Advanced Materials Engineering (EBT 421/3)

Physical Metallurgy and Advanced Materials is the latest edition of the classic book previously published as Modern Physical Metallurgy & Materials Engineering. Fully revised and expanded, this new edition develops on its predecessor by including detailed coverage of the latest topics in metallurgy and material science. Intended for senior undergraduates and graduate students it emphasises the science, production and applications of engineering materials. It is suitable for all post-introductory materials science courses. Key Features: * Renowned coverage of metals and alloys, plus other materials classes including ceramics and polymers. *Updated coverage of sports materials, biomaterials and nanomaterials. *Covers new materials characterization techniques, including scanning tunneling microscopy (STM), atomic force microscopy (AFM), and nanoindentation. *Easy to navigate with contents split into logical groupings: fundamentals, metals and alloys, nonmetals, processing and applications. *Detailed worked examples with real-world applications. *Rich pedagogy includes extensive homework exercises, lecture slides and full online solutions manual (coming).

Unique in bringing about a solid-state reaction at room temperature, mechanical alloying produces powders and compounds difficult or impossible to obtain by conventional techniques. Immediate and cost-effective industry applications of the resultant advanced materials are in cutting tools and high performance aerospace products such as metal matrix armor and turbine blades. The book is a guided introduction to mechanical alloying, covering material requirements equipment, processing, and engineering properties and characteristics of the milled powders. Chapters 3 and 4 treat the fabrication of nanophase materials and nanophase composite materials. Chapter 8 provides extensive coverage of metallic glass substances. This book is ideal for materials scientists in industry and in research, design, processing, and plant engineers in the cutting tools and aerospace industries as well as senior level students in metallurgical and mechanical materials engineering. The book will especially benefit metallurgists unacquainted with ball milling fabrication.

This edited work contains eight extensive, review-type contributions by leading scientists in the field of synthetic metals. The authors were invited by the organisers of the International Conference on Science and Technology of Synthetic Metals '98 (ICSM'98) to review the progress of research in the past two decades in a unifying and pedagogical manner. The present work highlights the state-of-the-art of the field and assesses the prospects for future research.

An Introduction to Materials Engineering and Science for Chemical and Materials Engineers provides a solid background in materials engineering and science for chemical and materials engineering students. This book: Organizes topics on two levels; by engineering subject area and by materials class. Incorporates instructional objectives, active-learning principles, design-oriented problems, and web-based information and visualization to provide a unique educational experience for the student. Provides a foundation for understanding the structure and properties of materials such as ceramics/glass, polymers, composites, bio-materials, as well as metals and alloys. Takes an integrated approach to the subject, rather than a "metals first" approach.

Advanced Engineering Mathematics provides comprehensive and contemporary coverage of key mathematical ideas, techniques, and their widespread applications, for students majoring in engineering, computer science, mathematics and physics. Using a wide range of examples throughout the book, Jeffrey illustrates how to construct simple mathematical models, how to apply mathematical reasoning to select a particular solution from a range of possible alternatives, and how to determine which solution has physical significance. Jeffrey includes material that is not found in works of a similar nature, such as the use of the matrix exponential when solving systems of ordinary differential equations. The text provides many detailed, worked examples following the introduction of each new idea, and large problem sets provide both routine practice, and, in many cases, greater challenge and insight for students. Most chapters end with a set of computer projects that require the use of any CAS (such as Maple or Mathematica) that reinforce ideas and provide insight into more advanced problems. A Student Solutions Manual is also available. * Comprehensive coverage of frequently used integrals, functions and fundamental mathematical results * Contents selected and organized to suit the needs of students, scientists, and engineers * Contains tables of Laplace and Fourier transform pairs * New section on numerical approximation * New section on the z-transform * Easy reference system

Computational Materials Engineering is an advanced introduction to the computer-aided modeling of essential material properties and behavior, including the physical, thermal and chemical parameters, as well as the mathematical tools used to perform simulations. Its emphasis will be on crystalline materials, which includes all metals. The basis of Computational Materials Engineering allows scientists and engineers to create virtual simulations of material behavior and properties, to better understand how a particular material works and performs and then use that knowledge to design improvements for particular material applications. The text displays knowledge of software designers, materials scientists and engineers, and those involved in materials applications like mechanical engineers, civil engineers, electrical engineers, and chemical engineers. Readers from students to practicing engineers to materials research scientists will find in this book a single source of the major elements that make up contemporary computer modeling of materials characteristics and behavior. The reader will gain an understanding of the underlying statistical and analytical tools that are the basis for modeling complex material interactions, including an understanding of computational thermodynamics and molecular kinetics; as well as various modeling systems. Finally, the book will offer the reader a variety of algorithms to use in solving typical modeling problems so that the theory presented herein can be put to real-world use. ·Balanced coverage of fundamentals of materials modeling and advanced aspects of modeling ·Covers modeling at all scales and useful modeling examples ·Concise mathematical coverage of such analytical tools as the Monte Carlo method, Potts-Monte Carol method, and Finite Element and Finite Difference Analysis in statistical and analytical modeling ·Companion web site will offer workable programs, projects, future reading, and classroom exercises