Thermodynamics in Polymer (EBT239/4)

A completely updated, expanded edition of a longstanding and influential text on chemical thermodynamics Covers the logical foundations and interrelationships of thermodynamics and their application to problems that are commonly encountered by the chemist. Explanations of abstract concepts in a clear and simple, yet still rigorous fashion Logical arrangement of the material to facilitate learning, including worked out examples. Computational techniques, graphical, numerical, and analytical, are described fully and are used frequently, both in illustrative and in assigned problems.

Ideal for one- or two-semester courses that assume elementary knowledge of calculus This text presents the fundamental concepts of thermodynamics and applies these to problems dealing with properties of materials, phase transformations, chemical reactions, solutions and surfaces.utilizing principles of statistical mechanics to illustrate key concepts from a microscopic perspective, as well as develop equations of kinetic theory. Discusses the second law of thermodynamics-considering entropy as the indicator of energy quality. Principles of Thermodynamics provides end-of-chapter question and problem sets, some using MathcadT and MathematicaT a useful glossary containing important symbols, definitions, and units appendices covering multivariable calculus and valuable numerical methods and examines the basic ideas of energy, entropy, and free energy chemical reactions neutral and ionic solutions and electrochemical systems phase diagrams for binary and ternary systems surface effects in single component and multicomponent systems the thermodynamics of steady-state systems polymers and nonequilibrium systems Principles of Thermodynamics is an authoritative text suitable for upper-level undergraduate and graduate students in chemistry, physics, geosciences, and engineering.

Plesha, Gray, and Costanzo’sEngineering Mechanics: Statics & Dynamicspresents the fundamental concepts, clearly, in a modern context using applications and pedagogical devices that connect with today’s students. The text features a five-part problem-solving methodology that is consistently used throughout all example problems. This methodology helps students lay out the steps necessary to correct problem-formulation and explains the steps needed to arrive at correct and realistic solutions. Once students have fully mastered the basic concepts, they are taught appropriate use of modern computational tools where applicable. Further reinforcing the text's modern emphasis, the authors have brought engineering design considerations into selected problems where appropriate. This sensitizes students to the fact that engineering problems do not have a single answer and many different routes lead to a correct solution. The first new mainstream text in engineering mechanics in nearly twenty years, Plesha, Gray, and Costanzo’sEngineering Mechanics: Statics and Dynamicswill help your students learn this important material efficiently and effectively.

This report begins by summarising the basis of polymer blending. The types of polymer blends which have been studied are outlined. Methods of compatibilisation are discussed. Processing of blends and the effects on morphology are discussed including extrusion, thermoforming, blow moulding, injection moulding and foaming. The accompanying abstracts from the Polymer Library provide useful further information and indicate sources of additional material.

Created for engineers and students working with pure polymers and polymer solutions, this handbook provides up-to-date, easy to use methods to obtain specific volumes and phase equilibrium data. A comprehensive database for the phase equilibria of a wide range of polymer-solvent systems, and PVT behavior of pure polymers are given, as are accurate predictive techniques using group contributions and readily available pure component data. Two computer programs on diskettes are included. POLYPROG implements procedures given for prediction and correlation for specific volume of pure polymer liquids and calculation of vapor-liquid equilibria (VLE) of polymer solutions. POLYDATA provides an easy method of accessing the data contained in the many databases in the book. Both disks require a computer with a math coprocessor. This handbook is a valuable resource in the design and operation of many polymer processes, such as polymerization, devolatilization, drying, extrusion, and heat exchange. Special Details: Hardcover with Disks. Special offer: Purchase this book along with X-131, Handbook of Diffusion and Thermal Properties of Polymers and Polymer Solutions and receive a 20 percent discount off the list or member price.

New Edition Offers Improved Framework for Understanding Polymers Written by well-established professors in the field, Polymer Chemistry, Second Edition provides a well-rounded and articulate examination of polymer properties at the molecular level. It focuses on fundamental principles based on underlying chemical structures, polymer synthesis, characterization, and properties. Consistent with the previous edition, the authors emphasize the logical progression of concepts, rather than presenting just a catalog of facts. The book covers topics that appear prominently in current polymer science journals. It also provides mathematical tools as needed, and fully derived problems for advanced calculations. This new edition integrates new theories and experiments made possible by advances in instrumentation. It adds new chapters on controlled polymerization and chain conformations while expanding and updating material on topics such as catalysis and synthesis, viscoelasticity, rubber elasticity, glass transition, crystallization, solution properties, thermodynamics, and light scattering. Polymer Chemistry, Second Edition offers a logical presentation of topics that can be scaled to meet the needs of introductory as well as more advanced courses in chemistry, materials science, and chemical engineering.

Exploring physical phenomena, such as phase separation, this book presents methods to design polymer blends and predict the phase behavior of binary polymer blends using desktop computers. It describes the thermodynamic basis for miscibility as well as the mathematical models used to predict the compositional window of miscibility and construct temperature versus volume-fraction phase diagrams. The book covers the binary interaction model, the solubility parameter approach, and the entropic difference model. Using equation of state theories, thermodynamic models, and information from physical properties, it illustrates the construction of phase envelopes.

Polymer science at its best! A completely new approach reflecting the interdisciplinary nature of polymer science! Modern polymer science is firmly rooted not only in the chemistry of macromolecules but also in their physical chemistry and physics. Furthermore, this modern insight provides the reader with information on the three most important uses of synthetic polymers: elastomers, fibers, and plastics. Biopolymers are also considered. This book fulfills the need for a volume which introduces polymer science in a straightforward, rigorous, and practical way. It is divided into four parts that cover the chemistry, physical chemistry, physics, and technology of polymers. Whenever possible, physical equations are not just presented but are derived step by step from first principles enabling the newcomer to ease smoothy into the subject. The reference to industrial aspects makes this book an indispensable support for both students and professionals.