Process Control (EBT 303/3)

This progressive guide emphasizes the use of vector mechanics and vector mathematics in its treatment of statistics, and is the first engineering mechanics book of its kind to address the use of computational software for computing solutions and for visualizing physical properties - reflecting the latest developments in the methods of analysis of mechanics problems by incorporating the highly sophisticated computational software packages currently available. Uses computational software as a vector calculator (so readers can perform vector manipulations quickly and accurately, allowing them more time to focus on the fundamentals), and provides direct vector calculations throughout (presenting systematic methods to solve some vector equations without expanding into scalar components). Offers a Matrix Solution of Systems of Equations using computational software; uses discontinuity functions to make shear and moment calculations and plots; and provides such powerful computational tools as symbolic manipulation and plotting for visualization of forces and the effects of geometry, and other parameters on internal and reaction forces and moments. Approximately 1,000 problems and 95 worked sample problems help foster understanding, and all sample problems and the use of computational software (Mathcad, MATLAB, Mathematica and Maple) are presented in four separate manuals (one for each software program).

A practical guide to semiconductor manufacturing from process control to yield modeling and experimental design Fundamentals of Semiconductor Manufacturing and Process Control covers all issues involved in manufacturing microelectronic devices and circuits, including fabrication sequences, process control, experimental design, process modeling, yield modeling, and CIM/CAM systems. Readers are introduced to both the theory and practice of all basic manufacturing concepts. Following an overview of manufacturing and technology, the text explores process monitoring methods, including those that focus on product wafers and those that focus on the equipment used to produce wafers. Next, the text sets forth some fundamentals of statistics and yield modeling, which set the foundation for a detailed discussion of how statistical process control is used to analyze quality and improve yields. The discussion of statistical experimental design offers readers a powerful approach for systematically varying controllable process conditions and determining their impact on output parameters that measure quality. The authors introduce process modeling concepts, including several advanced process control topics such as run-by-run, supervisory control, and process and equipment diagnosis. Critical coverage includes the following: * Combines process control and semiconductor manufacturing * Unique treatment of system and software technology and management of overall manufacturing systems * Chapters include case studies, sample problems, and suggested exercises * Instructor support includes electronic copies of the figures and an instructor's manual Graduate-level students and industrial practitioners will benefit from the detailed exami'nation of how electronic materials and supplies are converted into finished integrated circuits and electronic products in a high-volume manufacturing environment. An Instructor's Manual presenting detailed solutions to all the problems in the book is available from the Wiley editorial department. An Instructor Support FTP site is also available.

The proposed is an updated edition of a book that presents a classic approach to engineering elasticity.  Lead author Art Boresi is considered one of the best authors in engineering mechanics alive today and has a number of well respected books to his credit.  The classic approach taken will be enhanced in this revision based on both the authors plans and their acceptance of reviewer comments asking for more coverage of "modern" subjects and applications such as nano- and biomechanical elsaticity.  Co-author Ken Chong at the NSF has proposed adding a third author, Wing K. Liu, from Northwestern University to help in this effort.  They will also work to add more engineering applications and examples to supplement their more theoretical coverage.  As with the second edition as solutions manual will be available on the instructor′s companion site.