Introduction to Polymer (EBT 110/3)

The definitive guide to polymer principles, properties, synthesis, and applications Polymer Science and Technology, Second Edition systematically reviews both the current state of polymer science and technology and emerging advances in the field. Leading polymer specialist Joel R. Fried offers thoroughly updated coverage of both polymer processing principles and the latest polymer applications in a wide range of industries -- including medicine, biotechnology, chemicals, and electronics. In addition to synthetic polymer chemistry, Fried covers polymer properties in solution and in melt, rubber, and solid states, and surveys all important categories of plastics. This Second Edition also adds many new example calculations, homework problems, and bibliographic references. In-depth coverage includes: bull; bull; Polymer synthesis, including metallocene catalysis, atom-transfer radical and plasma polymerization, the use of supercritical fluids, and genetic engineering Amorphous and crystalline states, transitions, and mechanical properties Characterization techniques, including new coverage of temperature-modulated DSC Polymer engineering, from rheology to modeling of polymer processing operations Fundamental principles of polymer blends and composites -- including up-to-the-minute discussions of nanocomposites Commodity thermoplastics and fibers, with new coverage of syndiotactic polystyrene, biopolymers, and naturally occurring polymers Elastomers and thermosets Engineering and specialty polymers, including dendrimers and hyperbranched polymers, amorphous Teflon, and new electrical/optical applications Membrane separations and new coverage of barrier polymers PRENTICE HALL Upper Saddle River, NJ 07458 www.phptr.com ISBN: 0-13-018168-4

This book introduces the techniques used for the analysis of polymers. It covers the main aspects of polymer science and technology; identification, polymerization, molecular weight, structure, surface properties, degradation and mechanical properties. ∗ Clear explanations of each analytical technique ∗ Describes the application of techniques to the study of polymers ∗ Encourages learning through numerous self-assessment questions and answers ∗ Structured for flexible learning

Now in its second edition, this widely used text provides a unique presentation of today's polymer science. It is both comprehensive and readable. The authors are leading educators in this field with extensive background in industrial and academic polymer research. The text starts with a description of the types of microstructures found in polymer materials. This forms the basis of understanding some of the key features of the various mechanisms of homopolymerization and copolymerization that are discussed in following chapters. Also discussed in these chapters are the kinetics and statistics of polymerization with a separate chapter on the characterization of chain structure by spectroscopic methods. The next part of the text deals with chain conformation, structure and morphology, leading to a discussion of crystallization, melting and glass transition. The discussion then moves from solid state to solution properties where solution thermodynamics is introduced. This provides the basis for discussion of the measurement of molecular weight by various solution methods. The final chapter deals with mechanical and rheological properties, which are discussed from a phenomenological continuum approach and then in terms of a fundamental molecular perspective. Altogether, the text provides a comprehensive, lucid introduction to today's polymer science as a foundation to the R&D of polymeric materials. More than 200 schematics and other figures illustrate key concepts and important aspects of polymeric materials. The text will be useful as an update for polymer and other materials scientists in industry, and as an introduction to engineers working with polymeric materials who would benefit from a better understanding of polymer science basics.

Emphasizing interrelationships between molecular structure and the morphology and mechanical behavior of polymers, this book incorporates new findings in processing and characterizing polymers. Here, you will find chapters devoted to polymer surfaces and polymer blends; discussions on solid-state nuclear magnetic resonance methods; self-assembled polymers; scaling law basics, olymer processing, and current research interests such as thermoset plastics, supercritical fluids, biomedical applications, film formation, and much more. New topics for this fourth edition are nonocomposites, including carbon nanotubes and exfoliated montmorillonite clays, the structure, motions, and functions of DNA and proteins, as well as the interfaces of polymeric biomaterials with living organisms. In addition, ther are new sections on fire retardancy, friction and wear, and optical tweezers, to name a few.

Most of the available texts for polymer chemistry are written for graduate students, foregoing some of the concepts that are the basis for understanding polymers. Building on the core elements of organic and physical chemistry, Introduction to Polymer Chemistry provides an articulate, well-rounded presentation of the principles and applications for natural, synthetic, inorganic, and organic polymers. The book organizes its organic-intensive chapters in the front, allowing greater time for students and teachers to become familiar with the topic before embarking on physical aspects. Relating to all types of polymers, the chapters examine synthesis and polymerization reactions, reactivities, techniques for characterization and analysis, energy absorption and thermal conductivity, physical and optical properties, and more. Each chapter contains up-to-date problems, learning summaries, practical glossaries, and recommended Web sites for further study. The author uses compelling examples from real-world applications that underscore the impact of polymers on society and emphasize the increasing role of polymers for resolving worldwide health challenges such as clean and abundant water, food preservation, clean air, and clean energy. Placing less emphasis on physical topics, Introduction to Polymer Chemistry contains sufficient coverage of kinetics and thermodynamics to qualify as an advanced course for the American Chemical Society (ACS) Committee on Professional Training approval process. It also fulfills the advanced course requirements of the ACS for the chemistry major, offering a solutions manual for qualifying course adoptions.

Polymer science at its best! A completely new approach reflecting the interdisciplinary nature of polymer science! Modern polymer science is firmly rooted not only in the chemistry of macromolecules but also in their physical chemistry and physics. Furthermore, this modern insight provides the reader with information on the three most important uses of synthetic polymers: elastomers, fibers, and plastics. Biopolymers are also considered. This book fulfills the need for a volume which introduces polymer science in a straightforward, rigorous, and practical way. It is divided into four parts that cover the chemistry, physical chemistry, physics, and technology of polymers. Whenever possible, physical equations are not just presented but are derived step by step from first principles enabling the newcomer to ease smoothy into the subject. The reference to industrial aspects makes this book an indispensable support for both students and professionals.

Thoroughly updated, Introduction to Polymers, Third Editionpresents the science underpinning the synthesis, characterization and properties of polymers. The material has been completely reorganized and expanded to include important new topics and provide a coherent platform for teaching and learning the fundamental aspects of contemporary polymer science. New to the Third Edition Part I This first part covers newer developments in polymer synthesis, including ‘living’ radical polymerization, catalytic chain transfer and free-radical ring-opening polymerization, along with strategies for the synthesis of conducting polymers, dendrimers, hyperbranched polymers and block copolymers. Polymerization mechanisms have been made more explicit by showing electron movements. Part II In this part, the authors have added new topics on diffusion, solution behaviour of polyelectrolytes and field-flow fractionation methods. They also greatly expand coverage of spectroscopy, including UV visible, Raman, infrared, NMR and mass spectroscopy. In addition, the Flory–Huggins theory for polymer solutions and their phase separation is treated more rigorously. Part III A completely new, major topic in this section is multicomponent polymer systems. The book also incorporates new material on macromolecular dynamics and reptation, liquid crystalline polymers and thermal analysis. Many of the diagrams and micrographs have been updated to more clearly highlight features of polymer morphology. Part IV The last part of the book contains major new sections on polymer composites, such as nanocomposites, and electrical properties of polymers. Other new topics include effects of chain entanglements, swelling of elastomers, polymer fibres, impact behaviour and ductile fracture. Coverage of rubber-toughening of brittle plastics has also been revised and expanded. While this edition adds many new concepts, the philosophy of the book remains unchanged. Largely self-contained, the text fully derives most equations and cross-references topics between chapters where appropriate. Each chapter not only includes a list of further reading to help readers expand their knowledge of the subject but also provides problem sets to test understanding, particularly of numerical aspects.