Polymer Synthesis (EBT 232/4)

The basic concept of this new edition remains unchanged: Emphasis is again put on a broader description of the general methods and processes for the synthesis, modification and characterization of macromolecules. These more fundamental chapters will be supplemented by 115 selected and detailed experiments. In addition to the preparative aspects the book also gives the reader an impression on the relation of chemical constitution and morphology of Polymers to their properties, as well as on their application areas. Thus, an additional textbook will not be needed in order to understand the experiments. The 4th edition nevertheless contains numerous changes: Chapter 1 and 2 are enlarged, 15 older examples have been replaced by new ones and background text is added. Suitable for students in organic and polymer chemistry as well as for chemists in industry who want to acquaint themselves with the theoretical and practical aspects of macromolecular chemistry. From the reviews:"This is an excellent book for all polymer chemsits engaged in synthesis research studies and education. It is educationally sound and has excellent laboratory synthetic examples. The fundamentals are well done for the teaching of students and references are resonably up-to-date. As in previous issues, there are sections dealing with an introduction; structure and nomenclature; methods and techniques for synthesis, characterization, processing and modification of polymers.....The authors have noted the following changes from previous editions- a new section on correlayions of structure, morphology and properties; revision and enlargement of other property and characterization procedures; additional new experiments such as controlled radical polymerization; enzymatix polymerizations; microelmulsions; and electrical conducting polymers.This is a high quality textbook at a reasonable price and should be considered as a suitable references for all engaged in synthetic areas of polymer research." (Eli M. Pearce)

Polymer Chemistry is an introductory textbook intended for graduate and advanced undergraduate students and industrial chemists who work with polymers. The authors purpose in writing the book was to provide a comprehensive and up-to-date overview of the chemistry of macromolecular substances, with particular emphasis on polymers that are important commercially, and the properties that make them important. Major topics include polymer synthesis nomenclature, molecular weight, reactions of polymers, recycling of polymers, methods used for characterizing and testing polymers, morphology, stereoregular polymers, polymer blends, heterocyclic polymers, inorganic polymers, and natural polymers. Review exercises, frequently including journal references, are provided to lead students into the polymer literature.

The new edition of this classic textbook desrvibes the physical and organic chemistry of the reactions that produce polymers. Three primary features distinguish this book from the competition: 1) each topic is prefaced with a thorough discussion at the elementary level, assuming oat most only some background in physical and organic chemistry. 2) the presentation and writing are geared for the student. 3) each topic is subsequently considered at an advanced level, allowing both the novice and more accomplished student to achieve an advanced understanding of polymer synthesis.

New Edition Offers Improved Framework for Understanding Polymers Written by well-established professors in the field, Polymer Chemistry, Second Edition provides a well-rounded and articulate examination of polymer properties at the molecular level. It focuses on fundamental principles based on underlying chemical structures, polymer synthesis, characterization, and properties. Consistent with the previous edition, the authors emphasize the logical progression of concepts, rather than presenting just a catalog of facts. The book covers topics that appear prominently in current polymer science journals. It also provides mathematical tools as needed, and fully derived problems for advanced calculations. This new edition integrates new theories and experiments made possible by advances in instrumentation. It adds new chapters on controlled polymerization and chain conformations while expanding and updating material on topics such as catalysis and synthesis, viscoelasticity, rubber elasticity, glass transition, crystallization, solution properties, thermodynamics, and light scattering. Polymer Chemistry, Second Edition offers a logical presentation of topics that can be scaled to meet the needs of introductory as well as more advanced courses in chemistry, materials science, and chemical engineering.

Most of the available texts for polymer chemistry are written for graduate students, foregoing some of the concepts that are the basis for understanding polymers. Building on the core elements of organic and physical chemistry, Introduction to Polymer Chemistry provides an articulate, well-rounded presentation of the principles and applications for natural, synthetic, inorganic, and organic polymers. The book organizes its organic-intensive chapters in the front, allowing greater time for students and teachers to become familiar with the topic before embarking on physical aspects. Relating to all types of polymers, the chapters examine synthesis and polymerization reactions, reactivities, techniques for characterization and analysis, energy absorption and thermal conductivity, physical and optical properties, and more. Each chapter contains up-to-date problems, learning summaries, practical glossaries, and recommended Web sites for further study. The author uses compelling examples from real-world applications that underscore the impact of polymers on society and emphasize the increasing role of polymers for resolving worldwide health challenges such as clean and abundant water, food preservation, clean air, and clean energy. Placing less emphasis on physical topics, Introduction to Polymer Chemistry contains sufficient coverage of kinetics and thermodynamics to qualify as an advanced course for the American Chemical Society (ACS) Committee on Professional Training approval process. It also fulfills the advanced course requirements of the ACS for the chemistry major, offering a solutions manual for qualifying course adoptions.

Since the last edition was published seven years ago, catalytic asymmetric synthesis has become crucial to chemistry and to the preparation of pharmaceutical, fine chemical, and agricultural agents. The revised Catalytic Asymmetric Synthesis includes six new chapters on topics like non-conventional media/conditions, organocatalysis, CH activation, and much more, while the book's remaining chapters have been fully updated. A new section on carbon-carbon bond forming reactions, authored by distinguished Nobel prizewinning scientists, has been added. This revision, with a helpful appendix, is an essential reference on catalytic asymmetric synthesis for both chemists and students alike.