Advance Photonic Engineering (EMT 492/3)

Choice Outstanding Title! (January 2006) Since the discovery of the lasers in 1960 and optical fibers in 1970, optics underwent deep changes which accentuated its multi-field character. This work covers essential concepts of comprehension and reports the great progress of current knowledge in optics. The method of presentation is inspired by Richard Feynman, with an emphasis on telling optics, rather than deducing it from fundamental laws. For its excellent teaching style, the book received the Arnulf-Francon Award by the French Optical Society. The concepts are formulated in a way such that the necessary mathematical tools do not hinder comprehension of the phenomena. Global in vision, the book can also be used as a reference. In addition to the traditional aspects of optics, it includes the tools and methods currently used by researchers and engineers as well as explanation and implications of the most recent developments.

The purpose of this book is to give the engineering student and the practical engineer a systematic introduction to optical MEMS (Micro electro mechanical systems) and micromechanical photonics through not only theoretical and experimental results, but also by describing various products and their fields of application. After an overview on optical MEMS and micromechanical photonics, the book describes extremely-short-external-cavity laser diodes tunable laser diodes, a resonant sensor and an integrated optical head. It then addresses optical tweezers, the new technology employed to manipulate various types of objects in a variety of research and industrial fields. Coverage progresses through topics on the design and fabrication of an optical rotor and evaluation of mixing performances of micro-liquids for future fluidic applications. In the final chapter, the fundamentals and applications of the near field are described for the future development of micromechanical photonics, as well as near-field features, theoretical analyses, experimental analyses and applications mainly related to optical recording.

"Extreme Photonics & Applications" arises from the 2008 NATO Advanced Study Institute in Laser Control & Monitoring in New Materials, Biomedicine, Environment, Security and Defense. Leading experts in the manipulation of light offered by recent advances in laser physics and nanoscience were invited to give lectures in their fields of expertise and participate in discussions on current research, applications and new directions. The sum of their contributions to this book is a primer for the state of scientific knowledge and the issues within the subject of photonics taken to the extreme frontiers: molding light at the ultra-finest scales, which represents the beginning of the end to limitations in optical science for the benefit of 21st Century technological societies.Laser light is an exquisite tool for physical and chemical research. Physicists have recently developed pulsed lasers with such short durations that one laser shot takes the time of one molecular vibration or one electron rotation in an atom, which makes it possible to observe their internal electronic structure, thereby enabling the study of physical processes and new chemical reactions. In parallel, advances in micro- and nano-structured photonic materials allow the precise manipulation of light on its natural scale of a wavelength. Photonic crystals, plasmons and related metamaterials - composed of subwavelength nanostructures - permit the manipulation of their dispersive properties and have allowed the experimental confirmation of bizarre new effects such as slow light and negative refraction.These advances open a vista on a new era in which it is possible to build lasers and engineer materials to control and use photons as precisely as it is already possible to do with electrons.http://www.photonics.uottawa.ca/nato-asi-2008/

Computational Photonics provides a comprehensive coverage of modern numerical modelling techniques for designing photonic devices for use in modern optical telecommunications systems. In addition the book presents the state-of-the-art in computational photonics techniques, covering methods such as full-vectorial element beam propagation, bidirectional beam, complex-envelope alternative direction implicit finite difference time domain, multiresolution time domain, and finite volume time domain. The book guides the reader through the concepts of modelling, analysing, designing and optimising the performance of a wide range of photonic devices by building their own numerical code using these methods. An accompanying website containing the codes representing the numerical techniques and several design examples is provided in support of the book.

Since the invention of the laser, our fascination with the photon has led to one of the most dynamic and rapidly growing fields of technology. An explosion of new materials, devices, and applications makes it more important than ever to stay current with the latest advances. Surveying the field from fundamental concepts to state-of-the-art developments, Photonics: Principles and Practicesbuilds a comprehensive understanding of the theoretical and practical aspects of photonics from the basics of light waves to fiber optics and lasers. Providing self-contained coverage and using a consistent approach, the author leads you step-by-step through each topic. Each skillfully crafted chapter first explores the theoretical concepts of each topic and then demonstrates how these principles apply to real-world applications by guiding you through experimental cases illuminated with numerous illustrations. Coverage is divided into six broad sections, systematically working through light, optics, waves and diffraction, optical fibers, fiber optics testing, and laboratory safety. A complete glossary, useful appendices, and a thorough list of references round out the presentation. The text also includes a 16-page insert containing 28 full-color illustrations. Containing several topics presented for the first time in book form, Photonics: Principles and Practicesis simply the most modern, comprehensive, and hands-on text in the field.

This new edition is intended for a one semester course in optics for juniors and seniors in science and engineering. It uses scripts from Maple, MathCad, Mathematica, and MATLAB to provide a simulated laboratory where students can learn by exploration and discovery instead of passive absorption. The text covers all the standard topics of a traditional optics course. It contains step by step derivations of all basic formulas in geometrical, wave and Fourier optics. The threefold arrangement of text, applications, and files makes the book suitable for "self-learning" by scientists or engineers who would like to refresh their knowledge of optics.