Transportation Phenomenon in Materials Processing (EBT 254/3)

Fundamentals of Momentum, Heat, and Mass Transfer, now in its fifth edition, continues to provide a unified treatment of momentum transfer (fluid mechanics), heat transfer, and mass transfer. This new edition has been updated to include more coverage of modern topics such as biomedical/biological applications as well as an added separations topic on membranes. Additionally, the fifth edition will focus on an explicit problem-solving methodology that is thoroughly and consistently implemented throughout the text. Designed for undergraduates taking transport phenomena or transfer and rate process courses.

This text provides a teachable and readable approach to transport phenomena (momentum, heat, and mass transport) by providing numerous examples and applications, which are particularly important to metallurgical, ceramic, and materials engineers. Because the authors feel that it is important for students and practicing engineers to visualize the physical situations, they have attempted to lead the reader through the development and solution of the relevant differential equations by applying the familiar principles of conservation to numerous situations and by including many worked examples in each chapter.The book is organized in a manner characteristic of other texts in transport phenomena. Section I deals with the properties and mechanics of fluid motion; Section II with thermal properties and heat transfer; and Section III with diffusion and mass transfer. The authors depart from tradition by building on a presumed understanding of the relationships between the structure and properties of matter, particularly in the chapters devoted to the transport properties (viscosity, thermal conductivity, and the diffusion coefficients). In addition, generous portions of the text, numerous examples, and many problems at the ends of the chapters apply transport phenomena to materials processing.

For undergraduate chemical engineering majors at the junior level. This text introduces the fundamental concepts of transport phenomena and enables students to translate physical phenomena into mathematical terms. All the basic principles of transport phenomena are introduced with mathematical complexity kept to minimum.

An ideal text for graduate level courses in transport phenomena for chemical engineers,Analysis of Transport Phenomenaprovides a unified treatment of momentum, heat, and mass transfer, emphasizing the concepts and analytical techniques that apply to all of these transport processes. The first few chapters establish the tools needed for later analyses while also covering heat and mass transfer in stationary media. The similarities among the molecular or diffusive transport mechanisms--heat conduction, diffusion of chemical species, and viscous transfer of momentum--are highlighted. Conservation equations for scalar quantites are derived first in general form, and then used to obtain the governing equations for total mass, energy, and chemical species. The scaling and order-of-magnitude concepts which are crucial in modeling are also introduced. Certain key methods for solving the differential equations in transport problems, including similarity, perturbation, and finite Fourier transform techniques, are described using conduction and diffusion problems as examples. Following chapters are devoted to fluid mechanics, beginning with fundamental equations for momentum transfer and then discussing unidirectional flow, nearly unidirectional (lubrication) flow, creeping flow, and laminar boundary layer flow. Forced-convection heat and mass transfer in laminar flow, multicomponent energy and mass transfer, free convection, and turbulence are also covered. The appendix summarizes vector and tensor operations and relations involving various coordinate systems. Based on twenty years of teaching and extensive class testing,Analysis of Transport Phenomenaoffers students both extensive coverage of the topic and inclusion of modern examples from bioengineering, membrane science, and materials processing. It is mathematically self-contained and is also unique in its treatment of scaling and approximation techniques and its presentation of the finite Fourier transform method for solving partial differential equations.

"Transport Phenomena" has been revised to include deeper and more extensive coverage of heat transfer, enlarged discussion of dimensional analysis, a new chapter on flow of polymers, systematic discussions of convective momentum, and energy. Topics also include mass transport, momentum transport and energy transport, which are presented at three different scales: molecular, microscopic and macroscopic. If this is your first look at Transport Phenomena you'll quickly learn that its balanced introduction to the subject of transport phenomena is the foundation of its long-standing success.

An extremely useful guide to the theory and applications of transport phenomena in materials processing This book defines the unique role that transport phenomena play in materials processing and offers a graphic, comprehensive treatment unlike any other book on the subject. The two parts of the text are, in fact, two useful books. Part I is a very readable introduction to fluid flow, heat transfer, and mass transfer for materials engineers and anyone not yet thoroughly familiar with the subject. It includes governing equations and boundary conditions particularly useful for studying materials processing. For mechanical and chemical engineers, and anyone already familiar with transport phenomena, Part II covers the many specific applications to materials processing, including a brief description of various materials processing technologies. Readable and unencumbered by mathematical manipulations (most of which are allocated to the appendixes), this book is also a useful text for upper-level undergraduate and graduate-level courses in materials, mechanical, and chemical engineering. It includes hundreds of photographs of materials processing in action, single and composite figures of computer simulation, handy charts for problem solving, and more. Transport Phenomena and Materials Processing: Describes eight key materials processing technologies, including crystal growth, casting, welding, powder and fiber processing, bulk and surface heat treating, and semiconductor device fabrication Covers the latest advances in the field, including recent results of computer simulation and flow visualization Presents special boundary conditions for transport phenomena in materials processing Includes charts that summarize commonly encountered boundary conditions and step-by-step procedures for problem solving Offers a unique derivation of governing equations that leads to both overall and differential balance equations Provides a list of publicly available computer programs and publications relevant to transport phenomena in materials processing An Instructor's Manual presenting detailed solutions to all the problems in the book is available from the Wiley editorial department.

An Introduction to Materials Engineering and Science for Chemical and Materials Engineers provides a solid background in materials engineering and science for chemical and materials engineering students. This book: Organizes topics on two levels; by engineering subject area and by materials class. Incorporates instructional objectives, active-learning principles, design-oriented problems, and web-based information and visualization to provide a unique educational experience for the student. Provides a foundation for understanding the structure and properties of materials such as ceramics/glass, polymers, composites, bio-materials, as well as metals and alloys. Takes an integrated approach to the subject, rather than a "metals first" approach.

This book addresses traditional polymer processing as well as the emerging technologies associated with the plastics industry in the 21st century and combines engineering modeling aspects with computer simulation of realistic polymer processes. This book provides a polymer processing background to engineering students and practicing engineers. It is a three-part textbook written for a two-semester polymer processing series in mechanical and chemical engineering. The first and second part of the book are designed for a senior- to graduate-level course, introducing polymer processing, and the third part is for a graduate course on simulation in polymer processing. Throughout the book, many applications are presented in form of examples and illustrations. These also serve the practicing engineer as a guide when determining important parameters and factors during the design process or when optimizing a process. Examples are presented throughout the book, and problems and solutions are available.