Instrumentation and Control (EPT 361/4): Electronic Books

This book provides the reader with knowledge needed to understand and apply the symbols and documents used to define a modern industrial instrumentation and control system. The documents that describe modern industrial processes, like most technical work, assume some level of understanding on the reader_s part. The documents use a schematic, symbol-based _language_ that may resemble Mayan hieroglyphics to those unfamiliar with the process nomenclature. The symbols, however, include a wealth of information once you are able to translate them. This book will train you to read, understand, and apply the symbols and documents used to define a modern industrial instrumentation and control system. For more experienced professionals, insights into using the symbols and documents more effectively are provided. Variations in the use of symbols and documents are given as well as the pitfalls to avoid. To better understand process documentation today, insight into how and when documents are developed, who develops them, why they are developed, and how they are used is provided. The types of documents discussed include process flow diagrams, piping and instrumentation drawings, instrument lists, specification forms, logic diagrams, installation details, location plans, and loop diagrams.

Whether you're designing a new instrumentation and control (I&C) system, or migrating an existing control system along an upgrade path, you need to have a well-conceived design package - the engineering deliverables and the design process that creates them. This book draws on 25 years of design engineering experience from the author to provide you with a roadmap to understanding the design process, the elements of a successful project, the specific issues to address in a well-designed I&C system, and the engineering products that enable practical design and successful maintenance. As nearly $65 billion worth of automation systems near the end of their traditional life cycle, the necessity of understanding the design process has never been more critical to engineers, technicians, and management - this book will help you achieve that understanding.

* Covers all aspects of the data acquisition system from design and specification to programming, installation and configuration * Gives both the novice and experienced user a solid understanding of interfacing the PC and standalone instruments to real-world signals from the laboratory to the industrial plant * Provides a thorough grasp of PC data acquisition systems and the ability to design, specify, install and configure and program data acquisition systems quickly and effectively This book focuses on data acquisition and control using the PC and standalone instruments. The PC has made a dramatic impact in the ease with which the technician, scientist and engineer today can set up their own test and measurement system at a remarkably low cost. And this book aims to show you how easy it is with plenty of carefully researched information. The popular IEEE 488 interface is also covered. All aspects of the data acquisition system are included from design and specification to programming, installation and configuration. This book gives both the novice and experienced user a solid grasp of the principles and practical implementation of interfacing the PC and standalone instruments to real-world signals from the laboratory to the industrial plant. Once you have read the book, you will have a thorough grasp of PC data acquisition systems and will be able to design, specify, install and configure and program data acquisition systems quickly and effectively.

The volume includes a set of selected papers extended and revised from the 2011 International Conference on Mechanical Engineering and Technology, held on London, UK, November 24-25, 2011. Mechanical engineering technology is the application of physical principles and current technological developments to the creation of useful machinery and operation design. Technologies such as solid models may be used as the basis for finite element analysis (FEA) and / or computational fluid dynamics (CFD) of the design. Through the application of computer-aided manufacturing (CAM), the models may also be used directly by software to create instructions for the manufacture of objects represented by the models, through computer numerically controlled (CNC) machining or other automated processes, without the need for intermediate drawings. This volume covers the subject areas of mechanical engineering and technology, and also covers interdisciplinary subject areas of computers, communications, control and automation. We hope that researchers, graduate students and other interested readers benefit scientifically from the book and also find it stimulating in the process.

This book reports the development of fault diagnosis and fault-tolerant control (FTC) methods with their application to real plants. After an introduction to fault diagnosis and FTC, a chapter on actuators and sensors in systems with varying degrees of nonlinearity leads to three chapters in which the design of FTC systems is given thorough coverage for real applications: a winding machine typifying a subsystem in various sheet and film processes; a hydraulic 3-tank system representative of those used widely in chemical plants; and an active suspension system demonstrating application in whole large-scale systems by splitting into subsystems.Actuator and sensor faults are accommodated within the control-law design and the integration of fault diagnosis models in the FTC systems described. Linearized systems around an operating point and nonlinear systems are discussed and illustrated. A complete simulation platform of the 3-tank system is provided via download from www.springer.com / ISBN 978-1-84882-652-6.

This book introduces process control to engineers and technicians unfamiliar with control techniques, providing an understanding of how to actually apply control in a real industrial environment. It avoids analytical treatment of the numerous statistical process control techniques to concentrate on the practical problems involved. A practical approach is taken, making it relevant in virtually all manufacturing and process industries. There is currently no information readily available to practising engineers or students that discusses the real problems and such material is long overdue. An indispensable guide for all those involved in process control Includes equipment specification, troubleshooting, system specification and design Provided with guidelines of HOW TO and HOW NOT TO install process control