, including the world-renowned DC/DC Luo-converters and super-lift Luo-converters. Featuring numerous examples and diagrams, it guides readers in designing advanced converters for use in renewable energy systems.

Fundamentals of Renewable Energy Processes contains the technical detail necessary to understand the engineering principles that govern renewable energy application at many different levels. Focused on the fundamental mechanisms and processes that underpin energy management, it provides students with the foundation for all energy process courses. This text is organized according to the main forms of energy - heat engines, hydrogen energy, energy from the sun, and wind and water energy - with an introductory chapter of basic energy terms. From fuel cells, electrolyzers and processes for hydrogen production to biomass and windmills the author provides the most thorough examination of all aspects of renewable energy processes. * Examines the fundamentals of some non-traditional energy processes and illustrates the best way to implement these processes in our modern world. * Appropriate for all students and professionals studying the basic mechanisms of renewable energies. * Clear theory and physical examples of all principles relevant to the study of renewable energy. * Written by an internationally recognized pioneer researcher

Brought to you by the creator of numerous bestselling handbooks, the Handbook of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energyprovides a thorough grounding in the analytic techniques and technological developments that underpin renewable energy use and environmental protection. The handbook emphasizes the engineering aspects of energy conservation and renewable energy. Taking a world view, the editors discuss key topics underpinning energy efficiency and renewable energy systems. They provide content at the forefront of the contemporary debate about energy and environmental futures. This is vital information for planning a secure energy future. Practical in approach, the book covers technologies currently available or expected to be ready for implementation in the near future. It sets the stage with a survey of current and future world-wide energy issues, then explores energy policies and incentives for conservation and renewable energy, covers economic assessment methods for conservation and generation technologies, and discusses the environmental costs of various energy generation technologies. The book goes on to examine distributed generation and demand side management procedures and gives a perspective on the efficiencies, economics, and environmental costs of fossil and nuclear technologies. Highlighting energy conservation as the cornerstone of a successful national energy strategy, the book covers energy management strategies for industry and buildings, HVAC controls, co-generation, and advances in specific technologies such as motors, lighting, appliances, and heat pumps. It explores energy storage and generation from renewable sources and underlines the role of infrastructure security and risk analysis in planning future energy transmission and storage systems. These features and more make the Handbook of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energythe tool for designing the energy sources of the future.

The improvement of electrical energy efficiency is fast becoming one of the most essential areas of sustainability development, backed by political initiatives to control and reduce energy demand. Now a major topic in industry and the electrical engineering research community, engineers have started to focus on analysis, diagnosis and possible solutions. Owing to the complexity and cross-disciplinary nature of electrical energy efficiency issues, the optimal solution is often multi-faceted with a critical solutions evaluation component to ensure cost effectiveness. This single-source reference brings a practical focus to the subject of electrical energy efficiency, providing detailed theory and practical applications to enable engineers to find solutions for electroefficiency problems. It presents power supplier as well as electricity user perspectives and promotes routine implementation of good engineering practice. Key features include: a comprehensive overview of the different technologies involved in electroefficiency, outlining monitoring and control concepts and practical design techniques used in industrial applications; description of the current standards of electrical motors, with illustrative case studies showing how to achieve better design; up-to-date information on standarization, technologies, economic realities and energy efficiency indicators (the main types and international results); coverage on the quality and efficiency of distribution systems (the impact on distribution systems and loads, and the calculation of power losses in distribution lines and in power transformers). With invaluable practical advice, this book is suited to practicing electrical engineers, design engineers, installation designers, M&E designers, and economic engineers. It equips maintenance and energy managers, planners, and infrastructure managers with the necessary knowledge to properly evaluate the wealth of electrical energy efficiency solutions for large investments. This reference also provides interesting reading material for energy researchers, policy makers, consultants, postgraduate engineering students and final year undergraduate engineering students.