Metallurgical Thermodynamics (EBT 314/3)

Materials characterization is an important area of fundamental and technological interest. Over the years, a variety of experimental techniques have been developed for characterizing the physical and chemical properties of materials. Advances in Materials Characterization offers an overview of this continually emerging discipline by providing an in-depth exploration of the latest techniques. It brings together a highly authoritative collection of articles written by experts from across the world who have been active in pioneering the techniques. Each chapter provides an introduction and an overview of the technique, and then proceeds to demonstrate its application to selected problems.

Thermodynamics Seventh Edition covers the basic principles of thermodynamics while presenting a wealth of real-world engineering examples so students get a feel for how thermodynamics is applied in engineering practice. This text helps students develop an intuitive understanding of thermodynamics by emphasizing the physics and physical arguments. Cengel/Boles explore the various facets of thermodynamics through careful explanations of concepts and its use of numerous practical examples and figures, having students develop necessary skills to bridge the gap between knowledge and the confidence to properly apply knowledge. The media package for this text is extensive, giving users a large variety of supplemental resources to choose from. A Student Resources DVD is packaged with each new copy of the text and contains the popular Engineering Equation Solver (EES) software. McGraw-Hill's new Connect is available to students and instructors. Connect is a powerful, web-based assignment management system that makes creating and grading assignments easy for instructors and learning convenient for students. It saves time and makes learning for students accessible anytime, anywhere. With Connect, instructors can easily manage assignments, grading, progress, and students receive instant feedback from assignments and practice problems.

This widely acclaimed text, now in its fifth edition and translated into many languages, continues to present a clear, simple and concise introduction to chemical thermodynamics. An examination of equilibrium in the everyday world of mechanical objects provides the starting point for an accessible account of the factors that determine equilibrium in chemical systems. This straightforward approach leads students to a thorough understanding of the basic principles of thermodynamics, which are then applied to a wide range of physico-chemical systems. The book also discusses the problems of non-ideal solutions and the concept of activity, and provides an introduction to the molecular basis of thermodynamics. Over five editions, the views of teachers of the subject and their students have been incorporated. The result is a little more rigour in specifying the dimensions within logarithmic expressions, the addition of more worked examples and the inclusion of a simple treatment of the molecular basis of thermodynamics. Students on courses in thermodynamics will continue to find this popular book an excellent introductory text.

Originally published in 1985, this textbook provides a thorough and comprehensive coverage of a wide range of topics in stoichiometry and thermodynamics with special emphasis on applications to metallurgical processes. The author's approach is to introduce students to the fundamental notions of physical chemistry and thermodynamics and then to expand the treatment gradually into progressively more advanced areas. This book will be welcomed as a text for courses in elementary and advanced thermodynamics and stoichiometry. The topics covered are both theoretical and practical. The examples and exercises range from straightforward tests of theory and simple numerical problems to complex analyses of real processes. Every chapter ends with full and up-to-date references. It can also serve as a valuable reference book for professional metallurgists, materials scientists, ceramicists, chemists, chemical engineers and fuel technologists.

Chemical Thermodynamics for Industry presents the latest developments in applied thermodynamics and highlights the role of thermodynamics in the chemical industry. Written by leading experts in the field, Chemical Thermodynamics for Industry covers the latest developments in traditional areas such as calorimetry, microcalorimetry, transport properties, crystallization, adsorption, electrolyte systems and transport fuels, It highlights newly established areas such as multiphase modeling, reactive distillation, non-equilibrium thermodynamics and spectro-calorimetry. It also explores new ways of treating old technologies as well as new and potentially important areas such as ionic liquids, new materials, ab-initia quantum chemistry, nano-particles, polymer recycling, clathrates and the economic value of applied thermodynamics. This book is aimed not only at those working in a specific area of chemical thermodynamics but also at the general chemist, the prospective researcher and those involved in funding chemical research.

The development of high speed, high frequency circuits and systems requires an understanding of the properties of materials functioning at the microwave level. This comprehensive reference sets out to address this requirement by providing guidance on the development of suitable measurement methodologies tailored for a variety of materials and application systems. Bringing together coverage of a broad range of techniques in one publication for the first time, this book: Provides a comprehensive introduction to microwave theory and microwave measurement techniques. Examines every aspect of microwave material properties, circuit design and applications. Presents materials property characterisation methods along with a discussion of the underlying theory. Outlines the importance of microwave absorbers in the reduction in noise levels in microwave circuits and their importance within defence industry applications. Relates each measurement technique to its application across the fields of microwave engineering, high-speed electronics, remote sensing and the physical sciences. This book will appeal to practising engineers and technicians working in the areas of RF, microwaves, communications, solid-state devices and radar. Senior students, researchers in microwave engineering and microelectronics and material scientists will also find this book a very useful reference.